We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Great People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Sandbar

Ruby Sandbar
Apdo 68, El Pescadero, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in El Pescadero
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food and Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was in the needs of a nice hamburger and Ruby's really hit the spot. Lovely people and great homemade food

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal under the mango tree!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place was recommended by Ruby's aunt as a place to try out because we had a small child and there is a little swing set at the restaurant. She was right. He loved it. The food was good, especially the Spinach Salad. ( I know, weird but true!) The Beers were only about $1.75 a piece and the mango margaritas were divine. We had a great time, all 10 of us, and the prices were great. We even got to take a few mangos back with us! A great spot for a family dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
1 review
“Delicious food and an awesome vibe!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Rubys sandbar is a fun place to hang out, very inexpensive and all the food is homeade!! I always have a good time there

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A FUN EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ruby's Sandbar is under new ownership (since end of April) and my husband and I decided to give it a try. We arrived around 6:15pm and left around 8:30pm, during which time we played pool, drank excellent marguerites, ate delicious french fries, a hamburger, and homemade carrot/ginger soup with a grilled cheese sandwich on the side. YUMMY! The soup is homemade daily (they differ each day) and definitely ranks on the side of being 'gourmet.' I overheard a gentleman sitting close to us say, "they make the best salads." The owner is a little girl named 'Ruby' who plays pool like none other! The bartender/server is Juan Carlos--a good friend since we moved here. Ruby's parents run the restaurant and are chief cooks and bottle washers along with Ruby's grandmother and grandfather who are always around to help. Stop over and have a fun evening--I know you will enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A FUN EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I live in Todos Santos, Baja Sur, Mx and are always looking for some fun place with good food during the 'down' season when most of the restaurants close for the summer and turists and many American locals leave for the U.S. It was Sat. afternoon when it dawned on me that we should try Ruby's Sandbar (recently renovated and reopened under new ownership.) We arrived around 6:15pm and left around 8:30pm during which time we played pool, drank excellent Marguerites, ate delicious french fries, a hamburger, and homemade soup with a grilled cheese sandwich on the side. YUMMY! Quite surprising to find the soup is homemade daily and truly ranks on the side of being called 'gourmet.' I overheard a gentleman sitting close to us say, "they make the best salads." The owner is a little girl named 'Ruby' who plays pool like none other--quite good. The bartender/server is Juan Carlos--a good friend since we moved here. Ruby's parents run the restaurant and are chief cooks and bottle washers along with Ruby's grandmother and grandfather who are always around to help. Stop over and have a fun evening--I know you will enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Sandbar also viewed

El Pescadero, Baja California Sur
El Pescadero, Baja California Sur
 
El Pescadero, Baja California Sur
El Pescadero, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Ruby Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Sandbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.