We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top Meadow Golf Club & Hotel

Top Meadow Golf Club & Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top Meadow Golf Club & Hotel
Save
You added Top Meadow Golf Club & Hotel to your Saves list
Fen Lane | North Ockendon, Upminster RM14 3PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Upminster B&B and Inns
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had our wedding at Top Meadow on Saturday 8 June and it was a great venue. The team there were so helpful and made sure everything went exactly as planned on the day. They assisted our Best Men when they had a technical issue with their speech and everything got sorted in time - thank you!

The food was lovely - we had pate, roast lamb and white chocolate and rasberry torte - everyone said how nice the food was (especially the epic yorkshire puds!). The evening buffet was also delicious with a really good selection.

The grounds made a great setting for our photos (helped by the sunshine!). The welcome drinks were also served on the patio which was nice, and for those people that didn't like champagne, they were able to go to the golf club bar and grab a beer or a soft drink.

We stayed in the Bridal suite which was really comfortable and hasd plenty of space to hang up my dress and his suit. Other friends and relatives also stayed in the hotel which was really reaosnably priced. The rooms are quite basic, but everyone we spoke to said they were clean and comfortable, which is all you need. Breakfast was served in the golf club the next morning and was very tasty! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a wedding venue in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have visited Top Meadow numerous times with family and friends and not once have we been disappointed.
The choices on the menu are fantastic, the bar is well stocked and reasonable the tables are always presented to a very high standard, both linen and table settings, everywhere is clean and tidy.
We have always found the staff to be very smart, friendly and polite, with pleasant welcoming smiles and a sense of humour.
Service is very good, the views across the fields are great are excellent and the value is second to none.

Well done top Meadow, we shall keep returning.

Roger Clay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have dined here several times in the evening and always enjoyed my food and the nice bustling restaurant, the most recent time I had lunch here and was not disappointed, I couldnt believ how they could produce such fresh local food cooked in generous portions for so little cost. The views over the countryside are excellent. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago for a family reunion, and thoroughly enjoyed it, this time I booked 3 single rooms as I thought next to each other, unfortunately this time 1 was in a seperate block, although I had stipulated next to each other, and had booked in 2012. The room I had was very clean, and the bed comfortable, unfortunalely I beleive the person in the next room must have had a bladder problem, as the toilet was flushed throughout the night, and sleep eluded me. The food in the restuarant is very good (we had sunday lunch excellent).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a bit of a odd review because half of our visit was excellent and have was truly awful. We were guests at a wedding and from the outside the place seems nice enough. We then used the wedding reception area and these were very good. The view you get from the main area is fantastic looking over the Essex countryside. The staff were very attentive and the food was good, the bar service was also very quick and there was plenty of room. If i hadn't of stayed over the review would have finished now and got a 4/5.

Sadly we did stay over and paid £65 for a terrible room. We were in room number 21 which is right by the entrance door from the outside to the accommodation block. All you hear all night is the door opening and closing which will wake you up. This is if you have managed to get to sleep on the beds that sink down and have no support for you and the massive pillow which makes your body sit at an angle which is really uncomfortable! The bathroom was ok, apart from the wildlife in there, a couple of rather large spiders and a wood louse accompanied me for a shower which wasn't what i expected. I put the towel into the towel rail which subsequently fell off onto the floor and also the shower was non adjustable and a quick fix had been put in place by putting a cable tie there. They didn't even cut the long bit of the cable tie off! My girlfriend also stayed the night before and said it was very noisy and barely got any sleep, not what you need just before a long and busy day! I think the general idea is if you stay then hopefully you will be that drunk you pass out and don't notice any of this. The fact you are in the middle of the countryside and would want a drink makes you a very captive audience. Oh and the shower was also pathetic, I had to pretty much move around just to get wet!

I did note however that if you pay for a high end room in this place then it seems these rooms are a bit better looked after..

As a summary therefore it seems as with most places, there was the initial investment into the resort and now nothing is being invested apart from in their main revenue stream which is the wedding venue part and the maintenance of the Golf Course. Everything else seems to have been left as it was whenever this place was last refurbed (instead of fixing the shower, bodging it with a cable tie for example). If you are going here for a wedding, dinner or golf then you will go away with a good opinion of it. I would strongly advise getting a cab back to a different hotel or even home if you do not live far away as even the basic room we had was £65 and i know i would of rather been at home and paid for a cab journey!

Enjoy it if you are not staying over in a cheaper room!

Room Tip: Pay a lot more money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Upminster hotels

London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We used Top Meadow for a family celebration meal. The food was good & value for money as were the drinks.
Downside was the ambience - tables are packed in so the place gets very crowded & noisey. Our table was in the corner & felt very cramped however the view was beautiful.
Staff were very courteous & friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clacton-on-sea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Visited Top Meadow for reunion lunch with colleagues. Lunch was excellent, and the restaurant decor was good. I decided to stay the night, and was sadly disappointed with the lack of facilities for guests staying overnight. First the basics; No phone in the room; There was no free wifi in the hotel or rooms. You could however purchase BTopen zone at a cost and very awkward to register, so gave up. (very old fashioned idea of wifi) Only basic free view tv in rooms. (no sky sports for Golf tournaments etc) Tried ordering a meal for the evening, but was told only 3 course type available not single course, and i would have to have it early before evening guests arrived!!! or very basic bar snacks (burger & chips, Chicken nugget & chips, sandwiches) so not very accommodating (restaurant manager very dour & unfriendly) Now the good bits; Rooms very clean, with coffee & tea making equipment available. Bar drinks reasonably priced. Bar staff very friendly. Full English breakfast very good; Hotel room price very reasonable. I would prefer to pay a bit more, and have better facilities available though. Overall i can only give it 3* as facilities and restaurant manager & his No.2 let the place down. Did not try the course on this occasion, i will return in the next few Months to have a round or Two, and stay the night again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away fro clubhouse best. No other facilities at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top Meadow Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Meadow Golf Club & Hotel

Address: Fen Lane | North Ockendon, Upminster RM14 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Upminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Upminster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Meadow Golf Club & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.