We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosso Restaurant

Rosso Restaurant
1 The Broadway, Woodford Green, England
0208-505-1770
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restaurant is consistently good, food is excellent, prices reasonable and service is very attentive. The lunch time specials are a bargain !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    34
    24
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had a neighbours night out on Friday at Rosso's a marvellous meal. The service was excellent all 26 people were served promptly, the food was fantastic and very hot. All in all a great night

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was booked as a birthday treat,sadly not a happy experience.Although very busy it was hard to get the attention of the waiting staff.Food was mediocre and what should have been a seafood rissotto looked more like a bowl of gruel with added fish bits.Thought as it was local it would be on par with others in the area ,sadly will not be visiting a second time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossowoodford, Owner at Rosso Restaurant, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am extremely disappointed to hear of your bad experience at our restaurant. We work very hard to make sure the food and service is of a very high standard. I would very much appreciate it if you could tell me when you visited the restaurant and maybe a little more detail of exactly why you found the experience "Terrible".
Although you have stated that you won't be visiting a 2nd time, I can assure you that we have many very satisfied customers and I hope that you will in fact decide to give us a 2nd try at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's ok..but not much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We are fairly local to the area so thought we'd give Rosso a try last night. Given the quality of the reviews, we expected a nice, quiet, friendly local trattoria. It really isn't that I'm afraid. A number of the reviews make the comment that it is not part of a chain. Maybe it isn't but it certainly feels "chainy". Large cavernous noisy room, more lights than a night game at Wembley, laminated menus ( why???), mottled marble topped tables ( and lots of them ) and, to be honest, fairly indifferent service. On the plus side, the food was good, the white wine was cold and the price was very reasonable. That said, it's really no different to a Prezzo or a Zizzi's so the search for a quaint local restaurant goes on!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lunch as well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Always a favourite - staff you know, owners on the ball, food fab. And, due to the large portions, Rosso also provided my lunch today as I couldn't manage to eat my dinner last night and they boxed it up for me!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosso Restaurant also viewed

Woodford Green, Essex
Woodford Green, Essex
 
Woodford Green, Essex
Woodford Green, Essex
 

Been to Rosso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosso Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.