We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hidden gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Country Courtyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kingston Country Courtyard to your Saves list
Kingston Country Courtyard
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Kingston Country Courtyard | Corfe Castle, Wareham, Kingston BH20 5LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Dorset UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have now stayed at Kingston Country courtyard on a couple of occasions I have to say I have always been delighted with my stay. On this last occasion I went to a wine tasting evening with a bed and breakfast stay over.
The rooms as you would expect by the name are laid out courtyard style. I stayed in room 1 firstly what is really nice is I could park my car immediately outside the door of the room, perfect for a quick unload.
The Room itself was a good sized double room with a large ensuite wet room style bathroom.
Very clean warm and well presented.
Tea and coffee making facilities and small flat screen Tv perfect!!
Lovely freshly cooked full English style breakfast was provided in the restaurant only a few yards from the room.
After a long 5 hour coastal and inland trek I had a traditional roast dinner with all the trimmings - very nice piping hot food and lovely gravy!! The service was great and the waiter was a very friendly smiling chap, he was no youngster but there were quite a few dinners to serve and I thought he coped very well and kept smiling all the way through a busy service.
Looking briefly at the other facilities I can see why this venue is a favourite for weddings, beautiful setting with an amazing view.
All in all I would highly recommend this venue everyone seemed very friendly and eager to please :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
48
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had an amazing night wine tasting and the staff were really welcoming. We had a fantastic offer which was room and wine tasting and breakfast. The room was lovely with under floor heating. An organised walk the following day with Roast dinner back to Kingston. Totally amazing weekend.. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at this place with friends for a Saturday night Wine tasting and Sunday morning walk with Sunday Lunch (They were raising money for Charity)

The rooms were fantastic, the atmosphere and friendliness in the bar for the wine tasting was brilliant. The breakfast (even with a hangover) was second to none with a great choices and excellent service.

The staff were attentive and extremely helpful and I look forward to another weekend like that soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We attended a wedding here and it was absolutely fantastic. We didn't actually stay here so I can't comment on the accommodation.
When we arrived we were offered hot apple juice and I believe cider. We then went to a lovely garden where we got the opportunity to take some fabulous photos and the views were stunning. We were then ushered to courtyard where we were able to throw confetti and take more photos. We then went into the old barn for the meal etc. I couldn't fault the meal we had it was fantastic. The main course was very unusual and the highlight was one person from each table was given an apron and chefs hat in order to carve the meat. We had such a good time and couldn't fault anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosliston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful setting with breathtaking views, good breakfast.

Sadly, left a lot to be desired - certainly not commensurate with the price (165.00 per night)

Our room (the Byres) was damp - the smell hit you as soon as you opened the door and there was a visible damp patch on the stone wall right by the bed.

The room was dark with poor lighting - not good when you consider this is also a wedding venue and ladies will be using the room to get ready.

Low budget hair dryer which blew up on first use (replaced by another low budget model). The plug was some distance from the mirror meaning you could not comfortably dry your hair in front of it.

Old bathroom with only shower over taps which was neither use or ornament as it was impossible to get the temperature right and there was no where to hang it up overhead.

The bedside lamp was not working and the bulb had blown over the mirror adding to the dark atmosphere in the room.

We stayed for two nights and our room was not made up after the first night.

All in all a beautiful but unloved place in need of upgrading. It's such a shame the owners ignore the little things which could have made our stay so much more enjoyable and have made the accommodation better value for money.

Room Tip: If you like to have a shower ask for a room with a wet room but make sure you take a spare towel as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is lovely. Amazing location. Lovely big rooms that are very comfortable. But it just feels like something is missing. For the price, a mighty £160 for a superior family, you would expect something pretty special. Yes you get a good quality breakfast, everything is clean and in order, but the rooms are just so basic. No thought has been given to the decoration, everything was very bland and it just felt like there was an overall 'lack of love'. Hope this helps...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

First the good bits, good welcome and lovely location, spacious room, excellent breakfast. Now the bad, our accomodation (superior room) was very dark and gloomy, the TV reception was poor and the bath just had a shower head.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingston Country Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Country Courtyard

Address: Kingston Country Courtyard | Corfe Castle, Wareham, Kingston BH20 5LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingston Country Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston Country Courtyard has been established for many years now, having started in one bedroom of the busy farmer’s Purbeck stone farmhouse. Subsequent years have seen the incorporation of the buildings into what you see today.As well as traditional farmhouse accommodation, Kingston Country Courtyard offers a variety of apartments and suites in tastefully converted Purbeck stone. Furnished to a very high standard and offering the comforts of modern living, they retain much of their original character and charm. Kingston Country Courtyard is situated in the heart of the Purbecks, which, at the eastern end of the Jurassic coast world heritage site, provides an abundance of activities and attractions. A short walk takes you to the Dorset Coastal Path that meanders from Shell Bay to Lulworth Cove and the famous Durdle Door - a dramatic coastline offering an outstanding variety of scenery. Popular local attractions include the 10th-century Corfe Castle - one of the most impressive mediaeval ruins in England; the nature and wildlife reserves of Brownsea Island, Durleston Country Park, the RSPB reserve at Arne, and the marine reserve at Kimmeridge Bay. You can step back to the steam age with the Swanage railway, visit the world famous Tank Museum at Bovington, and the nearby Monkey World Ape Rescue Centre at Wool, or visit the Lytchett Minster Courtyard Craft Centre. Golf, walking, watersports, riding, bicycling, cliff climbing, leisurely pub meals...the list is endless! Or simply relax on the golden sands of Studland Bay and watch the world go by! Kingston Country Courtyard offers a wide and flexible arrangement of accommodation to suit all needs. Whether you require a self-catered family accommodation or fully serviced rooms (twin, double or suite) we can provide them. All rooms feature en-suite facilities (either bath or shower) and all have colour TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Irons and hair dryers are available on request, and fresh towels are provided. Access to free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kingston Country Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Country Courtyard Hotel Kingston
Courtyard Dorset
Dorset Courtyard
Kingston Country Courtyard Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Country Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.