We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Wellness Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Wellness Resort to your Saves list
Aqua Wellness Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Redonda Bay, Playa Gigante, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Gigante
princeton, nj
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

stayed here for 3 nights as a couple with our teenage son. We stayed in a luxury 2 story condo that was very comfortable. Our son slept on a futon on the first floor and we had a king bed on the second. Although there was a door the areas still communicate because none of the walls reach the ceiling The unit we stayed in was independently owned and rented out. All units have gorgeous views of the beach below and beautiful sunsets. Our unit had a small plunge pool which we used quite a bit. The pacific ocean is swimmable but there is surf consistently. Beach is great, white sand, plenty of seating and someone to help arrange. Restuarant good. They will reserve a table if you want. Food was well prepared and there was enough variety for a few days.

The resort is built on a hill so there are many many steps to get to spa, room, reception etc. there is no gym so I jogged every morning. Hard as it is almost all up and down. There is daily yoga which was not strenuous. One can walk to the next beach which is Playa Gigante. There are a few places to eat there although we did not try them fr dinner. Take a flashlight if you plan on going. There is a great TACO stand worth trying!

Rooms are very hot in the middle of the day because the sun hits them in the afternoon. Internet in the rooms is NOT GREAT. You can get it in the restaurant.

One issue I saw others had is that of the billing. Somehow things get confused as one gives the name of the room verbally and this can lead to confusion. However our bill was promptly revised when we saw the erroneous charges.

I think the resort would be improved with the addition of a gym, a better way of charging rooms and in room internet access. We would go back, the resort is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: nearer the beach means fewer stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    63
    29
    5
    10
See reviews for
34
148
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed for a week in February.

Pros:
Setting- the beach and grounds were as nice as expected, with a protected cove to swim and kayak in.
Rooms- beautifully decorated, comfortable beds, large decks, well furnished kitchen.
Spa- we had several massages which were excellent
Volcano hike and zip line tour- the hike was great, our guide was excellent

Cons:
Often over promised and under delivered- several of the tours were billed as including things that were not actually provided
Speed of service- meals often took over 90 minutes because it took forever for orders to be put into the system
Management- we had several issues, including a phone stolen from our room and they overcharged us on our room rate. We were promised a follow up from the GM on the phone issue. but we never saw him. On the room rate, they refuse to even return emails on the subject.

I would strongly recommend not staying here until their service lives up to both their promises and their high prices. A change of management is much needed, as all the other staff we quite friendly and generally competent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_AQUA, Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hello JG

Thank you for spending your vacation time with us! AQUA Nicaragua is delighted to offer our visitors an unparalleled opportunity to enjoy unspoiled nature in a pristine eco-habitat. Our guests frequently comment that our private bay, abundant nature, exotic wildlife, and luxurious treehouses harmonize elegantly together and make for the perfect vacation. A place to unwind, unplug, and de-stress from the cares of everyday life. We do appreciate your positive comments in regards to the rooms and location and thank you for your constructive criticism.

It is our desire that all of our guests leave pleased with the level of service that they receive and depart refreshed and relaxed. There is no excuse for poor service and we do apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced.

AQUA Nicaragua reception is staffed with a bilingual receptionist who is available to handle any complaints that our guests have, and we do encourage our visitors to come and see us at the front desk (or call us with the mobile phones we provide) if they experience any problem on site. Our friendly staff is always very ready to assist with any concern that you might have. We also welcome our guest to check out the details of all our tours online and of course please do not hesitate to ask our reception or guide if you have any questions as to what is included in your tour.

AQUA Nicaragua also provides all guests with in-room safes to protect your valuables. While any form of theft is always unfortunate and regrettable, we do advise all guests to utilize the in-room safe and never leave your valuable unattended while traveling throughout Nicaragua as we cannot be responsible for lost or stolen items.

Our resort provides a variety of room types and sizes to fit all budgets and tastes. Please visit us on the web to check out all the options. We hope to welcome you to our warm and beautiful Nicaragua soon!

Saludos Cordiales,
AQUA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Aqua Wellness resort us beautiful and relaxing. All the staff are lovely - friendly and helpful. The food is terrific. The setting is beautiful. And, there are as many or as few activities as anyone could want. A great place for couples or a whole family.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Aqua Wellness is a great concept with little-to-no guidance. The servers seemed very irritated to be there and lacked any effort to perform beyond eventually taking your order, bringing food, and lackadaisically bringing the ticket. The food came quickly from the kitchen, but it took 20-30 minutes to put in a food order, and ordering a mixed drink seemed completely foreign every single time it was ordered. Meals typically took 75-90 minutes, which is just fine on vacation until you make plans to be somewhere.
Another disappointment was the lack of WiFi. Clearly, reliable internet isn't the reason to vacation to Nicaragua, but when it is advertised and the rates reflect that sort of benefit, it would have been nice. We never received WiFi in our room and rarely received it in public areas.
The saving grace for Aqua is the decoration of the rooms, which are exactly what was expected, and the setting. While the dry season greatly reduces the greenery, it still makes for a one-of-a kind experience.
As neat as the idea is, the complete lack of personalization, the obvious message that tourists are rich, and the resentment toward us for that misconception make Aqua Wellness somewhere we'll show pictures from, but won't return to.
My advice is to stay here for a night or two because it is so unique, but to spend some of your trip in Popoyo and Grenada.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Md.USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We just returned from 5 nights at Aqua Wellness Resort in Playa Gigante, Nicaragua and loved it! All of the staff were wonderful! We stayed at the Venado treehouse overlooking the beach and heard the roar of the ocean all night long! The weather was 90 degrees, sunny, and always a lovely breeze! Beach is large and private. We had massages and cocoa exfoliation treatments at the lovely little spa at the top of the mountain! this is a quiet place, with excellent yoga classes,very good fresh food-especially the freshly caught fish and a good happy hour! The architectural design of this property is amazing and so are the magnificent sunsets! If you're looking for lively, this is not the place. If you're looking for beauty,quiet,and uniqueness-this is the spot! Managua airport is about 2 1/2 hrs. and the hotel will transfer you for a reasonable fee-a chance to see more of Nicaragua! Thank you to all of the staff who made our recent stay so enjoyable! 2worldtravelers@verizon.net

Room Tip: Head close to the beach!!! Magnificent views at top of mountain, but quiet a hike back and forth to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I travelled to Aqua Wellness last May and have nothing but great things to say about my stay. The room, Mono Congo, was spacious, comfortable and clean. The plunge was a relaxing oasis. Not enough can be said of the hospitality of the staff, especially Jasper, and the tour guides. Amy, the yoga instructor, was excellent and very knowledgable.

It's quite impressive when one considers how extensive the grounds are and how meticulously maintained the grounds are. The beach are was the best part and extremely private, allowing me to relax, read and enjoy the water. This place, although luxurious, is not home or overrun by people ruining your experience.

I took multiple day trips. I found them all affordable and extremely worthwhile. Of particular mention was the day trip to Granada and Ometepe Island where we enjoyed the sights, ziplined, and immersed ourselves in the local culture.

The rooms were a great place to relax. The air conditioning was strong when needed, and the wifi was not a problem, though we weren't there to surf the internet!!

Finally, if you are going to Nicaragua, you shouldn't have a problem with the physical component of the strenuous activity. With that being said, the stairs were not remotely daunting.

I cannot say enough about the staff, the beautiful location and my experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This place is a jewel. We stayed at Aqua 4 nights and love it, the staff is great, the cleanness of the place is excellent, the food is great.
We enjoy nature, from the monkeys to the beautiful beach, private and very quiet. The rooms are in tree houses very beautiful place.

Room Tip: Depends on your health and physical condition. We stayed in a room way on the top which was our ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Wellness Resort

Address: 1 Redonda Bay, Playa Gigante, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Gigante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Gigante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Wellness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxury eco-resort with a focus on wellness. The yoga platform overlooks our private beach in protected Redonda bay. Accommodations are well appointed luxury treetop villas built with a dramatic vantage over the bay, full kitchens, private plunge pools, teak + Balinese showers and wraparound decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Wellness Hotel Playa Gigante
Aqua Wellness Resort Nicaragua/Playa Gigante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Wellness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.