We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding day ,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beamish Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beamish Park Hotel to your Saves list
Beamish Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Beamish Burn Road, Marley Hill, Gateshead NE16 5EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic wedding day ,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We held our wedding at the beamish park . Civil ceremony then wedding breakfast and evening reception to finish . What a fantastic day we had . The food especially was perfect . The hotel and it's surroundings beautiful and staff couldn't do enough to make the day the best it could be and more . I would love to do it all again and if your looking for a perfect wedding venue look no further . Thankyou all at the hotel so much !!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments regarding your wedding day and extremely happy to have made it such a memorable occasion.

May I take this opportunity to wish you every happiness for the future and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    48
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
76
4
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a great night. Eight excellent courses accompanied with especially chosen wines. Service as always friendly and super efficient. Whenever I go to Beamish Park I leave feeling that there is absolutely nothing that you could ask for that they wouldn't do for you. For example the night porter worked hard to find us a taxi close to midnight and the hotel owner was there to welcome guests and bid them farewell. At £49 per head I thought it well worth the money for a special treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments and the feed back we have received from our Gourmet evening has been excellent.

As an Independant, family owned Hotel we beleive in all working together as a Team, to ensure all our guests enjoy a fabulous experience in our Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband and his parents went to the 8 course meal evening which was fantastic the food was superb and the wine went extremely well with the food every course was out of this world the things that stood out to me was the sea bass and Dahl and the chocolate and raspberry cake also the crackers that went with the cheese. The man from France was brill he gave us a lot if help also I must say the service was spot on hope this event is on again was well worth every penny .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Our Gourmet evening proved to be a huge success and the feedback has been second to none. We are absolutely delighted with your comments regarding the food, wine and service.

We will certainly be having more Gourmet evenings in the future and will keep you informed.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was taken ill shortly after arrival. The staff responded superbly and supported my wife tremedously during my stay in hospital. The food was excellent and the rooms spacious and comfortable. The whole of the staff are to be commended on their customer care. We would recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We all sincerely hope you are feeling much better and despite your unfortunate circumstances, it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us as you are such a lovely couple.

We look forward to welcoming your return soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a excellent time the staff were all pleasant and helpful rooms very clean and well decorated good choice of top quality food all food was hot .the breakfast was also well presented the only bad thing the bed was two beds that could be separated if need be so the was a crack down the middle .the bar beer prices were a bit pricey.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor!

We are very happy with your overall comments regarding our Hotel, Food and Staff!

To be more flexible with guests requirements some of our beds can be split but we also have Kingsize Beds that cannot!

When you next visit the Hotel please contact me direct and I will be more than happy to allocate you a bed to suit!

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night, the night before Great North Run. The reason we booked it was it was pretty much the only free hotel within 15 miles of the city centre and it seemed ok. We arrived to see a wedding in full swing, which wasn't too much of a problem but meant we couldnt get a seat in the bar for a while whilst they turned the function room around for the evening reception.

We arranged to eat in the restaurant and the staff were very friendly and helpful but the food was trying too hard to be something it wasn't. As a pre-run meal I just wanted a simple pasta dish. The simplest one I found was Penne with chicken pine nuts tomato, thyme, lemon breadcrumbs, garlic and whatever else the chef could get his mits on...! It wasnt great so I just ate as much as I dared, hoping it wouldnt do anything dodgy to my bowels!! It didn't, but the point is that the food is all very fussy. Over promises and under delivers. They had a big stand outside the restaurant selling the chef's very own cook book and if you're going to put yourself on a pedestal like that you'd better come up with the goods.

Moving on.... (!)

We were given a quiet room at the back of the hotel. Wasn't impressed with the decor - very random, quite dated, but clean and generally ok. We actually weren't disturbed at all by the wedding and got an early night in.

Breakfast was ok, better than dinner and again the staff were nice. As me and my wife only ate 1 bowl of cereal a couple of pastries and 1 x tea between us, they only charged us for one brekkie which was noted - and nice of them, but overall it was a forgettable experience.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel as this is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

In response to your comments regarding the food in our Award Winning Bistro, we have held 2AA Rosettes for the past 17 years. We are clearly doing something right as these are not awarded to just anyone! They are awarded for good quality food and service and you must adhere to a very strict criteria and guidelines on ingredients and menus.

However, we cannot cater to everyone's personal taste but had you spoken to a member of the Team the Chef would have been more than happy to create a dish more suited to your taste.

We are also immensely proud to have our very own cookery book, which has been a huge success and sales have been brilliant! This was produced on the fact we have held these awards and to celebrate 30 years of being a well established and successful Hotel.

Your comments regarding our 'friendly' staff are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming your return when next in the area.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were extremely lucky to find this absolute gem of a hotel looking for a last minute deal. It felt like a home away from home. The staff were really friendly and we also discussed with management about the possibility of using the hotel for long term stays for work purposes which they were more than happy to accommodate and even gave us a full tour of the rooms available for that kind of stay - extremely helpful. The room was lovely, homely and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and it was huge! You have you're own private parking space and room door to the car for ease of packing the car and the setting it idyllic. There is also golf facilities but on a short stay we didn't get a chance to try this out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted with your comments regarding our Hotel and I remember personally showing you the different room types we have.

I certainly look forward to being of assistance to you when you return to work in the area.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beamish Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamish Park Hotel

Address: Beamish Burn Road, Marley Hill, Gateshead NE16 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Marley Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beamish Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beamish Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beamish Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beamish Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.