We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott Hotel to your Saves list
Ascott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9GJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Eccles B&B and Inns
GLASGOW
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you ever want to go to Manchester to see football or cricket, or have a shopping spree, or visit the museums then you will do a lot worse than the Ascott. The owners will welcome you and go out of their way to help you in any way they can. The rooms are spotless, modern and very well equipped and decorated. The breakfast will set you up for your day whatever you do. The hotel is very conveniently situated for bus, tram or a short taxi ride to Trafford Centre. The villages of Eccles and Monton are within easy walking distance and there are plenty of local eating places as the hotel does not offer dinner. We have had the pleasure of staying at the Ascott several times and it would it be our first choice for a tip to visit family or go to Old Trafford.

Room Tip: No matter which room you have you will be very comfortable. I have slept in several and all have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    47
    7
    6
    10
See reviews for
21
73
37
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here as a base to go to Old Trafford for the Brazil v Korea match. Lovely quirky little place. Owners extremely helpful and approachable.. Our rooms were very clean, had all the facilities and had been decorated very thoughtfully. Beds were very comfortable.
Breakfast was superb, all locally sourced bacon and sausages and very well cooked. Everything was very fresh.

Would certainly stay here again and was a refreshing change from the androgynous 'chain' hotels.

Trish, Droitwich

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great accommodation, clean very tastefully decorated and lots of attention to detail. Fantastic breakfast all good quality food and plenty of it. Friendly helpful owners. Would definitely recommend this hotel it's also only 15 mins by metro to the centre of Manchester (3 miles). Really good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The management bent over backwards to help us. The service was excellent (sorry! that word is not good enough!) The breakfasts were exceptional. The rooms were clean and had character and all facilities ( except the TV sets - they weren't up to it.) Next time I am in England I will go to Manchester just to stay in this hotel. Paul Jackson.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front suffer road noise and street lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a friendly welcome at the door, as you would expect. The owner was very friendly and informative.
The property is intriguing and different to your usual run-of-the-mill travelodge.
The room was very clean and had tea/coffee, hair-dryer facilities. There is an ironing board in the room but you have to request an iron due to the fact that some people burn the carpet with them (don't blame the owner for that). There is a mixture of popular cereals available for your initial breakfast, before you have the full English, which I would strongly recommend. (very tasty)
Go again? Absolutely!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just come back from a two night break at the Ascott Hotel, the accommodation we thought was excellent lovely and clean and the room was spacious. The owners were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us, excellent breakfast. This was our 3rd stay at the Ascott and we will definately be going back for a 4th. Very well situated for Trafford Centre, Manchester and Salford Quays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonodon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The owner was very rude, not helpful in anyway, wanted paying before we stayed even though he had my card details! We came down for breakfast at 08:30 and were told breakfast had finished at 08:20! So I demanded a refund, he did then manage to organize some for us, how this place is a 4 star is beyond me! I would not stay here again, and if you have any sense you wouldn't either.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAscott, Owner at Ascott Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Our version is a little different we were given a card which declined on arrival, the guest then asked us to charge his company card but we could not do that according to him until he had departed (he stated he had to leave very early and would not need breakfast) and they authorised the charge, I pointed out they might not accept the charge and the card had already declined . I told him he either paid there and then or went else where, surprisingly he produced another card and settled the bill
.
The breakfast he had said he did not require was wanted the following morning when he got up late, presumably because he had had to pay.

A credit card with no credit is of no use to anybody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Hotel

Address: 6 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ascott Hotel Manchester situated in a leafy suburb 5 miles from Manchester city centre (10 minutes by car). Our tastefully restored Victorian town house close to Monton Village with its wealth of eating places and offers individually styled rooms and also has a large period style guest lounge. We are very proud of the fact that the hotel was voted Best B&B of 2004, and has also appeared in Coronation Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Hotel Eccles, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.