We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, good food, very nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richie's on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Richie's on the Beach to your Saves list
Richie's on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Little Bay, Little Bay 1876, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Sittard, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place, good food, very nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Little Bay is a small, quiet village not far from busy Negril. Richies on the Beach is a small scale hotel where you are a lot more than just a number. Unlike the big resorts, this place is owned and run by real Jamaicans. Trevor and Tecia will go out of their way to make your stay with them perfect. Tecia will serve a delicious breakfast and diner when it's convenient for you. Every plate is a Jamaican party filled with local food such as Callaloo, Breadfruit and Ackee. If Trevor has time you can book a boat cruise. There are some very nice places in Little Bay. You can visit a bat cave and the ruins of Bob Marley's summer house. On the way there you will also visit a very refreshing mineral spring. Ask Tecia about local guide Toby, who by the way also sells beautiful hand made baskets.
See also our other review with some pictures:
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g736017-d6394180-Reviews-Richies_on_the_Beach-Savanna_La_Mar_Westmoreland_Parish_Jamaica.html

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
StThomas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We traveled from March 18 through April 1st, we brought friends with us for the first week then spent the second week alone. We can honestly say that we will never spend another vacation at a all inclusive resort again, after spending time in little bay at Richie and Tecias. ...o and Chad's. We love the laid back feel with no line ups. Tec makes all you're meals fresh and hot, beach is right out front and if you want negril is 20 minutes away. We love these guys, they have become close friends, and will be going back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you want laid back quiet old Jamaica this is the spot. great snorkeling and GOOD food. I love the sun rises and early mournings watching all the kids go to school. This place is a gas.

jb Madtown ,WI

Room Tip: stay up top
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Little Bay is a small, quiet village not far from busy Negril. Richies on the Beach is a small scale hotel where you are a lot more than just a number. Unlike the big resorts, this place is owned and run by real Jamaicans. Trevor and Tecia will go out of their way to make your stay with them perfect. Tecia will serve a delicious breakfast and diner when it's convenient for you. Every plate is a Jamaican party filled with local food such as Callaloo, Breadfruit and Ackee. If Trevor has time you can book a boat cruise. There are some very nice places in Little Bay. You can visit a bat cave and the ruins of Bob Marley's summer house. On the way there you will also visit a very refreshing mineral spring. Ask Tecia about local guide Toby, who by the way also sells beautiful hand made baskets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at Richie and Tecia's for 2 weeks in February 2014 and it was the best vacation we ever had. We decided not to go the resort route this year and were so happy we didn't. The accommodations were great - clean, lots of room and well stocked. There were 4 of us so we had the top floor, 2 bedroom apartment with kitchen with fridge, coffee maker and toaster oven, living room and private bathroom. Tecia kept the apartment clean, beds and towels changed regularly and stocked what we needed to drink in the fridge. The breakfasts and dinners included in the price were fabulous! Tecia is an excellent cook and hostess. Richie and Tecia were available to drive us around when we went to YS Falls (highly recommend that you go there) and Negril twice. Little Bay is a small fishing village with the friendliest, happiest most hospitable people we've ever met. Little Bay is a bit remote so if you want to travel around you should rent a car at the airport. Otherwise, the beach is great and Richie has put up 2 covered shelters for shade. The snorkeling off Little Bay beach is great and the best part is you can go whenever you want. We came home with beautiful conch shells that we found ourselves. The startfish were huge and plentiful. Lots of beautiful fish to see. We even saw a small stingray near the beach one day. The bay is calm most of the time and wonderful swimming. Make sure you take water socks/shoes to protect your feet from the sea urchins though. Lots of places to walk and lots to see. The people love to socialize and the children there are beautiful. Consider taking pencils, paper, crayons and other school supplies for the kids. Richie took us out in his boat one evening to see the most beautiful sunset in the world! Our thanks go out to Richie, Tecia, Chad (their son) and Delroy (Tecia's cousin) who took such good care of us and made our vacation the best ever. If you are looking for night life, lots of partying and loud crowds, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for peaceful mornings sitting on the deck with your coffee looking out at the ocean, friendly, happy people, fantastic food, great accommodations, great beach, great weather and a relaxing holiday, this is for you! We will definitely return to Richie's on the Beach. When you have stayed there, you feel like you have made lifelong friends!

Room Tip: The third floor, 2 bedroom apartment is the best if but the 2 individual rooms on the second floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison,wi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Richie's on the Beach offers you a truly relaxing getaway in a lovely local setting. If you are a traveler looking for an authentic Jamaican experience LIttle Bay is the place to be. Richie is always working to make you happy and keep the village looking good. The beach is beautiful and the snorkeling amazing. Everyday is different in the sea. Biking up and down the road is especially a nice way to start or end the day, and meet a lot of people.
Waking up to the sound of the birds and sea is unbeatable.
I'll be back, again and again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We passed three nights in this home family. The ambiance was really good, the family very welcoming and the place so peacefuuuul! One of the best choice in Little bay.
Thank's for the time passed there, hope see you soon!

Théo & Steffie

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richie's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richie's on the Beach

Address: Little Bay, Little Bay 1876, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Little Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Little Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richie's on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Richie's on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richie's on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.