We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crouch Valley Lodge

Crouch Valley Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Latchingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crouch Valley Lodge
Burnham Road, Latchingdon CM3 6EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Latchingdon
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

So much better than various well known hotel chains and at a much better price. Rooms were comfortable, quiet, spotless and well maintained. Reasonable food and friendly service. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We at this restaurant in August 2013 and were very impressed by the quality of food and service. It's the little things that make all the difference, like being shown the steaks on offer before you decide to order, or the sea bass (and being tactfully asked if you'd like the head and tail on or off !)
All in all, fabulous food and very welcoming chef and staff. I recommend it highly !
Dom

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitlon keynes england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

You may pass this place on the road and not give it much of a second glance but this little place has so much going for it if you scratch under the surface of an ex road side cafe..
We stayed in one of the 2 rooms in the main building. Well prepared, clean and shown personally to our room, the first indication of the 5 star service you get here.full of local advice, and I'm so glad we looked at other review recommendations as the steak meal experience we had was fabulous...steaks were the specials, and they were brought to your table raw for a pre cooked inspection...no off cuts here, started with mushrooms in creamy garlic sauce...delicious.We got offered a sauce with our steaks, and we were brought a pan of freshly prepared pepper and cream sauce..ooh..wonderful....good range of wines and a well stocked bar. Steak was cooked exactly to order for both of us, and melted in the mouth.
Dessert list...couldn't resist..
This guy can cook and when we find out his main cooker range had just blown out , presenting that quality of food was amazing. Beds were super comfortable, with mattress topper..nice touch...huge LCD tv on wall.sky sports of course..well stocked drinks making facilities.everything worked...great nights sleep..welcoming breakfast with fresh toast, .
All things considered I have paid 3 to 4 times the price for much worse experience and service.we looked inside one the 10 lodge rooms outside the main building , thinking we had just been lucky..but no..spotless, roomy, good facilities..
Just 12 rooms on offer..but if you are visiting anywhere within 30 miles radius, you would be crazy not to give this a go..just book it..! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

we were actually in the restaurant that night and Ken was extremely busy. The lady was quick to judge, she put us off with her moaning. Ken coped with the number he had in that night. The veg is never hard and never soggy. We stay and eat quite often here and staff are friendly and accommodating including the ladies who clean and refresh the rooms. The lady never showed any patience and was quite rude in her remarks. There are few complaints on any site this Lodge is reviewed which speaks for itself. We have stayed here three times this year and have stayed in lots of other places from five star to about three so know what we are talking about,

Room Tip: Ask for a room round the corner these are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The exterior of the building does no justice to the warm, friendly, efficient service that lurks inside. We were met by a charming lady, who immediately made us feel welcome and showed us to our room, which was so very clean and extraordinarily functional. We were amazed at the "little" extras, such as a fan, touch operated lights and copious beverage supplies.
We negotiated a time to dine and were not disappointed with drinks in the garden, watching the world go by.
Dinner was fabulous, with extremely attentive service not only from Lukka (receptionist, now waitress/bar person) but Ken,the owner. They pandered to my whim of having a meal of starters and my husband's preference for well done steaks, the steak was bought to the table before cooking and we were asked if it would suit .The dining experience was sublime, non pretentious food, honestly prepared, cooked and served. Unfortunately we were too full for pudding.
After a very good night's sleep in a really comfortable bed we again ate another brilliantly prepared, cooked and served, meal, breakfast.Again nothing was too much trouble and the service was so slick,
I wish we had not had to rush away, but we will return and hopefully soon to spend a little more time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here whilst away working and found the rooms very clean and tidy, the staff there were very pleasant and helpful. Having seen the extensive menu I decided to eat in the restaurant, the food was delicious and excellent value for money. I would have paid more!

I was so impressed I intend to return with my girlfriend for a weekend break.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here in 2011 while on holiday from Australia, we were visiting relatives in the area.
It was the easiest decicion to stay again this year.
From our arrival we ere treated as family, nothing was to much trouble for Ken the owner. The evening meals were excellent, the steak was first class. The deserts were very indulgent, 1st class. Lots of interaction between staff which made for some very enjoyable evenings. The waitress even remembered the unusual drinks we asked for 2 years ago. Each morning the breakfast was to the same high standard as the evening meals.
Our room was spotless, loved the waterfall shower, the bed very comfortable.
This place is on our must stay list on our next trip to the UK.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crouch Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouch Valley Lodge

Address: Burnham Road, Latchingdon CM3 6EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Latchingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Latchingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crouch Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crouch Valley Lodge to your Saves list