We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Travelers Beware of NH Villanova in Bologna” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Bologna Villanova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Bologna Villanova to your Saves list
NH Bologna Villanova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Villanova, 29/8, 40055 Villanova di Castenaso, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
GreenLeadersGold level
Rumson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Business Travelers Beware of NH Villanova in Bologna”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was visiting NH Villanova for the first time since I had a business meeting nearby. The hotel was described as having free Internet, pool, and fitness center. While all of these facts are true, the delivery is far from what a business traveler needs. The fitness center was three pieces of equipment; an old noisy treadmill, a bike, and a universal gym set. Nothing else. The pool is nice, but small. The free wifi is too slow for business use; you cannot load and watch a YouTube video. The hotel requires a 9 Euro purchase for faster Internet. When I woke up to iron by shirt and suit, there was no iron in the room. The hotel does not provide an iron or ironing board; I was told this when I called the front desk. Since fitness is important to me as well as good WiFi, business travelers should know what you are getting into. The room that I had, number 701, was spacious, comfortable, and the accommodations were larger than normal in Europe. I paid 10 Euro to upgrade to the larger room. The bed was comfortable for European standards; a little thin for US standards. Overall, I will not come back because for business there are too many choices that offer a better gym, WiFi, and have rooms with irons.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room, like 701 which gas ample space, a desk, extra closets, and a large bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    93
    52
    16
    5
See reviews for
25
32
13
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed only one night and we had dinner with my mother and sister at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was very clean and the beds were easy to sleep on. The wifi was patchy, because the users always expired and you had to get a new one, at this the front desk staff wasn't very helpful, one of them even laughed when we called for a second time to get a new user. The restaurant was a but pricey but the food was good and the service as well. It is a good place to stay at, although it is a bus ride to the center of town, that's a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as I was attending a yoga workshop in the Novotel next door. Having stayed in Novotels quite a few times I welcomed this NH option that was meant to offer similar service for a similar price, bad choice.
The room was ok, oldish but clean. Horrible (and stained) carpet but having lived in UK for over 7 years I kind of got used to it. Ancient TV, but I don't need a TV and haven't even turned it on so that wasn't a problem either. NO PLUGS NEAR THE BED, this for me was a problem. If you have a laptop and a couple o phones you'll have to charge them on the table at the other side of the room. On the other hand the bathroom is very modern, nice, clean and spacious.
Breakfast options are very average and limited but at least the bread is fresh every day. COFFEE COMES FROM A MACHINE, and I am talking about the nasty kind of coffee machines you have in the office.
Cappuccino with freshly frothed milk an coffee from the bar? Why if you can have the milk powder and burnt coffee version from the machine instead, let's keep the bar closed!
Come on, we are in Italy, close to a city famous for its good food, and in a 4* hotel there's (terrible) coffee from a machine even at breakfast? Are you kidding me?
Last but not least, if you fancy a cup of tea in the evening be aware there is NO ROOM SERVICE WHATSOEVER, there is a bar on ground floor but in 2 days I've never seen it open. The shopping centre next door closes at 9pm and there are no other options unless you take the car and go to the city centre.
There is no kettle in the room in case you were wondering why I couldn't just make the tea myself...
If you are planning to come here then change your mind and go for the safest Novotel option, at least you know what you get...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is modern with clean rooms. Tour operators picked this place because it offers nice amenites for the price and convenience from the highway, which suits our needs fine as we are just looking for night's stay on our way to next sightseeing destination. I suspect this hotel would be more expensive if it were located closer to the city. The breakfast was very good. Internet was free but slow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I love the NH hotels but i will not stay at this one again .
booked it for three nights to be close to the Trade shows ground . it is in a Excellent location .
close to town to the Trade shows ground and to the airport .
the rooms are Ok but the Service of the hotel staff is Terrible .
they don't have the time for you .if you don't Speak Italian (i do but my Friends did not) it is even worse .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Except the price and really good breakfast, nothing specially good about this hotel.
My room in 5th floor was cold and I had lots of wind noise entire the night. The only English channel on the TV was CNN! Not enough amenities... Bad place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel should be ashamed to change money for a stay. If you're looking for a sad, [--] hotel on a highway, this is the place for you! The rooms are barebones- no blankets, one towel, stains on the carpet, sad decor. The service is terrible. The restaurant is terrible (they typically serve a buffet for all meals and it's a sad excuse for Italian cuisine. Most of the dishes look as if they came from a can. A very old can.) The "fitness center" or "relax area" as they to refer to it is a smelly questionable pool, an old treadmill, an old stationey bike, and a weight machine, all on the pool deck. Just what I enjoy while exercising: humidity and the smell of chlorine and water-born disease! Good thinking guys.
They charge for absolutely EVERYTHING- you want to borrow an umbrella? 5 euros please. You want to use a conference room? That'll be an extra charge on your room please.
I was even fortunate enough to receive a telephone call at 3:45 am from the front desk asking to connect me to someone who was asking for me. The person on the other line was clearly not looking for me as they sounded as if they were speaking Japanese and did not understand English.
Thanks NH Villanova for a terrible stay in your [--] hotel! I wouldn't be surprised if I develop a staff infection after patronizing your establishment. I cannot actually believe I paid you money. Never again. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Bologna Villanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bologna Villanova

Address: Via Villanova, 29/8, 40055 Villanova di Castenaso, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Villanova di Castenaso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Villanova di Castenaso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Bologna Villanova 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Bologna Villanova is your gateway to the colorful traditions of this historic Italian city. A world-renowned destination for everything from music and food to business expos, Bologna is a beloved locale for travelers of all kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Bologna Villanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Bologna
NH Bologna Villanova Province Of Bologna/Villanova Di Castenaso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Bologna Villanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.