We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast clinched it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Redcliffe House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Redcliffe House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Redcliffe House Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Redcliff Road, Hessle HU13 0HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hessle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast clinched it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a convenience stay in the middle of a trip from Scotland to London. Four of us plus dog stayed in a converted garage which was cosy to say the least but it was only a one night stay. It was good that there were plenty of grounds for the dog to explore at the rear of the main house. We ordered in pizza and accessories for dinner from a local outlet.

I would have rated this as good value for money but, otherwise, just so-so. However full English breakfast plus all the supporting cast (£8) in the delightful dining room overlooking the garden, made it an overall positive experience.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back if possible to avid noise from the nearby main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
16
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Perfect for a one night stop over or even a couple of nights. Just under the Humber bridge near to the country park. Excellent rooms and very friendly service. We have two big dogs who were made to feel very welcome with a large rear garden for them to explore. Lots of choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We enjoyed our 2-nights' stay at Redcliffe House. We came up to Hull for our son's graduation, and just needed somewhere literally for bed and breakfast. The first thing is the surprise of the location. It's very near the incessant A63, not far from the Humber Bridge, and to get to it you drive off onto the Hessle foreshore road and go past an unpromising range of industrial premises. But, as soon as you turn into the drive, you enter another world. It's an oasis of elegance and calm, and although you can hear the road from the outside, inside it's perfectly peaceful.
We were welcomed and shown to a very pleasant room with en-suite shower room. It was spotlessly clean and furnished comfortably and conveniently. There was a sweet little box containing a wide selection of drinks sachets, etc. We found that the mattress was rather firm for our personal liking, but there were things available to pad it out a bit, and we slept well. The shower room is nicely set up too, and all works well. There was one slight annoyance which was that the extractor fan is so very noisy – you can even hear others going in neighbouring rooms when other guests are getting up – but at least you can use the basin light instead.
Breakfast was delightful, cooked personally to order, and served in a light and spacious room overlooking the lush garden. Everything was delicious, though the sausage didn't seem very 'meaty'. The cost (£7.95) is added to your bill. It seems rather a lot, but it is similar to other places, and didn't make the overall cost of our stay at all unreasonable. In fact, the option of not buying breakfast gives you a way of saving which you don't get with an inclusive price.
Parking on the smallish front drive was very convenient. There didn't seem to be an issue of space despite the fact that the B&B was full of proud parents! The 5-mile drive to the centre of Hull is fast (about 10 minutes). Hessle station is only 5-minutes' walk, and the Park & Ride is also very convenient (£2.40 return until about 7pm).
We were treated very efficiently and pleasantly, and the price was reasonable. Take cash, though, if you want to avoid paying a surcharge for card use. That took us a bit by surprise as we were checking out. Overall, we reckoned we had done well to come here, and would come again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are totally silent (with the windows shut)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I booked a one night visit in a garden room as recommended by other reviewers, primarily for the quiet. The rooms on the front of the house are above but facing Clive Sullivan Way, a motorway.

The room was big and airy with a nice views into the garden below, it was decorated with antique style furniture, a sleigh bed that was comfortable but on the short side for a person over 6ft. The bathroom was big and clean with a shower- bath.

Most importantly for me, I was able to get a decent night's sleep; worth the extra price than the other rooms, though other travellers would need to take this into account when booking.

I didn't try the breakfast as it was too early for me on a Sunday so cannot comment on quality. However, travellers should note breakfast is not included in your room rate but is an extra cost per person. This is a usual feature of hotels, particularly those in the area (Premier Inn, Mercure and Hallmark) but not B&Bs in my experience. I already knew this before we went so wasn't surprised though I imagine others could be aggrieved. On the otherhand, it is good to have a choice whether to have breakfast though adding this cost to the room rate may affect customers' perceptions of value for money.

Service was friendly and non intrusive. Indeed, Mia did not try to 'sell' breakfast to us. Also when I needed to borrow a hairdryer and mugs for hot drinks (if I'm being pedantic, both should already be in the room), she was very accommodating.

Parking was a bit tight on the evenings, if the house is fully booked. One may have to park on the foreshore if they have anything bigger than a Peugeot.

Would I stay again? Yes, for the location, service and quiet (on one side of the house at least).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fabulous B&B all round, room lovely, fantastic views, unrestricted view of the Humber Bridge, great breakfast - will definitely book again :-) especially handy to get to our friends place for a surprise party and to get to the foreshore

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottigham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Superb house,beautiful decorated,home from home,Working away from home best lodging I have stayed in great vfm money.Very friendly staff,nothing to much of a problem,free wifi.I did,nt have breakfast ,at work when breakfast is served so can,t comment.So relaxing in beautiful surrondings,comfortable beds ,plenty of hot water...been an absolute pleasure thanks so much Mia, you have been very helpful and so accomadating wish everwhere was a good as your guest house...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Easy to find with great 1st impressions.We recieved a nice warm welcome upon arrival. We were in a room with no ensuite, the bathroom was just around the corner and was clean and available when we needed it. I thought the decoration was very nice throughout. A fridge and microwave were available to guests. The gardens out back were lovley shame about the weather. Didin't have breakfast so no comment. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redcliffe House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Redcliff Road, Hessle HU13 0HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Hessle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hessle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcliffe House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Edwardian family run bed and breakfast set in an acre of old English country garden which has been awarded 4 stars every year since opening in 2000. All rooms are spacious and have their own individual style, traditional with a modern twist! Off street parking, free wifi, lcd plasma tv's with built in freeview in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Redcliffe House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcliffe House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.