We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castelmar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castelmar to your Saves list
Hotel Castelmar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 61 nr 2, between calle 8 and 10, Campeche 24000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

When I arrived here, I couldn't stop taking photos. Everywhere I looked it was just beautiful. The hotel was in a restored army barracks and it decorated in colonial style with beautiful tiled floors. It has kept all its original charm, but the bathrooms were modern. We only ate breakfast here so can't comment on the dining, however the breakfast was absolutely fine. The staff were charming. We only stayed two nights - but I loved the hotel and the town of Campeche so much that I would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    185
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
69
261
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Yes, I spelled cool with a K. Now on to the review, stayed here with the wife for one night, very clean and located in a great area right next to the ocean. Pool was nice, service was nice, room was nice and the bed was big. We had a great room that overlooked the ocean and the nearby hustle and bustle which was great. Close to shopping too. We had a rented car that they had parking lot for and the bell man was awesome, super helpful.

Just FYI for the first timers, Campeche doesn't have beaches... had no idea until we got there. There is ocean, just no beaches.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelseyville, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Enjoyed our 2 night stay in a junior suite. We had a corner room with small balconies on two sides of the building. Comfortable, clean, well-decorated with period furniture. Good air conditioning. No street noise. Nice pool. Staff was helpful and spoke good English. Perfectly located in the middle of the historic district. Parking was a snap. Private parking lot that is locked and monitored. And a wonderful value for the money. We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel - instead we were directed to a nearby restaurant by the front desk and it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I am on the road all the time in the south of Mexico. When in Campeche, I stay here

The hotel is very well located in the historical center of Campeche. Close to everything. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. All the staff is very friendly and happy to help or suggest. The rooms are comfortable, and the breakfast is very good.

If you like old colonial charm, with modern comforts, like air conditioning, which you will want, this is the place to go

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a peaceful hotel with a lovely relaxing courtyard garden/breakfast area and lovely pool area which is a real sun trap! We stayed in an 'internal' room which was situated around the central courtyard area. These rooms all have seats and tables outside the rooms so you can enjoy the atmosphere of the old colonial building and central courtyard right outside your room. The rooms are a little dark, but that is more to do with them not have an external window than because there was anything wrong with them. And being in these rooms we didn't have any of the noise problems that people on the street side have mentioned. The buffet breakfast was good. There isn't a bar but the restaurant/bar directly opposite will bring beers to the pool/courtyard for you. It is also definitely worth popping in there for some of their mexican snacks. The hotel is really well located for both the old town and the sea front.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nice Hotel in a good location. We got a spacious room, anyway without windows, as we asked a quite one. Clean and nicely decorated. The aircon wasn't really cooling down. We report the problem to the reception and went for lunch. As we came back, we were told the aircon wasn't working normally and we got straight awy a similar room. Perfect!
Clean, nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax beach, florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Drove up the coast to Campeche from Frontera and, from the malencon, dropped right into Hotel Castelmar. Loved the guarded parking across the street. Free apart from propina to guard. Hotel set around marvellously landscaped interior patio. Our room was second floor. 950p cash. Huge, old wood doors, colored glass transom windows, tile floors - the best of mexican design. Good WIFI. Husband ate breakfast at hotel next morning - think was about $6 - and reported terrific Huevos Motulenos. Fantastic location - right in the center and a couple of blocks from the malencon. Restaurant Manzano a block away and great casual dinner choice. Also, if you're just there for an overnight, take the Campeche trolley tour - good value and a great opportunity to get a feel for the town. Also, Campeche State Artisanal shop, couple of blocks from hotel had some very good quality crafts from Campeche state. Sweet town - like Merida 20 years ago. Also, see my review on La Pigua restaurant - extremely good food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castelmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castelmar

Address: Calle 61 nr 2, between calle 8 and 10, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Campeche
#3 Family Hotel in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castelmar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Castelmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelmar Hotel Campeche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castelmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.