We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal, Hotel a little tired, but nothing terrible!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowley Manor Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rowley Manor Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Rowley Road, Little Weighton HU20 3XR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Little Weighton
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal, Hotel a little tired, but nothing terrible!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just got back from an overnight's stay at Rowley Manor on a Groupon deal. The staff were welcoming on arrival, with log fires in the reception area and bar area, so very cosy. There was also a string quartet playing in the reception area. The meal in the restaurant was outstanding, service and staff were good, and so was the breakfast - we thoroughly enjoyed it. The only negative was that, as previous reviews stated, the rooms are very tired and could do with a re-vamp. The bath panel in our en suite was hanging off, the toilet didn't flush very well, the decor/furniture was very tired (wood chip paper). Our rooms were up in the attic - we assumed that because we were on a Groupon deal, and they had a 60th Birthday party function on that night and were booked up, that we had probably been stuck with the not so good rooms up in the Gods. There were 4 of us and we were hoping for a four poster bed room, but ended up with a twin bedded room and a double room. We thought that the downstairs areas were lovely, but that the rooms did need re-vamping to bring it up to the same standard. Having said that, the rooms were clean and tea making facilities available, so I don't think some of the negative comments posted are really justified. One thing we didn't like was the very "soggy" double bed - kept rolling into the middle and our legs felt like they were positioned higher than our heads! However, for one or two night stays, the room was perfectly adequate and not worth complaining about. The hotel is in a lovely rural area, surrounded by paddocks of horses, and wished we could have stayed longer to have a look round the area. All in all, for £89 for 2 of us with meal and wine included, it was well worth going and would recommend. Would definitely go back. Thank you!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 14 in the "attic" - no view from the window, which was obscured by the slat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    128
    68
    34
    20
See reviews for
51
270
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had an overnight stay with friends booked by Travelzoo . We all thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would happily go again. The staff were efficient, pleasant and courteous and were at pains to be helpful. We all chose different dishes for dinner and were more than happy with our choices. There were open fires in the public areas which helped to create the warm friendly atmosphere. Wifi coverage was also good.
The church is well worth a visit particularly if you are interested in stained glass.

Room Tip: Some rooms have shower cubicles and others baths with shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have just returned from spending two nights at this hotel and we absolutely loved it - and will return! The hotel is in a lovely setting - surrounded by fields containing horses - giving wonderful views from all the hotel windows. Our room was great - although bathroom does need a little facelift! We dined on the first evening and the food and service were second to none. All the staff at the hotel were efficient and friendly and made us feel most welcome. A little gem!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just returned from a two night trip to Rowley Manor. We were unsure what to expect after reading some reviews on here, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The manor is set in beautiful grounds and is accessed along a tree lined private driveway, with fields of horses to either sides. Throughout our stay, the staff were very friendly, offering us advice on the best places to go and where to park etc.

We were in room 2, which is a four poster bed room. It was clean, warm, spacious and with fantastic views across the countryside.

We ate at the hotel both evenings and the food was absolutely delicious. Again, service was fantastic. Both evenings before our meal, we sat in the lounge relaxing by the roaring fire with a drink - bliss!

If we had paid much more (we were on a Travelzoo deal), we would have liked a shower as well as a bath with shower head, but this is only a minor issue. We would definitely go back, and we would recommend it to friends too.

Room Tip: Room 2 is spacious with an entrance hall, bathroom with bath and two sinks, four poster bed and doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We visited in August to celebrate my partners birthday, came back again in mid November to experience the real fires and fantastic quality food.

We cant fault the hotel for comfort cleanliness and customer service, in my opinion they dont deserve the negative reviews found on here.

We went on a bed breakfast and evening meal basis and had two rooms 9 and 10 both very comfortable and Room 9 had the most fantastic views. If you want somewhere to chill out for a few nights this is it you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: We have stayed in Room 5 and Room 9 both equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for one night with friends for a dinner with b & b special. What a find. We arrived to roaring fires in the entrance hall and lounge areas and were made to feel immediately welcome by such friendly and amenable staff. After aperitifs we were treated to a delightful three course dinner with a lovely ambiance in the dining room. A good nights sleep was followed by a sumptuous breakfast ... with fires still going full blast! We were given vouchers to encourage a return but not needed as we can't wait to return for afternoon tea and the festive season.

Room Tip: Room 16 - sunny and spacious with comfy bed with fabulous views over the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. He booked the honeymoon suite, The room was massive with a 4 poster bed, dining area, a 3 piece suite and a chaise settee.The bathroom was enormous too. The views from all the windows were outstanding, on a clear day you can see for miles.

The most outstanding thing were the staff, they were all so friendly and attentive. Our deal included a 3 course meal the food is top class 5 star.

On checking out we given vouchers to come for a 3 course meal £31.95 per couple and a voucher for Sunday lunch. I cannot recommend Rowley Manor highly enough. t

Room Tip: Push the boat out and book the HOneymoon suite. Just ask if there any deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rowley Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowley Manor Country House Hotel

Address: Rowley Road, Little Weighton HU20 3XR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Little Weighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Little Weighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rowley Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel Yorkshire/Little Weighton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowley Manor Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.