We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, building , room, service and attention to detail!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria's at Ewingsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria's at Ewingsdale to your Saves list
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Top of McGettigans Lane, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Beautiful location, building , room, service and attention to detail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a lovely stay we had. Great location to Byron bay but far away to enjoy some serenity! Our room was lovely and we loved the lounge and use of the kitchen. The small touches were very much appreciated! The breakfast was fantastic, we were lucky to have Georgous weather and do dined on the terrace over looking the hills and lighthouse in the distance!! Shame we only had one night!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Poppet30,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Victoria’s At Ewingsdale certainly offers the best of both worlds, being so close to Byron Bay, yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet.
Your glowing feedback on our breakfast and the little touches that we offer, is really appreciated.
Hopefully next time, you can stay for more than one night.

Kind regards,
Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just returned from Byron Bay where we had booked four nights at Victoria's at Ewingsdale during Bluesfest. As we went through a booking service we did not realise that we had booked the smallest room and there was no possibility to upgrade when we arrived. The worst though was that the room was musty and smelly, probably having been locked up. Mould was growing on some of the door frames. Victoria certainly tried to air the room and get rid of the smell by using candles, but it had permeated the bedding. We were very disappointed and decided to cut our stay short (an expensive option!). As accommodation in Byron at that time was in very short supply, we thought that the room would be readvertised, but as we had prepayed there was obviously no need.
On a positive note, the house itself is in a beautiful garden setting and very stylish, if not a little tired.

Room Tip: Ask for a large, bright room when booking
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are saddened to receive such a disappointing review.
We believe that this reviewer’s complaint had little to do with the smell of the room, (which we totally disagree with) although her partner did say that "she has a very sensitive nose, and in fact it gives me the tick", but more to do with the guest clearly failing to do any research beforehand, and proceed to book the smallest & least expensive room, on a third party website with a very strict cancellation policy, for a busy time of the year, and then upon arrival, assume that they had booked something different.
We make no secret that we have some smaller rooms, which may not suit everyone, but most people realise what they are booking, before doing so, and are very happy with their stay. This is a comment from a guest who stayed in the same room previously, “We stayed in one of the small rooms at Victorias but thought it was fantastic...the bed and pillow the absolute BEST I have ever experienced - and we have travelled a lot! Unfortunately we only had time to spend one night but if we ever are in the vicinity again we will definitely stay here again”.
It’s unfortunate that some reviewers use Trip Advisor to tarnish a hard earnt reputation, when a refund for a stay cut short, is not issued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Victoria's at Ewingsdale for our first wedding anniversary. We were unfortunately very disappointed. With the cost of the room, we were looking forward to a luxurious escape. The room was certainly nice, with a large spa bath and well furnished. But with the cost we expected more and all we got was the room. What's more for our romantic 3 nights away we were not provided with adequate curtains. The room had some mesh covering the windows which you could see-through from the outside common pathway right into the room - needless to say we both changed in the bathroom and it quashed some of our wedding anniversary plans.

There was a large kitchen which very we were informed we couldn't use, even to make some toast (for a pregnant woman this was rather frustrating) - instead we were offered an overpriced breakfast on top of our room rate. The BBQ facilities (which we were encouraged to utilise) had no knives, a few forks, 1 plate and all of it was dirty. The service was lacking as well, even keeping in mind the "Guest House" style of accommodation. Overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are really surprised to hear that these guests were disappointed with their stay, as we feel we do offer a luxurious getaway.
These guests made their booking on a last minute website for a 3 night stay over new years eve, the peak time of high season, and they received an early check in, a complimentary room upgrade to one of our beautiful premium spa rooms, tropical fruit platter, bottled water, decanter of port, signature chocolates, and we didn’t even know it was their anniversary!
The room curtains and drapes are made from imported European fabric and were custom made to suit the classic French decor of the room, instead of heavy motel style block out window coverings. The room has an elevated balcony and is separated by gardens, so unless someone was very tall and nosey, it would be quite difficult to see into the room.
Victoria’s is not a self-catering property, and therefore our kitchen is not for guests use. We provide complimentary freshly baked pastries each morning, homemade afternoon treats daily and restaurant quality meals by request, which we believe are not overpriced, just read our other trip advisor reviews. If however, someone does ask if they can prepare a light meal, snack or even a piece of toast, we most certainly oblige, as we have done numerous times in the past. Most guests prefer to enjoy dining out in one of the nearby restaurants and cafes in and around Byron Bay, rather than cook themselves, especially when it’s a special occasion.
Everyone that stays in this beautiful room raves about it, so it is really unfortunate that these guests didn’t love the whole experience as well. Perhaps self-contained, apartment style accommodation may have been more suitable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Victoria's is a fabulous place to stay. The bedrooms are beautiful, the salt water pool sublime and all the extra touches that Victoria provides (fresh brownies/pastries/port/fruit) makes this an outstanding choice. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you to all our wonderful guests, who take the time to provide feedback about their experiences at both Victoria's At Ewingsdale, and Victoria's At Wategos. We are always very grateful for the positive reviews, and look forward to providing "Victoria's" hospitality to you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were lucky enough to receive a red balloon gift voucher from work colleagues for a 2 night stay at Victoria's at Ewingsdale for our wedding and decided to use the voucher for our anniversary. I was unsure if because it was a voucher we may not have received the same level of service as if we had booked it through Victoria's ourselves and i was pleasantly proven wrong.

The level of service we received during our stay was faultless, the accommodation and facilities are outstanding!

The Executive Spa Suite was divine with a beautiful king size bed with gorgeous linens and a large spa bath. The suite also had a balcony which was perfect for sunset drinks, with views to the lightouse at Byron. This room was located away from the main house and less than 50 metres from the pool and bbq area.

The breakfast that Victoria serves is definately worth experiencing and was great value for money considering the amount of beautiful food on offer. The souffle was great.

I had organised a couples massage before arriving and the experience was amazing, the two massage therapists were great and the glass of champagne afterwards was a nice touch.

Like i have said previously the service is fantastic and definately makes the experience memorable at the guesthouse. Nothing seemed like too much to ask, including a cheese platter prepared by Victoria, which were able to enhoy on the balcony in the afternoon. Seafood platters are also available (with notice) and i'm sorry we hadnt done this on one of our evenings to save the trip to town for dinner, as i'm sure it would have been prepared equistively like everything else at Victoria's.

Victoria's is definately somewhere for a special occassion with splendid surrounds and great service. We would love to get back there again one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you can remind yourself of the fact that you are staying at a guest house and not a hotel you will not be dissappointed. Victoria provides a personal touch to your stay that you do not get from a hotel generally. The fact that the property is just outside of Byron makes it the perfect relaxing getaway. Whilst my husband & I enjoyed the bustle of Byron Bay by day, it was great to retreat to tranquil surroundings by night. We stayed in a suite with a spa and although it was
a little on the cramped side,Overall it was very pleasant. Our room was next to the chicken and emu pen, and when I heard the clucking of chickens in the morning I was merely reminded of my peaceful country surroundings.Far nicer than the sound of humans. We chose not to have the breakfast butnot because of the price, just because we didn't want to have breakfast at a certain time.(between 8.30 & 9.30) Victoria doesn't push breakfast upon you at all. In fact she leaves complimentary homemade pastries in the kitchen. We paid $399 for our night and I would say that it was worth the price. If we had paid $499 as it was advertised as being previoulsy I think I would say it would have not been such good value. Victoria seems to work tirelessly to make your stay an enjoyable one and for that I highly commend her.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend took me away for the night and to say I was impressed is a complete understatement.
Victoria met us on arrival and like others showed us around happily whilst telling about the place. We were given all the options of eating on site, down the road or in town and were never made to feel pressured. We opted for the breakfast, at the time I thought how indulgent being I barely manage a coffee but I have to say it was one of the most impressive and well spent $35 breakfasts I've had.
The room was immaculately clean and adequate space the surroundings like the dales of UK. I loved this place and quite frankly would marry my boyfriend tomorrow for taking me there.....as that's not likely to happen I will be sending my parents instead.
Thank you Victoria, I look forward to coming back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewingsdale
3.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#3 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
4.4 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#18 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#2 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
3.7 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.3 mi away
A Beach House At Byron
A Beach House At Byron
#28 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria's at Ewingsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria's at Ewingsdale

Address: Top of McGettigans Lane, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Ewingsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria's at Ewingsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria's at Ewingsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria's At Ewingsdale Byron Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria's at Ewingsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.