We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but shells...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Bay Beach

Happy Bay Beach
Between Friars Bay and the Bay of Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 60 Activities in Saint-Martin
Attraction details
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice but shells...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice, quiet beach with beachside restaurants. Seashells when entering beach but overall nice. There are nicer beaches.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    47
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach - no facilities and lots of nude people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Beach is a nice walk from Frair's beach. Fun to take the kids for an adventure walk. The beach looked beautiful...but nude people have taken over the beach. It is not a delegated nudist beach, so I was a bit put off. A few here and there, fine. A whole beach full when not a nude beach - not very nice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“secluded beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went to Happy bay several times this trip, easy 10 min. walk from Friars beach, nice bay with clear water, gentle waves usually, getting more popular with "naturalists" of all ages, snorkling on far end of the bay along the rocky shore ok, or just before you get to the beach, there is a quiter area for snorkling, with rock formations. local vendor provides some barbeque chicken and some drinks, no other facilities.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our favorite deserted island beach on St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This remote beach is only accessible by foot path (15 min) from Friar's Bay Beach, but well worth it! We never would have known about it if it were not for TA - Thanks! If you walk to the end, be prepared for some naturists, however. There are no facilities on the beach.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumpin' all over the world
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Happy bday at Happy Bay (in your bday suit)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a water taxi drop us at Happy Bay for a birthday celebration, and it is a perfect little beach. Just know in advance that many, but not all, of the people on the beach are without some or all of their clothing. There are no resorts or restaurants on the beach with chairs/umbrellas, although you can bring your own if you're willing to carry it for the 10-15 minute hike from Friar's Bay, where you can park. The beach was very clean, and there are lots of trees providing shade, so we found it very comfortable. After a few hours we hiked over to Friar's Bay where there are two places where you can get lunch. There's also a small stand selling drinks and ribs on Happy Bay, but we didn't see it until we were about to leave. Our water taxi was easily able to pick us up right on the shore at Friar's Bay. We saw several groups from the cruise ships coming to Happy Bay to snorkel while we were there, so I asked our water taxi driver how the snorkeling is there -- he said not to bother, that there wasn't much to see there and that several other areas very nearby were much better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Bay Beach also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Anse Marcel, Saint-Martin
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Happy Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.