We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pescadero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Pescadero to your Saves list
Rancho Pescadero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parcela 53, El Pescadero, Todos Santos 23000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in El Pescadero
Oshkosh, WI
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

From the time we first arrived until the time we left the service was impeccable. This is a place to get away from it all. The rooms have no phone, no television and no internet, so this is Ultimate Tranquiity. If you must check in back at the office there is a WIFI at the bar area. You never have to tell the staff your room number because all the staff remember the location of each guest. As our stay was progressing the peacefullness was so great that I began thinking that I was on Fantasy Island and I thought that Tatoo would be showing up. The food was also fantastic. So if you are looking for a tranquil or romantic getaway this should be tops on your list.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 on the upper floor. The views are terriffffic. Do not be turned off by the rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
204
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose del cabo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Where to begin? The rooms, the location, the whole property, the food, the staff, and the small details and touches, all combined, create the wonderful experience of staying at Rancho Pescadero. Oh, the vibe too. Very down to earth and relaxed is the feeling of this hotel. We all loved the amenities that you have in the rooms, such as the Mexican dulces, the Damiana lotion, the shampoo/conditioner and the special handmade soaps. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The place itself is just fabolous. Nice Rooms, staff, food, etc... All in all its just great... Beach is nice to, not swimable but nice to relax at!!! I will be there pretty soon. I went there cause someone in Todos Santos told me about it and decided to try it... It was the best descision ever... I was staying at another luxury Hotel in Town, but Nop... Nothing to see with this one! Gracias.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rancho Pescadero was an incredible stay. The staff was (almost) all very helpful and knowledgeable and courteous. The rooms were large, spacious and clean. The food was good, not amazing, but very good and reasonably priced. The pool area was wonderful and quiet, particularly because it's an 18+ hotel. And the area around the hotel was great. Some very good restaurants in Todos Santos, good beaches nearby, and La Paz was only a short drive away. The beach by the hotel is too choppy for swimming but the beds on the beach were great and there were never more than four others on the beach at a time.

The hotel draws a very good crowd, mainly couples who were sort of yuppie-hippies so it was always very easy to chat with people in the hot tub and by the pool. The wifi is almost non-existent which for many ends up being a blessing but don't expect to get any work done at all that requires wifi. Even checking email is a pain.

We also had an incident in which we booked a whale watching boat ride in Todos Santos. First of all, I would absolutely not recommend this because it's really disorganized and they just throw you on a small fishing boat that holds 4 plus a driver. The tours in La Paz are much better. However, someone at the hotel scheduled it and totally dropped the ball on the plan so we were up at 6am and spent over 2 hours trying to get on one of the fishing boats, eventually just left behind. The hotel staff member took no responsibility for the incident and said he'd follow up about it but didn't. But this was the one bad incident of the week. Everything else was amazing.

Room Tip: We reserved the last room available in the hotel so it was not ocean-facing and one of the cheapest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

After returning from my third trip to Rancho Pescadero in three years, I figured it was time to spread the word about what an INCREDIBLE hotel this is. I love it so much that I got married there a year ago and just returned from my honeymoon last month. The staff, decor, food, experiences, and overall vibe of this hotel is exactly what you dream of - stylish and cool without being over the top and in your face. Every touch is thoughtful and the staff becomes part of your family - they remember your names (and drink preferences!) and are always available, but never obtrusive. It's also just far enough away from Cabo that you avoid obnoxious tourists and people trying to sell you timeshares every other minute. They just completed the road from Cabo to Pescadero, which cuts your drive time to and from the airport in half. The travelers at the Ranch are just what you'd hope for - people who took the time to research a cool, off the beaten path hotel. I also love that the hotel is kid-free and their system totaling your bill at the end of your stay - you don't pay a la carte for anything - drinks, dinner, spa, etc. It sounds scary, but the bill always comes out fair and you tip the entire staff at the end of your visit, so you never have to worry about having cash for each margarita or to tip housekeeping. I can't say enough good things about the Ranch - a must visit!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We did not stay here but came for dinner. Not easy to find but a pleasure when we arrived to a beautiful location on the beach. The chili relleno was the best ever. So if you are in the area and looking for a great place for dinner, this is worth the effort.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I've travelled all over the world and stayed in places like the Four Seasons and Ian Schrager properties, so I was a bit surprised to be so thoroughly impressed by Rancho Pescadero. It's a little hotel out in the middle of the desert near Todos Santos, but it is just one of the most well-run hotels anywhere.

When you arrive, you are greeted like an old friend and shown to the bar for a complimentary drink while your bags are magically whisked away to your room. Coffee and fresh fruit show up at your door every morning. And the property is just drop-dead gorgeous - two nice swimming pools (one by the bar for socializing and a quieter one if you want to be alone), a jacuzzi, a firepit. We stayed in room #11, which was big and bright, stylish in a minimalist way, and had a balcony looking over the ocean.

The staff at Rancho Pescadero really do treat you like family, and here's what I mean by that: the second day we were there, we pulled over to the gas station near the hotel because one of our tires on our dinky little rental car was going flat. We're trying to figure out what to do when Don, the general manager, pulls up in his pickup truck and says "Hey, I recognized you guys from Rancho. Do you need some help?" It was his day off, and he just recognized our car and pulled over to help us out. He got the gas station attendants to fill up our tires, made sure we were alright, and hopped back in his pickup. Simply amazing.

The only negative about Rancho is that you cannot swim or surf at the beach there. It's not their fault - the surf there is just much too strong - but you do have to drive about 5 minutes to Playa Cerrito to get in some swimming or surfing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Pescadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pescadero

Address: Parcela 53, El Pescadero, Todos Santos 23000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Pescadero 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pescadero, Baja California Sur - An Outrageous Oceanfront Oasis - This private, secluded beach resort sits on 15 acres in Pescadero, five miles south of Todos Santos and 45 minutes north of Cabo San Lucas. Guests enjoy two luxurious swimming pools, multiple lounging areas, and spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, all with outdoor patios. Evening bonfires and world-class surf await you on the beach. Daily complimentary yoga classes and an amazing farm-to-table restaurant that sources organic produce grown onsite. A full-service wedding coordinator makes weddings truly magical. Quiet, luxurious and romantic. Come join the Rancho Pescadero family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Rancho Pescadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pescadero Hotel El Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero Mexico/El Pescadero, Todos Santos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pescadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.