We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Partial walk but delightful scenery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tutukaka Headland

Tutukaka Headland
Landowners Lane, Tutukaka, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Attractions in Tutukaka
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Partial walk but delightful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We walked from the carpark to the look out. The venturesome went all the way to the lighthouse but we were happy with our view. It is an easy walk to the look out but lots of steps and steep parts beyond.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warkworth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“New signs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Since my previous review, we have walked this track again. The No dog sign is now replaced by a dogs on lead sign. Therefore, I have given a better score. The track is well maintained and has been upgraded. A stunning place to go on a windy day. The views are stunning, mostly easy walking with steps down to the water that I can manage ( knee replacements)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The walk out to the lighthouse is a must do in the area. We used to be able to take the dogs, but there is now a sign 'no dogs'
A reasonable level of fitness is needed as there are steps which are quiet steep in places. However, the short walk to a bench overlooking some fabulous scenery is easy ( I have knee replacements) Another walk from the carpark takes you down to a pretty beach, where we do take the dog. Go at low tide only if you want to go all the way to the lighthouse and be very careful of the rocks on the water's edge. A fit, strong friend got into difficulty here.
I would have given a 5 star rating if the dog could go, but do understand that not all dogs are well behaved. The few spoil it for the many.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent free family activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

If staying on the Tutukaka coast, then this is a very pleasant and easy walk with the family. Easy access

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tutukaka Headland also viewed

Tutukaka, Northland Region
Tutukaka, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Tutukaka Headland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tutukaka Headland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.