We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience & 2013 Xmas memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges to your Saves list
Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Plot 9003, Nakatindi Road | Katambora, Kazungula, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Great experience & 2013 Xmas memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in the hotel 3 adults and 3 young children to celebrate 2013 Xmas day and a special birthday. The attention and presence of the lodge manager (Hessah) was great. He was incredibly flexible to organsie the activities suitable for the kids as well, the sunset cruise with nice drinks, the fishign party, the visit to the local village community and the short in time organisation of a Boma diner for celebrating the birthday party (many thanks Hessah !!!). Kids have incredible memories of their stay. Pool was nice and all staff is very friendly. Food is fine as well - not high gastronomy but nice food.
Sunrise on the Zambezi is amazing.
As a small suggestion, I would recommend to organise a small playground area for children (eg at least a trampoline and small stuff) and more foreign languages video in the Lounge/TV area for the kids while parents are having dinner (alternatively ipad to download foreign language videos).
It remains anyway a great time.
Thanks to Hessah and the local staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
90
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

From the minute you step into this property you are treated like a special guest. This is a luxury hotel, with only four villas on the island. The staff goes out of their way with any wish you may have. The meals are catered to your liking , the activities are what you pick, a bath on your deck is waiting for you every night when you return, a choir of some of the best singers I have ever heard singing Happy Birthday, and a view at every meal of sitting on the river either listening to the hippos or to a monkey happily coexisiting. It was such a magical romantic place for my husband and I. The Royal Chundu is truly a piece of paradise in Zambia. Thank you hessah and the staff.

Room Tip: get a island room for a more romatic experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

After the travel agents had us pulling our hair out do to their admin problems with a possible cancellation of our trip to Royal Chundu, we did get there on time and what a reception. Our holiday could not have started better and the enjoyment just increased over the next 4 days. My daughter even tried to convince Hessah to come back with us and become her life planner. From the sunset cruise to the choirs and dancers providing live entertainment before dinner to the canoe cruise and tiger fishing and then always welcomed back as though I am the long lost relative. Chef Sungani has nothing but specials.... and I am sure even his vanilla ice-cream will show his passion and expertise for his craft. (I'm sure the LIVETOTRAVEL59000 hated the Mopani worms we had as part of the special local cuisine evening). Hat's off to the management and staff of Royal Chundu. You made our stay the best ever and deserve a royal salute.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaAponte, Owner at Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Dieter K

How lucky are we that we could be part of your Christmas celebrations. Thank you for your incredibly kind words - you should be able to see the light shining from our entire Royal Chundu Family's smiles whereever you may be!

Here's wishing you and yours a magnficent 2014.

Very warm regards
Tina and the Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you are looking for absolute luxury, hospitality and top class cuisine in one of the most beautiful settings Zambia has to offer, you will find it no place else but at Royal Chundu. From the moment of your arrival right up to when you step out, you only experience the best service and hospitality. Sunset cruises are offered on a daily basis, each one being memorable and magical. The kayaking with the island picnic is an absolute must! The lodge offers activities for everyone, but is also the most perfect setting if you just want to laze out and take in the beautiful landscape next to the river. From the staff and team you can expect warmth, friendliness but still professionalism. Starve yourself before your arrival since the cuisine is just too good to pass on. An absolute must and we will definitely visit again and again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our stay at Royal Chundu was memorable and so much fun, we had a fantastic bonding time with our kids, there are so many activities to do with them.

The staff are all so helpful and wonderful with hearts of gold, nothing is too much for them.

You could not hope for a better position on the mighty Zambezi river to be in nature and unwind.

We loved everything we did from the Village tour to the canoeing and the wonderful sunset cruises. Tiger fishing was super fun too and our guides were all very knowledgeable and taught us a lot.

Royal Chundu and all those we met will always have a special place in our hearts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaAponte, Owner at Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Unakachina

We are so thrilled that you had a wonderful, bonding holiday with your children while here at Royal Chundu.

We look forward to seeing you back at Royal Chundu very soon.

Very warm regards
Tina and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We arrived (a party of 7) to the River Lodge for a two night stay, excited to be staying at another @Relais & Chateaux property however was disappointed and frustrated with our experience.

The property is beautiful but attention to detail is not that you would expect for a 5 star property.

We arrived late for lunch and had extremely slow service. Imagine our surprise when we asked about "Chef's Speciality" for dessert - which turned out to be vanilla ice cream. This might have been acceptable if the lodge had run out of the lunch dessert, but there was only one other small group staying at the lodge. I think the chef must be really busy because the next day's lunch dessert was the same as the dinner dessert.

While dessert is not the most important part of travel, the attention to detail and anticipating your customers needs and desires is. The staff at the Royal Chundu River Lodge needs to learn this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaAponte, Owner at Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and again, we apologise profusely for the late pickup at Kasane which tainted your entire trip at Royal Chundu.

Please see the response that I have posted to the review that you posted already "Beautiful resort, terrible service".

Our sincerest apologies to you and your entire family once again.

Tina Aponte
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

As I type this I am sitting in my room at the Royal Chundu, on my last day in Africa, disappointed that I am spending it at this resort. I have never had an experience before where the staff has so poorly mismanaged expectations. A summary of our experience:

· The transportation company scheduled by the lodge was two hours late picking us up from the airport.
· I had to request an AC adapter 5 times from the staff before I finally received one, 4 of those were to the GM and in person.
· The fan in our room doesn't work, the GM confirmed it doesn't work but didn't offer apologies or solutions.
· My parents didn't have hot water in their room but got it fixed after calling the front desk and having them turn the tank on. My wife and I then had the same problem an hour later. It was fixed but you think they would have checked all rooms the newly arriving guests were staying in.
· We knew before arriving here that you had to pay for each activity but we did not know that we would have to pay the resort $150 to transport us to the activity.
· The rooms are nice but are crawling with ants. Every towel, bathrobe, slipper is covered, and sitting in the room requires you to constantly pick ants off your body.
· The dining experience is mediocre. Courses are recycled from the night before and the food is poorly prepared. Getting your water glass filled requires a request and a 15 minute wait.
· My wife requested a glass of sparkling wine and was told we had to buy the bottle so she then requested a rose. The waitress came back and said they had one bottle but she can't have it because it is reserved for the only other guests staying here. I understand this can happen but it was poorly handled by the waitress.

The resort is beautiful but the staff seems inexperienced and managed poorly. We have stayed at sister resorts to the Royal Chundu and our experience here has not met expectations set by the other resorts. I would not recommend the Royal Chundu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaAponte, Owner at Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We take all comments and criticism very seriously at Royal Chundu. We pride ourselves on our service and ensuring that we go beyond every single expectation that a guest might have. The experience that you describe is certainly not the Royal Chundu magic that we like to instill. In fact, it is everything that we try to avoid and are extremely distressed to receive your comments. It will be taken up with my team immediately to ensure that this never happens again.

We outsource all our transfers to and from the airports and have taken your delay up with the company who handled your transfers who have accepted full responsibility for this error and will be sending a formal apology. It is certainly not the way we wanted you to start your stay at Royal Chundu. Please see the formal apology from the transfer company below.

With the rising levels of the Zambezi due to the recent rains, the ants do seek higher ground but all rooms are sprayed daily to prevent them entering into our suites. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will be extra vigilant going forward.

We are extremely sorry for the unsatisfactory stay you had at Royal Chundu and hope that one day you might consider returning to our Lodge and experiencing the Royal Chundu magic we pride ourselves on.


Tina Aponte
Owner


04 December 2013,


To Hibler Party

REF: APOLOGY LETTER – LATE PICK UP FROM KASANE AIRPORT

On behalf of Bushtracks Africa, I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you on arrival in Kasane.

Royal Chundu booked us to pick you up from Kasane Airport but due to communication break down with our Botswana Office your booking was not in place on the Botswana side.
However, an e-mail to book your arrival transfer was sent to our Bushtracks office which did not reach them because they do not have Electricity therefore their Internet has been down since yesterday and apparently did not advise us.

We will take this issue up strongly with the involved parties to ensure that it does not happen again.

Thank you

Mwinga Nchimunya
Ground Handling
Bushtracks Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges

Address: Plot 9003, Nakatindi Road | Katambora, Kazungula, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Kazungula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kazungula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Chundu Zambezi River Lodge is the kind of place where nature is untouched and you are humbled by the magic that surrounds you. The lodge has two locations – the mainland and the exclusive private island in the center of the Zambezi River. Royal Chundu is a place of picturesque beauty that merges seamlessly with nature and is tucked away in the midst of unique plant species from giant ferns to ancient trees, some as old as 1,500 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Hotel Kazungula
Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges Zambia/Kazungula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.