We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms

Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ewingsdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms
4 Sunrise Lane | Ewingsdale Rd, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ewingsdale
Byron Bay, NSW
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The food is excellent and in the end that is why we go there. An exceptional taste experience. Nouvelle cuisine sized portions but exquisite flavours. Take the 4 or 6 course option - you won't be disappointed. So what spoiled the evening for us? The sullen, unfriendly, unhelpful head waitress/manageress who will make you feel quite unwelcome. Fortunately, the waitress who served us throughout the evening was friendly and efficient. Great location, first class food, friendly staff BUT....

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I recommended this venue to a friend who was getting married, and I am highly embarrassed that I did. The managers were only accommodating when they wanted to be, but constantly reassuring everything would be perfect. On the day it was far from good....the meals were terrible and a table of 12 people had a plate of 6 potatoes to share!!! It was VERY poorly catered for, the kitchen had to be asked to cook another meal for the bride and groom as they didn't even get any food off the bridal table.
The staff were very rushed and trying to hurry the bride to finish the reception so the next wedding could set up!!!!
It was honestly one of the worst receptions I have ever been to because of the venue, and it was one of my close friends so I regret ever recommending them. So many guests kept commenting how stingy it was.
It's a nice spot, but these people just want your money, they don't care about delivering great service or enough food on the day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a birthday dinner here on a thursday and had the 7 course degustation menu. It was fabulous. Did not stay at the hotel since we live locally. We were surprised by the poor reviews on the restaurant but noticed that the last restaurant review on tripadvisor was about 6 months ago
The place had approximately 22 people in total that night and the food came out very efficiently. loved it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were married at the Fig Tree Restaurant in Feb 2012 and it was absolutely amazing. We dealt mainly with Che Devlin, the co-owner of the restaurant who was very professional and so laid back we felt completely comfortable in dealing with him. He had everything sorted and made everything so simple for us, there was little stress in organising our wedding day. The staff were fantastic and I have received excellent feedback from our guests about them which makes us feel good as well in knowing that they had a great time. The cost of the wedding was much cheaper in comparison to having a wedding in Sydney or Melbourne and Che was so flexible that any idea we had about the day was accommodated allowing us to save money here and there. You can BYO drinks and the staff serve it for you.

We have dined at the restaurant twice before as well and on both occasions the food was delicious and the service exceptional. The view is absolutely amazing by day and by night.

Accommodation is available at the restaurant and we stayed in 'The Dairy' the night before and the night of our wedding. The house is lovely and warm however I thought it was a bit overpriced and I would have preferred to stay elsewhere. It was very convenient to stay the night before and get ready on the day of the wedding at the venue but we did have an un-welcomed visitor the night before which was a giant rat that ran through the living area! We informed the restaurant staff and after about 30 minutes someone came over to the house and plugged a hole in the wall with a tea towel. Considering the cost of the house, this was a little disappointing.

Overall, the Fig Tree Restaurant is wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone, especially if you are considering having your wedding here. Our day was so perfect and exactly how we wanted it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

we had the 6- course degustation but wished we just had a main course and desert such was the delay in service. food however was excellent. need to improve the staffing situation

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have eaten here before and it was very good

But we wanted to make a booking, and they don't take bookings

This is disappointing, as we have to travel from Brisbane and stay in Byron Bay so we can attend the restaurant, but they don't seem to want our business

We are disappointed, as this in all other aspects this is a great place to eat

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Wow !! what a great Venue for our friends daughters Wedding.The staff were amazing,the food excellent,the view beautiful and quiet, this is really a great place to visit tie the not etc.Just to see the huge fig tree was a treat,will be coming back with some friends soon.We had a great time will be telling all our friends about this venue for partys, weddings or just for the day.Will check out accommodation for future functions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms

Address: 4 Sunrise Lane | Ewingsdale Rd, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Ewingsdale
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ewingsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Restaurant And Rooms Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms to your Saves list