We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and v.nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Country Park Inn and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Country Park Inn and Lodge to your Saves list
The Country Park Inn and Lodge
Cliff Road | Hessle Forshore, Hessle HU13 0HB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hessle B&B and Inns
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good food and v.nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

we were visiting a relative in Castle Hill hospital and decided to stop over for lunch. Glad we booked, because even at 12:15 it was very busy. Specials board had only the one item, but the regular menu was quite extensive. All three meals ordered were lovely and portions good to large - satisfying the mist hungry of our party.

It could have been just because of the Easter weekend - but would recommend that you book in advance of your visit

Room Tip: Book in advance - the restaurant gets very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    29
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
22
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lucky Find! Travelling to visit relatives in Hull and selected this hotel from online. Great views, wonderful pub and rrestaurant. Friendly staff, clean, comfortable and well heated room. For 29 pounds it is a steal. Thanks to the staff and also to a fun Quiz night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

stayed there for a weekend ,great rooms and restaurant with a fantastic view of the river humber and humber bridge ,the restaurant had a good menu and the bar plenty of draught beers etc ,it is also close to all commuters routes with the train station that connects directly with hull central a 10 minute walk away ,it is also on the transpennine trail for people who like walking or hiking ,the restaurant do a great carvery on sundays but be sure to be there early to get a table ,there is ample parking on site ,

Room Tip: lodge room no 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed over after seeing a comedian. The rooms are £29 and you get what you pay for. We were given room 1 which was a disabled room on the ground floor. The door was difficult to close which faced an empty car park. The decor in the room was very shabby and dated and the light switches had even been painted on with red paint of the wall they were fixed to! The toothbrush holder was all rusty. The mattress was really thin and we are not disabled, but would worry about a disabled person sleeping on it. I had a horrible night's sleep. Pillows smelt awful, daren't think about it too much. The hotel doesn't do breakfast so we drove upto the Premier Inn Brewers Fayre which was fabulous. I was going to recommend the place to my parents as they have loads of interesting gigs on - but they are in their 60s and I wouldn't want them sleeping in a room like that. They also have a drainage problem, so they have masserator toilets. The one above us kept us awake.
However, the position of this hotel I think is mind blowing! Right on the Estuary under the Humber Bridge, the views are amazing. I think the whole place could do with a facelift and rides too much on it's location. We ate in the bar, which was ok. Tables sticky and cutlery bit stained. Food average. I love the location and would happily pay much more if only the place had a make over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

attending a function so decided to stay over, as the cost of the room would be the same as my taxi fare!
Checking in staff very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are in a seperate building, cosy rooms with country cottage feel decor (a little dated and chintzy for my taste) but spotlessly clean.
Lovely comfortable bed, Nice clean spacious bathroom.
Nice touch was the biscuit and tea tray in the morning.

No breakfast facilities, but McDonalds and Sainsburys Cafe are not far away!

Would stay here again without a second thought!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Recently took my wife and her mother there for lunch. The food was very nice and the view from our table over the river was worth the visit. However The Country Park Inn lacks atmosphere, although I am sure that this could be worked on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights room was damp, pillows hard. we had room 4 where a path runs along side the window, so nosy people always looking in, one women put her head in the window and said oh so these are the bedrooms. Also a few ants were found running around.

Room Tip: avoid room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hessle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Country Park Inn and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Park Inn and Lodge

Address: Cliff Road | Hessle Forshore, Hessle HU13 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Hessle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hessle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Park Inn is located on the banks of the River Humber and nestles in the shadow of the iconic Humber Bridge. Starting as a public house and restaurant it has been extensively developed over the years and now incorporates a fantastic public bar serving a fantastic array of home cooked fayre ranging from the typical pub classics to those dishes with something that bit different, an amazing events suite with facilities for up to 400 guests and a delightful accommodation annexe with eight cottage style ensuite bedrooms. Whatever the occasion – family get together, pub lunch, conference or wedding, The Country Park Inn and our team are certain we have something to suit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Country Park Inn and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Country Park Inn and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.