We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid 'standard luxury room'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria's at Ewingsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria's at Ewingsdale to your Saves list
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Top of McGettigans Lane, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Avoid 'standard luxury room'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

There are many good things about this place, which have been mentioned by other reviewers. However we paid $299 a night for one of the 'standard luxury rooms'. This was significantly more than we paid for a five star hotel in the heart of Sydney the previous weekend and really wasn't good value. The room is small, with almost no space to hang up any clothes, and nowhere to sit, except on the bed. The bathroom does not have a bath, and has hardly anywhere to put your toiletries. If you want to stay here (and there are plenty of reasons to do so) make sure you stay in one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, General Manager at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
We are saddened to read that this guest did not completely enjoy their stay, and failed to comment on the positive things that they did enjoy about the property, which as they say, have been mentioned by other reviewers. The $299 rate is our base rate for our lead in room type, which is described as, "quaint & intimate, A/C room with ensuite, containing shower, toilet & washstand, (we don't mention a bath), queen size bed & balcony overlooking the garden & water feature". It should not have been a surprise that the room is a little smaller and has no bath. This room also has a writing desk and chair in one corner, a large, comfy wing chair in another, and a table and chair setting on the large balcony, so there were other seating options in the room other than the bed. There are also three separate lounge areas throughout the guesthouse, including one with an open log fire, for guests to relax by.
We are a 5 star luxury lodge in Byron Bay, which offers an entirely different experience to a city hotel. We pride ourselves on providing personalised service in unique and beautiful surrounds. If you want to stay here (and there are plenty of reasons to do so), as 'Paddingtontraveller' says in his review, then please visit us and enjoy the full "Victoria's" experience for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Our stay at Victoria's at Ewingsdale was in a luxurious large suite with lovely views of the ocean and the surrounding beautifully manicured gardens of the property and was characterised by top level service from the owner and her staff. The fireplaces in our guest room and in the main guest house were welcome additions for the cooler months and created a perfectly welcoming ambiance. Breakfasts were abundant and served with great attention to detail. Personal touches abound from the complementary chocolates and port in the room to the afternoon tea slices in the main guest house. Highly recommended for those looking to relax in luxurious surroundings where attention to detail is evident in both the surroundings and the service of the staff/owner.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We recently spent our wedding night at "Victoria's" -it was recommended to us by a couple of local people who were involved in our beautiful beach wedding and we are so glad that we chose to stay there
Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by Victoria who showed us around the grounds and the house and to our executicive spa room [we were very grateful for the updgrade!]
The room was beautifully furnished in the French Provincial style -fabulous spa bath and great bathroom with beautiful towels and gorgeous complimentary products-we loved the coconut fragrance!
We very much enjoyed the amazing breakfast prepared by Victoria -gorgeous food and beautifully presented -she made us feel very special!
We can't wait to go back to celebrate our 1st anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

I was looking for somewhere special to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. I chose Victoria's and i'm glad i did!
Upon arrival we were greeted by Victoria , who was both friendly and helpful.
We were shown through the main house and grounds which featured beautifully manicured gardens and wonderful views of Byron Bay.
We stayed in an Executive Spa Room which was immaculate, with impeccable attention to detail. We especially enjoyed the champagne breakfast prepared by Victoria herself!
We wished we could have stayed longer.
We highly reccomend Victoria's if your after something special, for a romantic escape.

We had a great time,

Peter & Sarah

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner/Manager at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
As our ultimate goal at "Victoria's Byron Bay" is to provide a happy and memorable experience to our valuable guests, it is always a such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. To have lovely and appreciative people stay with us, makes
working and living in hospitality, a rewarding and worthwhile life choice. Thank you Peter and Sarah, we hope to welcome you back to "Victoria's" one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We spent one night in 'The Stables' at Victoria's. The positives of this place are that the grounds are beautiful, with gorgeous views, and a very quiet and relaxed feel. Victoria met us and was very warm and accomodating, and also served a lovely breakfast, so I cannot fault the service. You also have use of the house, with lovely touches like complementary cakes, an honesty bar, and port in the rooms.
As for the room, 'The Stables' has a very very steep staircase so wouldn't be suitable for children or anyone who wasn't very mobile, and I was nervous going up and down them, especially at night. The bathroom was very small (the sink was so small you can't really use it, and can't fill the kettle from it - we had to use the shower) and the room itself, while very spacious, was a bit tired with some stains on the carpet. The bathroom was also quite old. It was all very clean though. I did think it was a little overpriced too at $300 for a night, and $35pp for breakfast. However, this may reflect the prices in Byron generally.
From the glowing reviews, I expect that the other rooms may have been better. Don't get me wrong, a lovely place, but I think that the 5 star rating refers to the grounds and service rather than the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAEByronBay, Owner/Manager at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, November 22, 2009
Victoria’s is predominantly a couples’ retreat and therefore most of our accommodation is not suitable for families. This is stated in all of our literature.

These guests emailed an enquiry prior to their booking and were informed of a room that would be able to cater for a couple travelling with a young child. They chose not to book the recommended room, but instead made a booking for 2 adults online for the “Stables”. The “Stables” is advertised as being an “upstairs attic style room, with a steep staircase similar to that on a yacht, and has a small downstairs ensuite”.

Had these guests let it be known at check in, that they were not happy with the room they had booked, we would have promptly addressed their concerns at the time.

We have an accredited 5 star ‘guest house’ rating, which applies to the overall property, including our rooms.

We do appreciate comments from our guests, as we use this valuable feedback for making changes and improvements to our facilities and services, but negative reviews only tarnish the reputation, that we have strived to acheive and maintain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We only had one night so wanted top quality at a fair price midweek. As we are in the accommodation business we know what we want when we go away. We selected Victoria's as it had an excellent reputation on the coast, a superb public profile and our telephone enquiries were warmly and professionally dealt with by Victoria herself.
When we arrived, to be greeted by Victoria who owns and runs two main properties together with her other business interests, we were simply blown away, especially as Victoria took the time to show us through all the property and a good sample of rooms. The property is magnificent. Huge yet warm and comfortable guest areas/lounges, plenty of outdoor seating ensuring privacy plus superb views and extremely comfortable rooms with everything one needs for a special getaway with one's partner. Cleanliness was A100%+++.
With other friends who run 4.5 and 5 star rated properties we can recommend this accommodation to anyone who is serious about wanting top value for money, warm yet discrete hospitality and oh - the breakfast was to die for!
If you want Byron Bay - then this is a must!
We cannot wait to try Victoria's other place at Watego's.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I was there with my other half for 3 nights recently, and everything was just perfect - I can only agree wholeheartedly with the other positive reviews.

We were personally greeted by Victoria and given a guided tour of the property and the facilities, and a history of how it all came to be. Our room (8) was huge, beautifully decorated in French provincial style, extremely comfortable, and with breathtaking views across to Byron Bay. The breakfast was perfect,the staff attentive and it would be difficult to find fault in this absolutely luxurious property.

I make a habit to read the property reviews before booking, then again after the visit to see how my experience compared with my expectations. As for the one very negative review (champ23 of Adelaide) , a reasonable person could only guess that nothing could have or would have satisfied the writer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria's at Ewingsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria's at Ewingsdale

Address: Top of McGettigans Lane, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Ewingsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria's at Ewingsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victoria's at Ewingsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria's At Ewingsdale Byron Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria's at Ewingsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.