We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely Tasteful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Del Gigante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camino Del Gigante to your Saves list
Camino Del Gigante
South Side of the Beach, Playa Gigante 48500, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Tola, Rivas, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Truely Tasteful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was the place I had been looking for my entire life and never knew existed. The staff is friendly and sweet and the food from the restaurant was different and delicious. I met interesting people around the bar and found myself comfortable in my own skin being me. A foreign place, maybe I was the foreigner within and the taste of Gigante Bay resided as the part of me that was one with all, a member of the family. I rented a surfboard everyday for a reasonable rate and got two lessons from a super nice local kid, he was patient, kind and knew how to give a lesson. we stayed long enough to rent some kayaks and then go repelling off a 300ft cliff called the foot. The entire time here was gorgeous. We couldn't have gotten closer to the beach, all the accommodations touched the sand. I will be back soon, I love this place.

Room Tip: Take your time and meet the people, go for a sail also, it's breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
17
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Camino Del Gigante is a hostel that offers dorm beds for $10 and private rooms as well. I likedliked that the place was kept clean and they have mosquito nets which was needed. They're common area was my favorite part, lots of places to sit and hang out, hammocks, big deck on the beach, a slack line and indo boards. They also offer tours and info.

On weekends the dorms can be loud so take ear plugs if you want to sleep early... The location is a little farther from the surf since it's on the other side of the beach but it wasn't a big deal for me i still surfed twice a day. Food there is really expensive though but there are other options nearby.

Over all i really enjoyed the experience and would go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This could be a great little hostel. Gigante is a super quiet, tiny little village which is only accessible by one dirt road. The hostel is quiet well priced however the main dorm room contains an office (the staff have to walk through the dorm to access the office), which is very off-putting. The first day i was there all i wanted to do was sleep as I was sick, however about 15-20 people passed through the dorm at different times. Some were staff, some were outsiders who were doing some business with the hostel. All walking by my bed.

The only people in your dorm should be other habitants and the cleaning staff.

One of the staff, a very loud lady who seemed to be a manager was quite abusive to the younger staff (who are really nice and very professional) and shouted a lot on a regular basis and sat at the bar drinking during the day. You don't want to see this on your holiday. The American owners weren't that friendly and also sat in the bar drinking and smoking during the day.

BUT...the views are magnificent, the hostel is right on the beach, the young Nicaraguan staff are extremely nice, friendly and professional and the food is really delicious and cheap. The free coffee in the morning is a nice touch.
Its a 45 minute walk to Colorados from here.

Sort out the dorm and you'd have a great little hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great time. Clean rooms. Honest folks. Killer breakfast on the cheap. Oh yeah, and then there is the amazing ocean staring you down...even if you do not surf, this is a very sweet spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place was perfect for what I was looking for! Super chill , super friendly and safe! Beautiful beach front area to chill in after an incredible day of surf! Great beach breaks just walking distance away! Playa Amarillo, Colorado ( where the world championship is going to be this year ) , Pongo Drops are just a few, all walking distance away!

Dinner was great and the staff there are so friendly! Chapin's the man you'll meet him! Capt Rob is a beast he'll take you fishing and you won't come back empty handed! Chapin took us out and we did tow-ins and tow-ats into the waves catching some MAJOR air! So fun!

I got a private room upstairs and it was perfect. Comfy and cozy . No air but the fan was just fine. I was so tired from surfing all day I would just crash out anyway. Showers are clean and bathrooms were always clean. No wifi though. But you can go to Party Wave and Berto has wifi there.

We played on the mini skate ramp and on the slack line that they have set up . They have tons of fun little things to do there and the music is the BEST!

Highly recommend this place! Best in Gigante by far. Can't wait to go back !

Room Tip: Private room #7 is awesome! Ocean side with huge windows to open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

This place is awesome!! Totally chill atmosphere, great food and adequate accommodations. Camino del Gigante sits on a beautiful beach with great surf and breathtaking views. A great place to spend the day meeting fellow travelers. Take a nap in a hammock or rent snorkel gear The owners and manager are so welcoming, I can't wait to return! Total home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

First I need to thank the owner for real directions back to the airport!!!! Took us 6 hours to get to the area but with his directions only 2.5 hours to get back to the airport!!!!!!!

We rented a house in the area but visited the hostel a few times for food and drinks. We extended our trip for an extra night and rented 2 rooms in Casa Amarillo for the last night. Both were perfect for our needs. The staff was great the places were clean and reasonably priced.

I didn't rank pool or fitness center because there wasn't any BUT the ocean was within steps and with all of the tours and adventures offered there is no need for a fitness center!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Del Gigante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Del Gigante

Address: South Side of the Beach, Playa Gigante 48500, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Gigante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Playa Gigante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed traveler's hostel located right on the beach. There's private rooms, dorm beds, hammocks and camping accommodation available. We have a lively bar scene, plus delicious food from the Camino Restaurant. We also offer guides and equipment for surfing, fishing, horseback riding, sailing and other local adventures.COME AND PLAY AT GIGANTE BAY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Camino Del Gigante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Del Gigante Nicaragua/Playa Gigante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Del Gigante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.