We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Martin's Last Private Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Bay Beach

Happy Bay Beach
Between Friars Bay and the Bay of Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Saint-Martin
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Frederick
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“St. Martin's Last Private Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Happy Bay Beach is now my most favorite beach in the world. A local told us that it's the last non-touristy beach in St. Martin. We took a cruise (Celebrity Reflection) to St. Martin in February 2013. From the port, we took a cab to Friar's Bay Beach then hiked to Happy Bay Beach. The 25-minute ride was about $30 each way. The 10-minute hike is scenic and easy (my fiance did it in flip flops). I was so glad we walked; it was beautiful. Watch out for cow pies! Follow the trail and hug the coast until you get to a small private beach. Clothing is optional, so just be aware! We hiked back to Friar's Bay in the afternoon and asked the bartender to call us a cab back to port.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    45
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Minnesota
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have been to Happy Bay beach a couple of time while on St. Martin and also sailed by it on a catamaran a couple times. The setting it reall pretty. It is a quieter beach, not near the number of people that some of the more widely known beaches have. You may find a few au naturale sunbathers there at times, but usually off to the side & not in the middle of the beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“My Favorite Beach on this Island but Better Ones On Others.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Drove to Friar's Bay and easily followed the info here to walk to the far-end of the beach and then along the trail to Happy Bay Beach. Stay to the left, a spray painted arrow points the way near teh beginning. Took a couple in their 20s about 10 minutes to hike it and it was well worth it. A man was selling cold beverages from a stand. One end of the beach had families, the other end had people bathing and laying out completely nude. We stuck near the middle which has the fewest rocks and rough items when entering the water. I tried to snorkel but had very poor luck and didn't see much of anything. Great palm trees and bushes to give natural shade. Just lay out a towel, relax and enjoy this small beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice but shells...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice, quiet beach with beachside restaurants. Seashells when entering beach but overall nice. There are nicer beaches.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach - no facilities and lots of nude people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Beach is a nice walk from Frair's beach. Fun to take the kids for an adventure walk. The beach looked beautiful...but nude people have taken over the beach. It is not a delegated nudist beach, so I was a bit put off. A few here and there, fine. A whole beach full when not a nude beach - not very nice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Bay Beach also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Anse Marcel, Saint-Martin
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Happy Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.