We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a little gem! we hope to return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowley Manor Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rowley Manor Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Rowley Road, Little Weighton HU20 3XR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Weighton
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“what a little gem! we hope to return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently had a night away here on a groupon deal, and what a great offer! Fantastic home cooked 3 course meal, steaming hot freshly cooked breakfast in the morning (no tepid buffet food!) and clean/ comfy room all for £89.(We paid £15 more for a room with a four poster bed) Friendly staff, beautiful countryside all around, free parking, relaxed atmosphere, fresh flowers in public places and open fires billowing out warmth in several downstairs rooms. Cosy, comfy and homely, we hope to return. Thanks all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    156
    75
    42
    27
See reviews for
57
327
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited the restaurent on a special price deal. It has old world charm, a cosy fire burning in the bar, and although the food was very good, I dont think I would have paid the full price stated on the menu.For a venue of this quality there were a few small details not quite right, whether it was because of the special offer I do not know.For instance the wine waiter poured the wine straight into a glass without offering to taste first. small point I know, but I thought this was a usual custom

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from our 2 night stay at Rowley Manor - a lovely country manor house with a long history set in beautiful grounds. This was a 2 night bed and breakfast deal booked via KGB. To our delight, the hotel had a half price evening meal offer so we ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay. Our large room was very comfortable (room 9) with fantastic views, the food in the restaurant was good (for 1 veggie/1 carnivore) and all the wines were very reasonable priced. The public rooms are very welcoming, as are the staff and we thoroughly enjoyed our very relaxing stay. I don't know what else the staff could have done to make our stay more enjoyable - well done to the Rowley Manor team!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nothing was wrong, but nothing was special. The public rooms are lovely. The bedroom was just ordinary (though with good artwork on the walls) the bathroom was just ordinary (holes in the door where a clothing hook had once stood, defective shower, no bathtub), the bar had very limited drinks available, and the food was ordinary. As others have said (see Kirstyhall), main course choice at dinner was Loin of Pork, Coq au Vin, Salmon, or Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding - yawn! Just like a pub Sunday lunch. Shortest wine list I've ever seen but wine reasonably priced. Lost of helpful and friendly young staff, but more training needed, for example we were informed that our table was ready and left to carry our own drinks from the bar, and the wine was not opened in our presence. For a hotel that is off the beaten track, I just don't see what the selling point is to motivate people to go there.

Room Tip: Access to all bedrooms involves climbing stairs, and bedrooms 8 - 14 are on the top floor up a secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a marvellous night on Friday 5th October for my Birthday.

Room 6 was large, spacious and clean with a four poster bed and balcony - looked to have been newly refrubished.

The staff were extremely helpful (with a special mention for "Clare" for all her help). My partner surprised me by travelling down to place champagne, flowers, chocolates & balloons into the room, prior to our arrival - it was a total surprise.

The evening meal was lovely, we had mushroom & goats cheeses starters and to follow I had Te grilled cod - my partner had te ribeye steak. Throughly enjoyed it. We didn't have a dessert.

The bar area has sofas and comfortable relaxing chairs with a warm, welcoming ambiance.

The breakfast was 1st class with a selection of croissants, fruit selection (including fresh cut water melon), fresh fruit juices and cereals. The full English breakfast included black pudding - one of very best I've tasted.

We had a fabulous time and certainly will be returning in te near future.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A wonderful find of a hotel, Excellent food, excellent room, excellent service and excellent price! Well worth a stay. Very peaceful, warm and friendly setting. We will definitely go back again and again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We got a deal from Travelzoo for dinner for 2 for £35. We went on a Sunday night.
Well... The starter was OK. The mains, roast topside and pork loin, nearly - but not quite - reach the standard of Sunday roasts served in pubs all over Hull. The beef was reasonable, for topside. The pok was overcooked and very, very tough. Both gravies were Bisto or similar. The roast potatoes were squishy, not crisp. The only good thing about the meal were the vegetables, which were properly cooked.
The dining room wasn't full but the staff seemed a bit harried. We had to remind one of the waiters to bring the wine we had ordered.
Two out of four puddings were finished by the time we got there, 7.30pm. The substitutes were possibly from the freezer.
All together, not an experience I would rush to repeat. The voucher supposedly gave us a half priced meal - I would be very annoyed to be asked to pay £70 for this.
It's a pity, because the Manor is a lovely location. If it served good food I am sure patrons would flock there and there would be no need to offer so many money off deals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rowley Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowley Manor Country House Hotel

Address: Rowley Road, Little Weighton HU20 3XR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Little Weighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Weighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rowley Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel Yorkshire/Little Weighton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowley Manor Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.