We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local fare, eating with the locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Rifugio

Il Rifugio
Loc. Lama 47, 52033 Caprese Michelangelo, Italy
0575 793752
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local fare, eating with the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a great restaurant, near our accommodation, which was a no frills, great food and wine experience. As always we chose to test the house wine - a fine local red served in ceramic jugs. They had english menus, which really helped us non-locals, but on Saturday night we really got the feeling that people from the villages all around were meeting to eat together here. And the things we saw them order looked fantastic - I wish I had know what they were! Still our choices were delicious, Insalate Catriona (with parmesan cheese and grated white truffle) was delicious. The meat platter was very tasty - but huge! And the pizzas looked so good we came back a second night just to have them. And finishing with a lemon sorbet served in the lemon skin - perfect ending.
My only issue was with the television turned on in the corner - it was a bit noisy - but the locals seemed to like it?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    71
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent local food and wine off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We dined here while we were staying at a rental cottage at nearby Casa Capellini. Our host made reservations for us, and a good thing, too, as this was obviously where the locals (including a fairly large group of British expats) ate on a regular basis. The food and service were excellent, though we did have to resort to pantomime as nobody spoke any English. We started with local cheese and truffles (unbelievable), fried porcini mushrooms (not what we expected and again delicious), and shared a veggie pasta dish, ending with creme brulee and limoncello, all topped with a bottle of house red wine (one of the better wines we had during our entire trip in Italy). If you visit Caprese Michelangelo or the surrounding area, do not miss this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Typical tuscan food with a lovely atmosphere where everyone very friendly and helpful - great menu with lots of choice

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“An Easter Feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A gargantuan spread of 8 or 9 courses of homecooked pasta and freshly roasted meats with all the usual trimmings of wild boar and truffles. A great communal meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome, table for a family of 11 was fixed immediately without a problem. excellent starter chef's special truffels in three different small dishes. delicious. pasta normal high quality one might expect in Italy. main courses were also very nice. the griled pigeon was ordered three times, 1 slightly overcooked, 1 just overcooked and 1 was perfect. clearly result of using a very hot grill which adds to the taste but is difficult to time, anyway this was the only mistake. Furthermore the winelist is more than impressive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Rifugio also viewed

Caprese Michelangelo, Province of Arezzo
Caprese Michelangelo, Province of Arezzo
 
Caprese Michelangelo, Province of Arezzo
Caprese Michelangelo, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Il Rifugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Rifugio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.