We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't change it for the world!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Cove Resort

Save Saved
You added Coral Cove Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Cove Resort
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Old Hope Rd, Little Bay Jamaica, Little Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Little Bay B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Wouldn't change it for the world!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We planned our wedding at Coral Cove after a short visit to the location a few months prior. We wrestled with the decision to have the wedding at a location so far off the beaten path, but the beautiful sunset, charming rooms and attentive staff made it impossible for us to chose anywhere else. When all was said and done, my husband and I were simply overwhelmed at how wonderful everything turned out. We truly could not have asked for a more picture perfect wedding, the wedding of our dreams brought about by Rouchelle and Maxine. When they say not to worry, they mean it. The staff was so awesome to our guests, which really meant a lot to us. The day after the wedding it was wonderful to look around at breakfast and see everyone just relaxing and enjoying themselves. To hear so many of our guests say that for that short time they were able to forget everything else and just "be" was the most awesome compliment. I cannot say enough about Coral Cove. For us, no 5-star hotel can beat this place. The scenery, the staff, the food...just everything seems that much better at Coral Cove. Definitely worth the bumpy ride.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    25
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
70
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked our 42 person wedding at Coral Cove based on the many positive reviews found here. We weren't disappointed. In fact pretty much every aspect of our week long wedding/vacation exceeded our expectations. Coral Cove is a gem. Considering there are so many western style all inclusive resorts around the island, this place totally stands out. The laid back rustic Jamaican vibe, amazing fresh local Jamaican cooking, super friendly staff/villagers and beautiful tranquil location all combine to make this place very unique. Our guests had an amazing time. The weather was excellent. It all blurred into one big lovely tropical relax-a-thon! And right in the middle somewhere we got married on the beach at sunset. Looking back, we wouldn't change a thing. Most of the other reviews cover all the details, but here are a few things we wanted to note:
-go out and explore the village of Little Bay. The locals are super fun. The beaches are nice. The Blue Hole and Bob Marley's place are worth the short walk. Kids, dogs, goats... all adorable.
-stick to the local Jamaican cuisine. It's delicious! You're in Jamaica after all.
-bring cash. The closest bank machine is in Negril. 30 mins away.
-water shoes are a must. Lots of coral in the cove.
-we brought additional decorations for the wedding and welcome bags for our guests.
-we left our doors unlocked and open the whole week. Safety is not an issue here.

See attached photos for more!
W&N

Room Tip: We stayed in Starlight both trips to Coral Cove. Huge private patio with views of the whole property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Beautiful grounds, AMAZING rooms, Sean - the best chef in Jamaica!, smiling, accommodating staff, a level of serenity not found in Negril but not far by boat if you miss the crowds. Everyone there is fantastic. Couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The owner & staff at this 15-room resort pulled out all of the stops to make our stay one of the best vacations of my life! Coral Cove in Little Bay, Jamaica provided total relaxation & rejuvenation by offering a location that is off-the-grid (although the 2-hour jeep ride from MoBay was a bit jostling) & genuine. However, there is always a staff member available who is willing to take you anywhere that you want to go.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The pictures speak without words. But I must say this was one of our best island vacations ever. Went for our sons wedding,and had a vacation. Intimate is a good description. Small hotel but not small on service. Food is simple but fabulous. We ate fish caught by us and other guests. Be sure to bring swim shoes. Want to make jewelry, Celeste will show you. Want fresh coconut, or chew sugar cane it will appear. You can make your own cocktails,or do nothing at all.

If you want bright lights and late nights this is not your choice,(although Negril is a taxi ride away) but if you want to be treated to a relaxing, intimate vacation GO HERE.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renovo, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I have been to the resort two times, and we cant wait till April next year to visit again. We are planning to visit every year, and the people that work there have really made us feel welcome and more like family than just tourists. It is a very quiet, yet exciting, place to go. We have seen a lot of Jamaica, and it is definitely the best we have seen. There are so many different things that you can do there. It really is just a beautiful place to vacation! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were married at Coral Cove on March 16, 2013. I can’t imagine a more-perfect wedding or honeymoon.

We had a number of dietary restrictions, all of which were impeccably handled by the staff. We brought our own flours, which they used to make dishes (and a special wedding cake!) for our GF/paleo guests. We were so impressed that we took photos of most of our meals. Hindiana consistently explained what substitutions she had made, and all 3 cooks were able to make delicious meals with and without these new ingredients. The staff dined us in special places throughout our honeymoon, with torches, candlelight, on the beach, in the coral heart, and on the hurricane wall. It was better than dining at a high-end restaurant at home.

We had a variety of drinks while at Coral Cove, many with fresh fruit. The staff accommodated our requests, such as getting us Myers dark rum for our Dark and Stormies. Donald, Ying, and JC were all accommodating (learned how to make sangria when requested) and proactive (bringing us our favorite drinks on beach). Our room fridge was stocked upon request.

The entire staff was gracious and like a family. (Even though Coral Cove is non-inclusive and tips are not required, we ended up giving many tips away, as all of the staff went well above our high expectations.) Every staff member knew us by name from day one. The room staff made us beautiful towel art with fresh flowers daily. The rooms were kept very clean and Bunny raked the grounds and sand (zen-like) daily. When we showed interest, Yuke showed us how to open almonds and harvested sea beef for our dinner. Ying motorcycled out to pick up “cool jelly” coconut water. Staff even served us in their off time, if they thought we could use anything. When they saw us in Little Bay (off grounds; most staff live locally), they greeted us and checked to see if there was anything they could do for us. Donald and others have a long history with Coral Cove, even helping to build it with Steve, the owner. Steve called us during our stay to ensure all met our expectations, and Maxine, the manager, ensured daily that we were in good care. Despite our long stay and being the only two guests for a while at the resort, we did not see a drop in service whatsoever.And, of course, there is Marla the guard dog, who won our hearts with her in-water fish watching and “guarding” us on our walks!

Coral Cove has beautiful grounds, with many flowers, trees, and hummingbirds. It boasts a coral reef, protected lagoon, beautiful fish, and squid, and guests can borrow snorkel gear, beach shoes, and kayaks. While the island had a few power outages during our 2.5 week stay, the generator was on within a few minutes. We appreciated that Coral Cove is off the beaten path (we were there during Spring Break). It is quiet, has a local flavor, and is part of a community. There are many interesting things within walking distance (Bob Marley’s house, mineral springs to swim in, an amazing bat cave). We always felt safe and were greeted by villagers while on walks. The wifi worked well and helped us stay in touch with those at home. Each room at Coral Cove is different, fascinating, and none are square. Michael worked diligently to improve our A/C, which worked but not as well as it should (he did fix it, by going through our amazing open-air shower to the roof).

Our wedding was gorgeous and well-executed. We were worried a bit with limit knowledge of the wedding day plan. Staff just took care of it all seamlessly (they’ve obvious done this many times). Cynthia made us an awesome arch from property flowers that she had us select. Hope did my elaborately-braided hair on the first try, just from a photo. We had massages and mani-pedis with drinks seaside. Our MC was good and worked from our iPod music. We had the steel drum band for our rehearsal dinner, and they were excellent. In hindsight, though, we would have opted for Michael's reggae band (we ended up buying a CD – love the Hurricane Wall song!) Coral Cove found a local pig and roasted it for us at our rehearsal dinner (at additional cost); it was a big hit with our wedding guests! For the reception, we selected lobster, curried goat, and jerk chicken, all of which were awesome and made to our diets. The beach bonfire was awesome; we had couples dancing on beach to romantic music by firelight. We asked the staff to join our reception dancing and had a blast! Coral Cove staff made the local veggies well – we miss our ackee and saltfish, chocho, and popchoy! Ritchie and Captain Georgie took guests on boat/snorkeling outings, which were a highlight of the trip, and we took a group excursion to Negril with the excellent drivers (Ritchie, Ticia) that the hotel arranged. Georgie was the fisherman who caught our reception lobster. The Coral Cove photographers were great (we were glad that we didn’t opt for an outside choice). We had them back a second day where they took creative, post-wedding shots with the bride and groom. Our one lesson learned from the wedding: Double check all transfers in advance; the hotel switched incoming days/times of two of our parties for inbound transfers.

The bottom line: Our wedding guests didn't want to leave, and neither did we! We look forward to returning to warm, beautiful paradise at Coral Cove each March for our anniversary. Thank you, Coral Cove, for a perfect wedding and honeymoon!

Room Tip: Our guests preferred the A/C'd rooms, although each room is unique and with its own cool feature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coral Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cove Resort

Address: 2 Old Hope Rd, Little Bay Jamaica, Little Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Little Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Little Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Cove Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 17 room boutique All-Inclusive resort with European Plan/Bed & Breakfast option. Custom designed rooms & cottages, located on a private cove with a protected swimming and snorkeling area. The best of both coastal property worlds, 5 acres with 1/4 mile of ocean frontage with private beaches and natural volcanic cliffs. Ideal for vacations, weddings, and honeymoons. We serve fresh, Caribbean and international cuisine daily and provide tours and activities for guests looking for an authentic rich cultural Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Coral Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Cove Hotel Little Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.