We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very uncomfortable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castelmar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castelmar to your Saves list
Hotel Castelmar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 61 nr 2, between calle 8 and 10, Campeche 24000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Campeche
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very uncomfortable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights recently as we travelled throughout the Yucatan. The street noise in the rooms are just plain loud! I compare it to literally having a bed right on the sidewalk it's so bad. Also,
-The bed was short. I'm 5'8" and my feet hung off the end
-The pool was dirty. There was a grimy film on the surface and it needed vacuuming.
-We asked the reception to book us a tour to Edzna, they initially said $700 pesos, which, after we returned from dinner that night, had suddenly become $800 pesos and left us no recourse to cancel the tour because we were on a time schedule. Also saw the same tour offered for half that at a later time.
-Initially we had booked for 1 night with an option to stay a second. We were moved to another room the second night, no big deal. However, even though the Hotel already had my credit card number, we received a call at close to 11PM in our room asking us how we'd like to pay for our 2nd night. Really? Are you that desperate? This couldn't wait til the next morning? My wife and I are both close to 40 and working professionals,not some sketchy backpackers. Not only were the rooms very uncomfortable, but they way we were treated left us feeling very uncomfortable.

We definitey would NOT recommend Hotel Castlemar!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    168
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
60
237
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Although the hotel itself is nice, and being in the historic center and offering free parking are definitely worth being mentioned, the reason why I cannot recommend this hotel are the rooms. You have to sleep with earplugs because the noise of the street is so annoyingly loud (also at night). Then there is this glass above the door of your room, letting the light of the brightly lit hallway in your room. I have never complained about a room at the reception before, this time I had to! It resulted in some less light in the hallway making things a bit better. But summing things up, there is no comfort to this hotel where the most important thing you would like to have are a good nights rest and you can't because it's loud and light! I might get a rude comment from the owner for this, but my reviews on trip advisor have always been and will be fair and balanced.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Castelmar a few weeks ago during a trip to Campeche. Castelmar lies in an almost ideal spot from which to explore Campeche, literally right around the corner from the town's main square. The hotel is very charming in appearance and its main attractions actually lie in its common areas; the hotel features a lovely main courtyard with tile floors evocative of the old hacienda style. Our suite featured a charming balcony that opened up on the street. One exception to this however is the pool; when we visited, there was an extremely unpleasant smell throughout the entire pool area and we never saw anyone attempt to swim in it during our stay.

Despite the outward charm, be prepared to deal with a few inconveniences, all fairly minor. First off, our room was very poorly lighted and the curtain and curtain rod were so flimsily hung that when my husband attempted to open them to let some light in, the entire curtain rod fell off. The sink was inconveniently located outside of the bathroom (this seems to be a common architectural feature among hotels in the area). Despite the spaciousness of our room, the bathroom was miniscule and very difficult to navigate. I would have happily forgone some room space for a larger bathroom. No hairdryer or iron, but the hotel does provide the standard toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, etc.) which is nice.

At the end of the day, for a hotel as affordable as Castelmar (rates were running about $60 to $70 USD a night when we booked), Castelmar is a great option for a traveler looking for an affordable, clean hotel with charm. I have stayed at far worse hotels at similar or higher price ranges and ultimately, Castelmar is good value for the rate.

Room Tip: Recommend the street facing suite. We didn't experience any noise issues and these rooms have ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our arrival in Campeche was not great. Despite our best efforts we spent about half an hour driving round the city looking for the hotel. Then, suddenly, as we drove round the one-way system for a second time we were stopped by a man shouting "Castelmar" at us. No, it wasn't a holdup - it was the parking attendant from the Castelmar who had somehow identified us 2 frazzled Brits as customers of his hotel. He pointed us to the the car park and before we had stopped 2 porters had arrived to take our luggage. This was just the start of the excellent service we received during our 2 night stay at this characterful hotel
The hotel is housed in a former army barracks, with a large open courtyard in the centre. The rooms are situated on floors that run around the courtyard and it appears that when they converted the building they tried to keep as many of the original features as possible, which is what gives the building it's colonial feel.
Our room was comfortable and clean, but a little on the small side and it lacked wardrobe storage space. Also it overlooked the street which ran alongside the side of the hotel, Calle 8. This got noisy quite early in the morning, which woke is earlier than we would have wanted.
However, for the quality of service alone this hotel is a good choice for a short stay in Campeche.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook Calle 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were blown away by the beautiful character of this hotel. Adorned with different tiles and paintwork. It is unique in style and our room which was on the first floor in the corner was large and comfortable. The disappointment was that despite asking for a room with a king size bed we we given one with two small doubles which isn't so comfortable for me and my 6'3" husband. The staff were all friendly and helpful but we did have a problem with hot water. I had a quick hot shower on arrival but that was really the last very hot water we had for our two night stay. The rest of the time we had to settle for lukewarm. Despite this, I would still recommend this hotel as it is in a good location in the old town and full of character.

Room Tip: We didn't ask as they had already said the hotel was full but if you want one large bed rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel served our purpose very well, we stayed for one night to explore Campeche, the room was comfortable enough, , bathroom a bit small considering we stayed in the room with four, but very nice value for money, pool was to crowded.
I would recommend .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cheap, beautiful and outstanding location! What else can you ask for? The breakfast (not included) it can be better however you have the "marganzo" about a block away. I'll return for sure.
Once in Campeche, do not forget to visit the San Francisco neighborhood to have a real Campechan dinner.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castelmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castelmar

Address: Calle 61 nr 2, between calle 8 and 10, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Campeche
#3 Romantic Hotel in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castelmar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Castelmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelmar Hotel Campeche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castelmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.