We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orang Utan Island and Eco Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bukit Merah Laketown Resort

Save Saved
You added Bukit Merah Laketown Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bukit Merah Laketown Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Bukit Merah, Semanggol 34400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Semanggol
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Orang Utan Island and Eco Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We did not stay at Resort, we went to the Orang Utang Island, it was great. We got to see Orangutans on the Island. We were in the cage, educational for our teenage kids. We got to see the Orangutan hospital and their "Child Care" Centre. We also saw a short educational video about saving Orangutans. We went through the Eco Resort. This allowed hands on experience to meet the animals. The Water Park, was a little run down, but in all we had a great day! Just watch out for snakes when going up to the top of the water slides - our daughter nearly put her hand on a snake - we went home after this!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    23
    5
    20
See reviews for
40
11
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stay 3 nights at the Kampung Air (Water Village). Room is clean and nice. Bathroom is big with tab and shower separately. Tram is 24hours service. Where ever we need to go tram will take us there. We don't need to wait for long. Enjoy most is the eco park, orang utan, boat ride, tram service. Disappointed kampung air it self do not have swimming pool we need to to all the way to others hotel to us their pool ended not swimming because pool is small, crowded and dirty. Restaurant and Cafeteria service is not friendly and food is so so.
Overall my family enjoy the trip.

Room Tip: the Water village chalet is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Booked this hoping to have a relaxing stay on the lake - when we got there reception area was very run down and staff unhelpful re parking and details of our stay. Once we got to the water village it was clear that it had seen better days and that the upkeep was really lacking. The staff were again unhelpful and our room faced an amusement park with loud announcements - hardly the relaxing stay we had hoped for. The rooms are very small and decor is not great. When we asked to move to the lake side which we hoped would have been quieter the staff refused to move us - saying the other units were fully booked - this was clearly not the case but it looked like they just could not be bothered to help us. There was no wifi and again staff didn't seem to care or want to help. The restaurants etc are a 20 minute walk away and the path is completely dark at night. We could not go on the lake as the water level was low and neither could we fish - we only discovered this once we had checked in. All in all a very disappointing stay - best avoided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Dirty Room, run down. Bad services. The stupid management let the function continue over 12am. The disgusting karaoke voices make you mad. No action taken after few complaints.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed there 2D/1N using the groupon package for RM230 that comes with 1 night hotel stay with 2 breakfast and 2 combo theme park tickets. Room is spacious, have 1 double bed, 1 single bed and 1 sofa, which is great for us as we have two small children. Overall, we have a great time there enjoying their water park adventure, eco-park animal feeding, tried their chair-lifting and sky-cycle. Eating choice is limited but was okay for short stay.

Tips: Waterpark-must rent the tiub before it run out, much fun having the tiub. Eco-park, must try the sky-cycle and buy the animal feeding pax if you have kids.
Pro: Big room with 2 beds best for family with young children, water park wave pool is awesome, chair-lifting and sky-cycle is great experience even for adult. Kids like animal feeding like hamster, rabbit, fish, duck....
Con: Room is a bit old, air-con have water leaking till floor wet at night, no wifi in the room (need to go to restaurant). Eco-park is very small compared to taiping zoo or Melacca zoo, animal show is very short, don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Take the deluxe room for family with young children, corner room is bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

If you're on a budget, this is a great place to visit. The room was basically average but putting that aside, there's actually numerous attractions to visit. I had a wonderful time when it comes to the night cruise + eco park (nocturnal tour). We even had the chance to witness the staffs feeding chicken to crocodiles and python. The staffs are friendly and patient. The water park was good as well, there are many different exciting rides that both children and adult will enjoy.

But when it comes to restaurant/ food, there are limited choices and if you arrive at the resort through public transport or taxi and doesn't have a car to drive around (nor do you know the way around) then you're pretty much stuck with either expensive food or food court stuffs which won't be very appetizing.

There are also a number of souvenir shops and a huge park in the area. Visitors can opt for cycling (there are even tandem bikes) for leisure activity, with a small fee for the bike rental. Do take note that some of the bikes are not in perfect condition, so make sure that they are checked properly before mounting.

Overall I had a good time. It was a pretty relaxing trip :)

Room Tip: The service apartment is far from the attraction (eg. water park, eco park etc). Only stay there if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang, malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I remember went to this hotel about 10 years ago. It nice and the room was neat and clean. But when i went there again last week, the hotel look old, so as in the room. The floor in the room was too cold and there was no bedroom slippers in the room. Maybe they should consider to renovate the hotel as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bukit Merah Laketown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukit Merah Laketown Resort

Address: Jalan Bukit Merah, Semanggol 34400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kerian District > Semanggol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Semanggol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bukit Merah Laketown Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bukit Merah Laketown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukit Merah Laketown Hotel Semanggol
Bukit Merah Laketown Resort Semanggol, Malaysia - Perak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bukit Merah Laketown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.