We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cerritos Surf Colony voucher” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cerritos Surf Colony

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Pescadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cerritos Surf Colony
Highway 19, Km. 65 | Cerritos Beach, El Pescadero, Todos Santos, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in El Pescadero
Fort.Saskatchewan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cerritos Surf Colony voucher”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

As per the title, my wife and I purchased a voucher for this resort earlier in the year. We travelled to Cabo last May and it was referred to us by a local business person. We rented a car and drove up to the resort area two days in a row. We loved the area and the beach(you can actually go in the water without the threat of being killed by the undertow). We liked the area very much and so actually requested a tour of the complex by a salesman. The prices for fractional ownership were quite expensive but we actually considered purchasing a 2 bedroom unit. We made it out of there without forking out any money. When we saw the voucher deal we pounced on it($450 for 4 days in a 2 bedroom unit is what we chose to do). We just arrived back home last night from the Cabo area. We went up to Cerritos and checked in for our stay. Although the unit was quite nice, we were very disappointed with the restaurant, and the bar. The people working there were nice people but seemed left in the dark about many things. The fellow that checked us in, seemed like he had no idea what the vouchers. Ours came with a $150 credit and he had no idea about it, but did honour it. The bar had minimal supplies and we were told that it was because management forgot to eave them a cheque so they could go shopping. They had no fruit, minimal beer. The prices are very high($8 for a marguerita). The food, although it looked fabulous, was less than passable. My wife and I both ordered a chicken dish, and both of us had to spit out every piece of chicken because of the texture (grissly and terrible). A couple of the meals were good but there was no consistency. I get that this isn't a 4 star resort, and i get that this is not a place for a raucous night life. We wanted to come back because we liked the idea of a laid back, peaceful, minimal vendors, holiday. I do not understand the prices they ask for any kind of ownership of the units. The showers were terrible. No pressure and you are constantly trying to maintain a comfortable temperature because it was fluctuating all the time while you were trying to shower. If I was camping out, I would expect this, but this isn't camping. This is a resort that in my opinion, comes up quite short. The only real consistency that we loved, was the beach, and the ability to actually play in the ocean. Oh yes, we had a friend in our room. It was a cockroach about 2" in length. We found him on our very first night there. I flushed it back down the sink drain where it climbed out of.
But the huge appeal we initially had from earlier in the year was lost in this stay. We have another voucher(we purchased two back in May)and we aren't sure we want to waste our time again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    102
    39
    19
    18
See reviews for
60
115
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We got a groupon deal for this resort, and I am very glad we did. First of all, if you are looking for a resort experience, this is NOT it. This is more of a rent a cabin and do it yourself experience. The location is not convenient. The directions provided are not good. You really have to rent a car. The internet is not only not included, it is expensive, and does not have very good range or speed.

There is a TON of good about this place, though. The villas on the ocean are just incredible. The views are great, the appliances work well, and they are very comfortable. The restaurant serves delicious food. It was much better than we anticipated, and we ended up returning more often than we had planned, though it's on the pricier side. The staff was really good and friendly, though we weren't told about the availability of free box fans for cooling until our last day... It made a HUGE difference in the August heat.

The views are incredible. We aren't surfers, though we love the water. The pool is okay, though it could have been cleaner. I think maintenance suffers in the summer,which is their off season. Basically, we loved our time there, but it was because we knew coming in that it would be an experience we would have to make for ourselves. Just know the limitations of the property before you book.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the only way to go. We were in the second row, and got very little ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Front Office Manager at Cerritos Surf Colony, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review and taking the time to write a review. We hope you are able to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

First off we got an internet deal. I would not pay full price for this resort as the resort presents itself today.

The positives ... Very quiet, the villa we stayed in was very spacious, if you prefer preparing your own meals the villas come with nice kitchenettes, very nice location about 35 minutes from cabo, 1 hour from la paz and minutes from todas santos, right on the ocean which you can swim in, the timeshare was not pushed towards me.

The negatives ... For what they charge for full price each unit could be equipped with better quality pots, pans, dishes and silverware, a BBQ at each unit would be nice, the cupboards cleanliness was questionable and left open the possibilities of attracting critters, 1 hot tub was broken, no internet at the villas, only at the bar area, the restaurant menu was very limited and out of items for the week we were there.

So overall it was a pleasant experience for what I paid.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Four of us, in our mid fifties, stayed at Cerritos surf colony in November 2013. We spent a wonderful week, surfing and relaxing at Cerritos beach. We had read the negative reviews and all 4 of us were very pleasantly surprised. We had a two bedroom place right on the beach. The 'villa' was perfect for 4 of us - two bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The back bedroom could have used a window that opened, but we were supplied with lots of fans which worked fine to keep the room cool. The front bedroom was amazing! We had no problems with bugs in the 'villa', and only had a few evenings around dusk where we got a few bites while sitting outside . We came prepared with bug spray and never had to use it! Our place was missing a few essentials when we arrived (needed a few extra towels, dishes etc.) and the staff were very helpful and brought these things to us when we asked for them. This is a very relaxed place to stay - not the luxuries of a 5 star resort but so much more interesting and fun. We surfed and swam on the beach, only steps from our villa. There is also a great pool, which was a perfect temperature and clean. We would absolutely go back to Cerritos Surf Colony. One piece of advice - make sure you get a place right on the beach - these are much nicer than the back row of villas. The best place to eat nearby is the one beach restaurant just a few minutes walk down the beach. The restaurant at the surf colony is nicely located right beside the pool. The food was okay, but not great. We also had a great pizza meal at Napoli pizza, about a 5 minute drive north of Cerritos beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have been to this resort a couple of times , and the first time , as someone else had mentioned , we are happy we did not base our decision on this location on poor reviews by certain people that wanted way to much for the area .
Cerritos Surf Colony is a gem on the Pacific Ocean with great views and real serenity .
We have stayed in both the rear and front locations and both have there own attractions . The rear locations offer a bit quitier stay , with less of the crashing waves echoing into the room , while the front locations are just wonderful for anyone wanting constant ocean views and wave surf . We as were so captured by the location and the wonderful staff that are in this resort , decided to buy into the Founders Club and plan on spending a lot of vactions at this area of Mexico . It is peaceful and romantic , along with being whatever you want to make of it . Long walks on the massive beach areas , intimate dinners on your private deck , or spending time at the pool resturant ( really good meals and relative reasonable cost ) , or heading off to a local location for some enteratinment , this location is excellent .
There are an abundance of things to get involved in , or just relax on the beach . Your call .
I would not hesitate to invite anyone of our freinds or family to come along with us to this great location for a wonderful time . Not everyones dream vacation , but if you enjoy a nice getaway without a bunch of frills , this is the place .
All our best to Roger and his GREAT staff in the new year of 2014 and hoping to continue with great vacations in the foreseeable future .

Room Tip: Ocean front property great , but always surf and waves pounding Second row rooms , quitier , but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is our second stay at the Surf Colony. We love it! We love it so much we took advantage of the Founders Club membership. It certainly didn't take that much persuasion. We keep finding more and more quaint spots to enjoy in the area. But our stay on the beach is the highlight of our trip. Relaxing with a book in front of "our house", running to the pounding surf for a cool off, then up to the pool for some lemonade and a hot tub. What could be better than that! If you are looking for peace, quiet, and tranquility, this is your destination.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Cerritos Surf Colony, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing pictures and for sharing your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip once again…see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego,ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I are from San Diego, CA & had bought a Groupon deal for Cerritos Surf Colony because we love watching surfers surf and to be honest...it was a really good deal. We had never been to the Colony before and as always what we do to try out a new place is buy deals through Groupon and Living Social. We got back on December 20th 2013 from our eight night stay and had a great time. My husband and I have traveled quite a bit and usually we do an all-inclusive or a trip that's exotic...for example we spent a month in Thailand last year. Anyways, this particular trip for us was totally different because it was neither. If you want to get away from large amount of people and just want to chill....this is a great place. Fortunately for us it's less than a 2 hour flight and are looking forward to going back. Our 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath villa was great but the villas do not have air-conditioning so the best time to be there is obviously is during the winter and probably early spring. Also, no televisions but we were fine without having either one. It was a great time for my husband and I to just relax and venture to the neighboring towns of Pescadero and Todos Santos. The locals were very friendly and towns small and quaint. The management and staff were equally the same. Food is good on the property and has two sister properties. The Mayan Village and Hacienda Cerritos. I highly recommend going to the Hacienda and relaxing in either their two jacuzzis and swimming pools. The view is gorgeous. Cerritos Surf Colony offers recreational rentals as well. My husband and I highly recommend this property if you just want to be left alone in peace. By the way, the resident cats...Bam Bam and Pebbles are so loving. So if they appear at you porch, please don't hesitate to interact with them. Roger the owner of the property to us seemed to be a nice and funny guy. Heidi the manager is so cool but professional. The only issue that my husband and I have with Cerritos is that there were a lot of flies. The reason why we only dined once and it was dinner and it was our second night. We didn't notice the amount of flies until the next day. Had to go to Costco in Cabo to buy groceries after. It was a relief to know that we had a full kitchen in our villa. FYI...our villa didn't have a hair dryer or an iron and ironing board. Didn't mind much about not having an iron but ladies bring your hair dryer if you use it on a daily basis as I do. Anyways, check this place out. Salud to you Heidi....We thank you for your hospitality! We hope to see you soon

Room Tip: If you're planning to cook your own meals...get at least a one bedroom with a kitchenette. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cerritos Surf Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerritos Surf Colony

Address: Highway 19, Km. 65 | Cerritos Beach, El Pescadero, Todos Santos, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in El Pescadero
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerritos Surf Colony is located on world famous Cerritos Beach with a reputation frequently noted in Surfer Magazine for champion surfing. Cerritos Beach is the best beach in Cabo, and voted first runner up in Los Cabos Magazine! Cerritos Surf Colony is a neighbor to both the Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel (a majestic mansion hotel located on a private cliff at the shore of the ocean), and the celebrity frequented hot spot Cerritos Beach Club & Surf where you can get surfing lessons, board rental, and great food.Cerritos Surf Colony is a beach front resort of Mayan inspiration and thatched palm roofs. The free standing studio, one, two, and four bedroom villas are solar energy assisted. Enjoy our amazing swimming pool and bar, surf the waves out your back door , climb the Sierra de la Lagunas, explore the artist colony of Todos Santos, or just lay back in your own palm shaded hammock.ATV rental, horseback riding, kayaking, fishing, art gallery walks, hiking Triple Waterfall, Voluntourism, massage, are just some of the things to enjoy here in Baja California. Los Cerritos provides simplicity, tranquility and a break from city life that you have been longing for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cerritos Surf Colony Hotel El Pescadero
Cerritos Surf Colony Mexico/El Pescadero, Todos Santos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerritos Surf Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cerritos Surf Colony to your Saves list