We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach - no facilities and lots of nude people” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Bay Beach

Happy Bay Beach
Between Friars Bay and the Bay of Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Green Bay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach - no facilities and lots of nude people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Beach is a nice walk from Frair's beach. Fun to take the kids for an adventure walk. The beach looked beautiful...but nude people have taken over the beach. It is not a delegated nudist beach, so I was a bit put off. A few here and there, fine. A whole beach full when not a nude beach - not very nice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    60
    22
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“secluded beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went to Happy bay several times this trip, easy 10 min. walk from Friars beach, nice bay with clear water, gentle waves usually, getting more popular with "naturalists" of all ages, snorkling on far end of the bay along the rocky shore ok, or just before you get to the beach, there is a quiter area for snorkling, with rock formations. local vendor provides some barbeque chicken and some drinks, no other facilities.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Our favorite deserted island beach on St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This remote beach is only accessible by foot path (15 min) from Friar's Bay Beach, but well worth it! We never would have known about it if it were not for TA - Thanks! If you walk to the end, be prepared for some naturists, however. There are no facilities on the beach.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumpin' all over the world
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Happy bday at Happy Bay (in your bday suit)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a water taxi drop us at Happy Bay for a birthday celebration, and it is a perfect little beach. Just know in advance that many, but not all, of the people on the beach are without some or all of their clothing. There are no resorts or restaurants on the beach with chairs/umbrellas, although you can bring your own if you're willing to carry it for the 10-15 minute hike from Friar's Bay, where you can park. The beach was very clean, and there are lots of trees providing shade, so we found it very comfortable. After a few hours we hiked over to Friar's Bay where there are two places where you can get lunch. There's also a small stand selling drinks and ribs on Happy Bay, but we didn't see it until we were about to leave. Our water taxi was easily able to pick us up right on the shore at Friar's Bay. We saw several groups from the cruise ships coming to Happy Bay to snorkel while we were there, so I asked our water taxi driver how the snorkeling is there -- he said not to bother, that there wasn't much to see there and that several other areas very nearby were much better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of my favorite beaches in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After a short walk from Friar's Bay you arrive at this small half moon protected beach known as Happy Bay. It has shade trees, is protected from the wind and has calm water. There is a beach bar and restaurant if you don't bring your lunch. We spent many relaxing hours here, sunbathing, swimming, reading and just looking at this beautiful beach. There are small rocks at the waters edge, so water shoes are helpful to get in and out of the water. You will encounter topless and nude sunbathers here, but all the different users of the beach co-exist in peace whether clothed or not.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Bay Beach also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Saint-Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Happy Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.