We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Motel

Sands Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tutukaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands Motel
Save
You added Sands Motel to your Saves list
48 Whangaumu St RD 3 | Tutukaka, Tutukaka 0173, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Tutukaka B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

For as long as Barabara and Graham are managers of the Sands we will not return and will not be recommending to others that they stay at the Sands.
The location is great and units comfortable. However, with us, the managers were bad mannered, abusive, non cooperative and even after ordering us to vacate a day early continued to be verbally and physically abusive. They refused to refund a day’s rental!
Also, beware as they do not like friends of guests on site.
These managers should not be allowed in the NZ hospitality industry

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraPutt, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
When you read this review did you wonder why these guests were asked to leave. No mention of a DOG. These people booked the accommodation on our website which under our booking policy clearly states "NO PETS ALLOWED AT ALL PLEASE". They were asked several times over a period of two days to remove the dog from the premises and in the end we called the police who advised us to ask them to leave.
It is very sad to read such horrible things said about us in the review but we are very fortunate that 99% of our guests are lovely and do come back often on repeat visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I had read plenty of reviews on Tripadvisor saying this place was great but some of the pictures I'd seen made me a little hesitant to book with them. But my wife and I took a chance and it was definitely the right call!

First off, the room we stayed in was beautiful. It was all newly renovated and decorated, very clean and spacious, and had a view of the water. Our hosts were very friendly (like just about every Kiwi we met while on vacation) and offered us fresh milk to put in the fridge for our coffee and tea. They even have BBQ's that anyone can use.

The great thing about this place was that there's a beach located right in front of the property. My wife and I took a long walk on it the day we arrived and we ran into three other people during the hour we spent enjoying the scenery. It really was a fantastic experience!

Our main reason for staying up in Tutukaka was to go scuba diving the next day. We dove with Dive Tutukaka who are located about six minutes away from the Sands so proximity to there was another plus for us.

Just a quick note about the rooms. We did notice that a few of the rooms have a more dated decor. We were informed that each of the units are actually individually owned so I guess some owners put in the money to decorate and modernize and some didn't. We got one of the newer rooms by chance so I'd ask for that when booking with them. But definitely a fantastic place to stay if you're visiting this area of New Zealand.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly decorated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Sands and had an awesome time. The views are fantastic, our unit was cosy and warm and very well fitted with everything we needed. The staff was lovely too. The beach is beautiful and we went out for frequent walks even though the weather wasn't always the best. Both my daughter (2.5 years) and my mum loved it. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We couldn't fault the welcome and hospitality we received, we only stayed one night but we were given fresh milk and Barbara even hung out our laundry to dry while we were at the beach! The apartment we stayed in was newly decorated and very comfortable and the views were amazing being right on the beach. If we hadn't had to drive on to bay of islands we would definitely had stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sands for a romantic trip away and it was fantastic on every level. The location is incredible and the staff were so lovely being very accommodating to all our needs.
This was our first time to Tutukaka and we had such a great experience that we will be a regular from now on.
The rooms were very clean and tidy and the view was amazing. It had a very homely feel to it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

I could not fault The Sands. I stayed there with my husband for our wedding anniversary and it was magic. The staff were very attentive and met our needs while also repecting our privacy. I would go so far to stay that I wish we had discovered this place before our wedding as it would be an ideal wedding venue. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The magic of the view (only barely tempered the sub-par furnishings, limp and lumpy mattresses, and stained towels) was cruelly shattered when the we were ordered to leave well before checkout time. We vacated the room and, while waiting for our cab outside on the deck, we were unceremoniously booted off the property without even the tiniest attempt at civility.

By far the rudest we have ever been treated anywhere in the world.

PS. The Internet is slow and only works if you sit outside the office door.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraPutt, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
When these guests arrived the night before they asked for a late check out and were informed that we had a full house the next day so couldn't do. They were reminded at 9.50 that check out time was 10am as it was obvious that they were in no hurry to leave. They continued to ignore us and finally left the premises at 1pm. We feel that this review is just a case of these guests not getting their own way as they were just killing time waiting for members of their party to return from a diving trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Address: 48 Whangaumu St RD 3 | Tutukaka, Tutukaka 0173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Tutukaka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tutukaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sands Motel Tutukaka, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.