We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
Aerial view
The main sitting room
Small sitting room looking towards conservatory
Gainsborough Bedroom
Saint Briavels
|
Rental Home – 
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PoppyTowc...
Towcester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Well equipped, flexible accommodation great for large groups of all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This group of three properties was ideal for a family gathering. Plenty to do in the local area, gardens to sit and play in and access to the hotel next door for swimming. Space to eat together and all the equipment etc. one could want - including BBQ that the weather was kind enough to allow us to use. Feels very homely with plenty of pictures, soft furnishings etc. Top tip, bring swimming costumes - not all our party had realised that the pool was available. Hotel was also happy to let some of us park cars in its car park which was helpful as parking is tight.
Val was keen that we should enjoy ourselves and anything that didn't work was soon put right. Do make sure you ask for the water to be heated for long enough, we were Ok the first morning, but showers ran cold when we all wanted to be up and out on the second and third days. Other than that we were very comfortable and will certainly book again for a large party.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Space for everyone to eat together, good kitchen, location
Liked least: The inventory is a bit unwelcoming - not so intimidating having met Val, but not encountered anything like it elsewhere. Not enough hot water and unable to correct this ourselves.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Groogee
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming Coach House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Painfree booking and good service from the owner.

Charming old country house set in lovely grounds. Inside the decorations and furnishings enhance the old country house character. Plenty of space for people, mountain bikes, cars etc.

Located within easy reach of the Forest of Dean and Wye valley. Great for walking, cycling and just relaxing.

Sadly, there were no pubs or shops within reasonable walking distance and some of our party would have appreciated a WiFi or phone signal!

Overall, we had a great time and have fond memories of the Coach House.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The cars parked at own risk sign is not very welcoming on first visit.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rowena908
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best choice for a special getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This was the perfect house for a special family gathering, set in a beautiful part of the country, not far from towns and places to visit. The fact that it was away from other houses was great too, and it was so lovely and peaceful.
The size of the property was perfect- plenty of space to relax in and a picturesque garden to explore. Val made us feel very welcome, and we felt looked after for the whole weekend. The house had everything we needed, including the biggest dining table we've ever seen! Everyone agreed that it was the perfect choice, and we had a fabulous weekend there. We'd love to return one day, preferably in the Summer so we can make the most of the fantastic garden!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Originality of the property
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Yendall_1...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very well equipped property in great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We needed a large house with plenty of space for a family celebration. There are 14 of us,
6 children aged 8 to 15, three sets of parents and 2 grandparents. We rented The Coach
House and The Coachman's Cottage for a long weekend. It suited the occasion perfectly
and was very comfortable for us all. The huge kitchen table was great for everyone to sit
around for meals and the sitting room also accommodated us all in the evenings. We enjoyed the rambling gardens and following the rushing waters of the stream over rustic
bridges and waterfalls. Val was very welcoming and informative. Apart from not being able to sort out the central heating we could not have chosen a more suitable venue for our get together.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The range of equipment, facilities and overall comfort
Liked least: Not being able to turn on the central heating
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Aled E
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful house full of character, perfect for large groups looking to spend some quality time together.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I booked The Coach House for a weekend break for a group of 12 friends. Two of us were celebrating our 30th birthdays, so we wanted to pull the "old gang" together to celebrate. I picked the perfect location!

The house itself is full of character - a nice, large kitchen and many wonderful bedrooms tucked away all over the place, all crammed with books and paintings that really make the house feel lived in. Outside there is a stunning garden, pond and a stream that you can hear from the kitchen. One afternoon we were lucky to have a gang of ducks come right up to the kitchen door, asking for some food!

We spent most of the time eating, drinking and playing games in the comfortable living room. We did very little exploring but did make a trip to Tintern Abbey which was absolutely breathtaking.

All in all everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay at the Coach House and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet place to spend some quality time with a large family or group of friends.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Guesty21
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely property and a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The Coach House is a great property and ideal for a large group. The gardens is lovely (although because of the rubbish bank holiday weather, we didn't spend that much time in it). However, the living areas and kitchen are plenty big enough to accommodate a large group even if the weather is less than great. Valerie (owner) was really helpful and made sure that we knew where to find everything. The house is also in a great location and close to plenty of walks and visitor attractions. I am sure that we will be back!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The single room is (currently) small, but I understand that plans are afoot to extend it.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kate M
Alcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great, spacious house & gardens for a large gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

A really nice property to get a large group (including small children) together and to explore the forest of dean. A VERY well stocked kitchen and loved the fab huge kitchen table to fit everyone around. Loads for outdoors lovers to do in the vicinity including a beautiful bluebell wood within easy stroll which the kids loved.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the spacious kitchen & living areas
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$628
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Valerie W
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2008
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 60 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing