We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Mexican hotel, truly Mexican town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche

Save Saved
You added Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 Num 15 Col | Centro Historico, Campeche 24000 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Campeche
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Truly Mexican hotel, truly Mexican town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived here just before Christmas, lovely room, in this very Mexican hotel. easy to park, and staff really great. Gave good directions to the places of interest [Nice squares, Cathedral cool shops] We ate out, but breakfast was a really great affair [room service only]. Nice pool and 4 star at 3 star price. Add that to the fact its bang in the centre of where you want to be, then why are you waiting. Campeche is a little gem also, and well worth at least one day and night, we saw the carnival , with all the individual costumes which was stunning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helmond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

in an old villa (surprising beautifull inside) in the centre of the old town (UNESCO heritage!) a 4 star hotel with swimmingpool.WiFi.
Nice rooms for fair prices. Elevator.
Everything is easy to get from the hotel.(cathedral, plaza Major, the wall, house of the governor,botanic garden, shops).

Room Tip: take a room at the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked this room basically as a throw-away night--just someplace we had to stay to get to our next destination. We were pleasantly surprised not only by the charm of Campeche, but by this hotel, located near the main plaza in the historical section. Just a few short blocks away, you can enjoy the grand cathedral, the shopping area and old fort. We found out about a little trolley city tour that left from the plaza, and thoroughly enjoyed learning a little more about the history of the city and seeing the highlights--especially at sunset.

Because the room was so inexpensive compared to what we had been paying elsewhere, we booked the Jr. Suite--a large corner room with two balconies opening to the cobblestoned streets below. (That also meant this wasn't the quietest room, but it didn't interfere with our sleeping.) The bed was comfortable, I appreciated having an iron/ironing board on hand and there was a nice corner table and chairs to use.

The only negatives were minor: the room had a coffee maker on hand, but no coffee/sugar to make a pot. When I called the reception about it, I was told that there was a charge for it. (Why have the coffee pot there in the first place then?!) The check-in staff, as noted by others, wasn't very friendly or welcoming, and when I asked a couple questions, seemed completely disinterested in helping with an answer. Little things, but good customer service goes a long way to make a good impression. Still, we liked the room, definitely liked the price and the location was great.

Room Tip: Just be aware that it seems the Jr. Suites are corner rooms, which face the main street. Great room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel and there is no restaurant or bar on the premesis. But the sister hotel is just half a block away with both. And you can get room service at minimal extra charge. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are not bothered by city sounds, sleep is great. Comfy bed; air conditioning works well. Convenient on-site parking.

Room Tip: Book a jr. suite; cornera have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice hotel, close to city center. Nice swimming pool, wifi. Staff could be a little bit more friendly, but who cares. Need a Taxi (35 $) from the ADO bus station. We did not make use of bar or restaurant, but there is plenty of opportunity in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We Got two rooms at the second floor. Nothing to Worry about until we opened the door.
It look like they have made the building behind the facade one floor larger than if you look at the building from the front side in ordre to fit the colonian style. So we were actually looking into a wall from our balcony. (Picture Will follow)
Hotel restaurant was in the other hotel, the Campeche Plaza just 50 meters away.
Despite from that everything was ok.

Room Tip: Check if the room has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schindellegi, Switzerland
Top Contributor
496 reviews 496 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

this hotel works as an annex to the 200 metres away hotel campeche plaza, and there is no bar or restaurant, you need to walk to the other hotel. not even a small bar for a beer or water, not even a water dispenser in a corridor.

room service must also come from that hotel. in my experience you should rather walk out to the street and buy somewhere since after two hours waiting for my coffee kit (junoir suites have a coffee machine but no coffee / cream / sugar kit, that must be paid as room service) for two hours and finally i had my coffee outside.

the price for a standard room is 1.000 pesos, where you'll find a wall less than a meter away from your window. junior suites (which are not such, but just a larger room) cost 1.200 pesos and face a busy street, the windows have one of the poorest noise isolation i have suffered, therefore be ready to be awaken as from 8 am. size of standard rooms and junior siutes is satisfactory.

the receptionist was not willing to asist at all, she behaved like a "half star hostel" receptionist; she only said "good afternoon", "how will you pay?" and that was it. bellboys were at least polite, but unproffessional as well (only when i asked him to comment theroom facilities he did it).

the room had a big flat tv with a variety of mexican, u.s. and one spanish channel, pressing facilities and no minibar. another problem are the plugs: one available plug in the entire room plus another plug at the toilet. the toilet tissue is too far from the place where it should be, so you need to stand up from the place where you are to get it when you need it.

the lights switches concept does not correspond to the a 4 stars hotel either. you can only switch light from one side of the bed and there are no small lamps close to the bed, but a big triple light at the wall on top of the bed.

the hotel is in an excellent location at historical campeche, has a nice small swimming pool and a free carpark suitable for big cars (however not too big, so you can find it full if you arrive late). free internet was very good and fast. rooms were clean in what you see, but not so much in otherplaces (spiderwebs under a table and soon).the bed was average, but the pillows were awfull.

i cannot recomend this hotel. for this price there are better options in campeche (not the same management campeche plaza hotel where i stayed years ago, so i guess there is big management problem).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche

Address: Calle 10 Num 15 Col | Centro Historico, Campeche 24000 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.