We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rowley Manor Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rowley Manor Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Rowley Road, Little Weighton HU20 3XR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Little Weighton
england
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Poor quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited the hotel for evening meal on a Groupon offer to find every other customer there also on Groupon offer! The waitress was lovely and welcoming but the food was very poor. My mushroom starter was literally one medium size mushroom in a watery sauce (only fork on table and no bread to soak it up as this was £3 extra!) My main course of seabass was one small fillet served on a bed of tasteless noodles and my dessert of bread and butter pudding was dry and had no custard visible within the pudding. My husband did not fare much better! Even with the substantial discount offered by Groupon it was poor value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    126
    68
    34
    20
See reviews for
50
269
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely Setting,pleasant well mannered efficient staff.We stayed one night Dinner + B&B on a £89 Groupon Deal,this was very good value for money,however if we had booked at the full rate it would have been twice this cost which would have been far too much! The Public Areas where stylish & traditional,though in some places decor & renovation work will be required before too long.The Bedroom we had was clean,tidy,large with a good view,but some of the furnishings,decor & bathroom fittings where old & worn,carpet was just ok.The Evening Meal was nice,took a little too long to arrive between courses,but well presented.Breakfast was good.Overall we enjoyed our stay,particularly for the price,may go back again if this same deal is on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxenhope, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

After scouring East Yorkshire for a perfect wedding venue we viewed Rowley Manor and were immediately besotted with its atmosphere and quirkiness. The inside is full of character and the grounds are beautiful.
My wife had visions of a vintage wedding and the manor house fit this specification exactly. Initially, we were greeted with warmth and our enquiry was handled professionally and personally. We discussed our budget and a very appealing and personalised package was offered to us.
The build up to the wedding was handled amazingly, with Amanda always available to talk about anything that needed organising; she couldn't do enough to help us and continually 'checked in' with us to make sure that we were fully reassured about our big day.
The day itself was ABSOLUTELY spectacular, the manor house was warmed by roaring fires and the night porter had done a sterling job preparing the tables for the wedding breakfast.
The staff at Rowley are incredible, words can't do them justice. They were always on hand to help with anything and nothing was too much trouble. Paul from the front of house team is an asset to Rowley and took care of us the entire day. The rest of the staff worked so hard but were incredibly discreet. Special thanks to the bar man who kept the bar open until after 3am for our resident guests!
The food served was also excellent; ALL our guests commented on its quality. The buffet served in the evening was also of the same fineness. Breakfast in the morning was equally as good and very welcome after the evening’s antics.
In summary - if considering a wedding in East Yorkshire do consider Rowley Manor, the day was so beautiful, personal and professionally managed. My new wife and I couldn't recommend it enough we can't wait to go back for our anniversary!!

Room Tip: The majority of double rooms have a four poster bed. We stayed in room 1 (Bridal suite), it was beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

On a very foggy evening we visited Rowley Manor for dinner to celebrate our anniversary - 35 years to the day that we had spent our wedding night there. On entering the hotel we were met with silence- it was spooky to match the weather! After finding the reception we were directed to the bar to wait for our food order to be taken. The bar was pleasant with a roaring log fire, but felt we needed to whisper as it was again very quiet. After choosing our meal we were taken through to the restaurant which was lovely. Nice lighting, well spaced tables immaculately dressed. We chose from the set menu. Our starters came and were very good and tasty and presented well.I thought the choice of main courses was limited and our choices were mediocre on arrival. We paid extra to have cheeseboard which again was a little disappointing - small portion. We chose to have coffee and liqueurs back in the bar in front of the log fire which was lovely. To sum up - the venue was lovely although very quiet which made me feel uncomfortable at times, the food was average for the price paid, the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my (now) husband live in New York and were planning our wedding back in East Yorkshire, UK where I'm from. We ruled out most venues in the area and ended up deciding between Rise Hall and Rowley. Whilst Rise Hall is visually stunning we were taken aback by all the restrictions around having a wedding there and when we met with the venue organizers we felt like we were being interviewed for the privilege of letting us have our wedding at their venue. Contrast that with Rowley where the staff and owners couldn't do enough to accommodate us. We hired out the entire hotel for a full weekend and erected a marquee on the back lawn for our wedding. Amanda and the staff were exceptional throughout the whole thing and even our guests commented on the service. The food was excellent, our requests were met completely and the hotel looked beautiful, especially the immaculate lawns which our guests played croquet on. Rowley gave our wedding a very vintage, country-garden feel which our guests loved. I couldn't recommend Rowley enough for a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visited during the week on a groupon deal and was very impressed with the public places. As mentioned before very clean, with fresh flowers and open fire.

The restaurant was clean and tidy with the tables set out nicely.

The food was nice but would have been disappointed if paying full price, there was nothing wrong with the food, just missing the wow factor you’d expect at paying £70+ for 3 courses. The cheese cake was also on small side!

The staff were also very friendly and helpful which made the night go well. All in all its worth a visit with discount but I wouldn’t visit again at full price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently had a night away here on a groupon deal, and what a great offer! Fantastic home cooked 3 course meal, steaming hot freshly cooked breakfast in the morning (no tepid buffet food!) and clean/ comfy room all for £89.(We paid £15 more for a room with a four poster bed) Friendly staff, beautiful countryside all around, free parking, relaxed atmosphere, fresh flowers in public places and open fires billowing out warmth in several downstairs rooms. Cosy, comfy and homely, we hope to return. Thanks all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rowley Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowley Manor Country House Hotel

Address: Rowley Road, Little Weighton HU20 3XR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Little Weighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Little Weighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rowley Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel Yorkshire/Little Weighton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowley Manor Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.