We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlito's

Carlito's
Pescadero (dirt road), El Pescadero, Todos Santos, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in El Pescadero
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a great meal here and we let Carlos recommend the food. The seafood was great and the atmospher excellent. Carlos came and spoke to us and recommended some choices for us which we took. Would not say that it was over priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    15
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sea Food - lunch and dinner - worth the drive from Cabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This charming palapa restaurant is set in the middle of a garden just 2 blocks off the Transpeninsular 19 in Pescadero, south of Todos Santos.

Carlito is the son of the owner of Gardenia's in Cabo - the most famous fish taco stand in town. So Carlito grew up serving great sea food.
Now he puts his own signature on amazing fresh dishes of fresh fish, shrimp, octopus and sashimi.
The wait staff is attentive and fun as the food is good. This is FINE dining!
We had Carlito's recommendation for sashimi appetizer plate including sliced clam, scallops, dorado, and tuna following by a cooked jumbo shrimp plate.
A MUST visit destination.

Open from 1pm to 9pm daily.
From Highway 19, turn onto the paved street near the gas station into Pescadero. Look to your left. You will see the white painted building with Carlitos on the side.

Be sure to see King Kong - a black pug dog that visits the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A True Fine Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our dining experience at Carlitos was just that, an experience. Carlos greeted us personally and gave us an overview of our dining options. We opted to leave the decisions to Carlos and we were not disappointed in the least! He transformed his freshest ingredients into 5 incredible dishes. The sushi was the absolute freshest and best we have ever had. Carlos is true culinary chef in every sense of the word. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Cabo. Thank you Carlos for a fantastic time! (and who doesn't love King Kong! He was definitely part of the whole experience too!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pricy but Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Out door only under a palapa roof.
We went this place twice in one week. First time we were skeptical so we ordered one dish with a drink each. We were a bit shocked with the high price when we opened the menu as well. The food and drinks were amazing, but we were still troubled with the high price.

Well, after few days still in Todos Santos, we were still talking about the food at Carlito's and realized that it has one of the best tasting food. After saving our money for skipping a few morning coffee and afternoon margaritas, we were back at Carlito's and had a wonderful full meal.

Everything was fresh, flavor was rich yet not over powering.

We will go back again on our next trip to Pescadero.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Best Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our best meal of the trip was at Carlito's. All six of us thought that it was the best sushi we had ever had - and we have had some great sushi in Los Angeles and New York. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlito's also viewed

El Pescadero, Todos Santos
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Carlito's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlito's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.