We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stressful stay due to a rude and unreasonable proprietor.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bouncers Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wickham Bishops
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bouncers Farm
Save
You added Bouncers Farm to your Saves list
Wickham Hall Lane, Wickham Bishops, Witham CM8 3JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stressful stay due to a rude and unreasonable proprietor.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Greeted with a ferocious "who are you!" rather than "hello". Quite a shock after being dealt with politely during the booking process. It certainly wiped the friendly smiles off our faces upon arrival. Once there we were also asked for ALOT of extra money. Then issued with a long list of rules, some different to what we were told in the info pack - but there is no way to reason with the proprietor. It is very clear she wants your money but not actually you staying there. It's a shame as it's a lovely spot but when you pay this much (plus all the extras) to be made so unwelcome and stressed out it is not worth it. Read the horror story reviews on here and still go at your own peril! and be sure to carry ALOT more cash than you were lead to believe you needed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable long weekend at Bouncers Farm.
There are two distinct camping areas. In the orchard are two traditional Romany caravans and a permanent tent. People staying in this part of the farm use the toilet facilities attached to the house. In the second area there were three more caravans and several people camping in their own tents. The loos and shower for this area were in a portacabin.
We stayed in the second area and spent the first night in 'The Burton', a traditional Romany caravan and the next two nights in 'The Buccaneer', a more modern travellers caravan. The Burton is quite compact and I take my hat off to the families who used to live in this type of home.
Both caravans were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It is a simple camp site, without any electricity and cooking is done on camping stoves or bbq's. The shower is heated by a wood burning stove which intrigued my husband and he spent a happy half an hour popping in and out to monitor the boiler to check the water temperature. Life is very relaxed and moves at a slower pace at Bouncers!
There are requests to protect the bluebell woods which are not unreasonable as it protects the environment and preserves them for others to enjoy.
Providing our own loo roll was no problem either - at least we knew there was plenty available, and our favourite brand too!
It is a bit of a treck from the car park to the camp site and we were glad it was not raining but we knew about the wheelbarrow 'experience' when we booked so did not mind. It is rather nice to 'go back in time' to the campsite in the woodland clearing away from cars and modern appliances.
The animals were delightful and the owner of the farm was helpful and friendly.
It is a basic site and this is made clear on their website and these reviews so visitors know what to expect.
We enjoyed our weekend so much that we stayed for an additional night and hope to go back again later this year. Must remember to buy some eggs from the free range hens next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I read the negative reviews of this site and thought they were unreasonable so went for a weekend. It was great! The owner joined us for a drink and it was fine. This is very simple camping and for what it is is just right.
Ian

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Contrary to other reviews, we found our host very helpful and not in the least bit rude. Her dog is large and very friendly and the animals on the farm are all very well looked after and some are free roaming.
If you book this after looking at the website, you can be under no illusion about the basic amenities on the site and the rules that are imposed. In fairness, these weren't too difficult to follow, were sent out before payment so you knew what to expect and were rightly there as bluebells are a protected species. Cars simply can't get down to the pitches, so wheelbarrows are available as long as other campers return them back to the barn area, which doesn't always happen after transporting all the equipment down a muddy slope.
We were able to get enough wood for the day - the communal campfire and the communal kitchen area had been taken up by other campers. We had our own campfire on bricks. Feel that firepits could be dug into each plot to avoid any problems with damaging the grass.
We had a great time in a very nice part of the country and would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

We went as a large group for a work leaving do. The place didn't have sufficient fire wood to purchase so had to collect a few loose twigs from the ground in the sorrounding area which we got called thieves and vandals for by the very rude owner. She the, promptly made us put the fire out and was told to "GET OUT" wonderful customer service skill...NOT!! It was smelly, the don't do list is as long as your arm and the silly woman with her hench dog really need to learn some manners!! Would never consider returning and would not recommend it to anyone unless you want to be treated in a disgusting manner by the scary pac a mac owner woman and her vile horse/dog. Claire M

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wickham Bishops hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We visited for an extended family camping trip involving aunts, uncles, brother's, sisters, parents, grandchildren 4 and 21 months. We had two 6 man tents, the Bucceneer caravan, and 1 one man tent. Overall a good time was had by all round teh camp fire, Kids playing freely and enjoying the animals and freedom. Weather lovely. Facilities very very basic and not ideal for more than a two night stay.

We were prepared for the wheelbarrow's and long walk to the area for camping but think the owner would do well to improve the experience with provision of more than two barrow's (one of which was on its last legs) as on the Sunday when we left there were a total of 10 pitches packing up to leave with only two wheelbarrow's between us. The wild, rugged nature of the farm and site is great for kids and a feeling of getting away from it all but if the sand pit is for kids to play in then think the surrounding area should be kept nettle free and maintained by using a covering and borders. It felt like there were a lot of don't do rules which made us all feel a bit uncertain at times, like don't pick the fruit, don't go in the bluebell wood, don't enter the gypsy camping site... (by surrounding it with a white electric fence to keep us regular campers out!) I didn't feel the site was overly expensive but given its very basic provisions I think the inclusion of wood in the portacabin to heat the single shower would feel like a warmer welcome for campers. One final thing... The owners wolf hound a lovely and amenable dog roamed free which means having to dodge her poo! again if the owner made some effort to clean up after her pet I think it would again make campers feel more welcome.... generally my family and I was left feeling like an unwelcome guests.

Room Tip: Be prepared for basic washing facilities and take your own loo roll!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Arrived on the Friday evening to find a nice quiet farm/wooded area. In the morning couldn't find any showers which are stated just a dirty portacabin with communial toilets and 2 sinks with only cold water. These were dirty and didn't even have any toilet roll. Eventually found the showers at the house but when we went to use them we were told by the owner in a voice from out of Little Britain "These showers are not for you, they are for the Gypsy Campers". When I asked where the showers were for the campers I was informed that there were none, when I stated that they were on the websites she just ignored me and walked away. We had paid for 3 tents with 4 people staying on the 1st night and 6 on the second, when my and my freinds wife arrived she shot out demanding more money even though we had paid. Also we asked if it was OK for 2 freinds to visit for an hour as they lived nearby and were told, only if they pay a visitors fee. The whole impression we got was that of a money grabbing owner, charging above the odds for campers (£16 an night for a 2 man tent and 2 people) and not having any facilities. I wouldn't advise staying if you are a camper.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bouncers Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouncers Farm

Address: Wickham Hall Lane, Wickham Bishops, Witham CM8 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Witham > Wickham Bishops
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wickham Bishops
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bouncers Farm Hotel Wickham Bishops

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouncers Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.