We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite beaches in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Bay Beach

Happy Bay Beach
Between Friars Bay and the Bay of Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 attractions in Saint-Martin
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of my favorite beaches in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After a short walk from Friar's Bay you arrive at this small half moon protected beach known as Happy Bay. It has shade trees, is protected from the wind and has calm water. There is a beach bar and restaurant if you don't bring your lunch. We spent many relaxing hours here, sunbathing, swimming, reading and just looking at this beautiful beach. There are small rocks at the waters edge, so water shoes are helpful to get in and out of the water. You will encounter topless and nude sunbathers here, but all the different users of the beach co-exist in peace whether clothed or not.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    30
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach but not so secluded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were staying in Grande Case on the French side of St. Martin. I read you could walk to Happy Bay, an undeveloped secluded beach just south of Grand Case. Most people hike to it from Friar's Bay but we wanted to go from our condo on Grand Case Beach. We walked to the far southern end of the beach, to the cemetary, walked a well worn car path to a paved road. At that junction you'll see a big white gated entrance that's all locked up to your right. Immediately to the right of the gate, there is a path that leads to a hole in the fence that you hop through to walk up the "private paved road" that leads to the beach. The French Gendarmes told us this, but that's another story. Beware you will be walking amongst a herd of cattle and dodging lots of cattle poop! At the top of the hill along the paved road you'll see arrows pointing you in the direction to the beach off the paved road. You'll walk along a path to the beach. A gorgeous stretch of beach with no development along it (ie. no facilities). Just palm trees and sea graps line the beach. The day we visited it was rather busy for a seemingly secluded beach. But the sand and surf were indeed glorious. The northern end of the beach were where the nude sunbathers were located although they walked the full length of the beach. Same for women going topless. So may not be the best beach for young kids. Not that they'll be ruined for life, but rather you can't always control what comes out of their mouth. There is a local in a small shack who serves beer, water, and soda and will grill up a chicken plate for you. All food is cooked to order and will mean a 45min wait. But it's $10 and comes with creole rice and potato salad (same as what you'd get at the Grand Case Lo-Lo's but better). Reall REALLY great quarter grilled chicken. Carib beers were $3. Soda $2. Sunshine, sand and water were free. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We walked from Friar's Bay over to Happy Bay and overall it was an awesome experience. The walk took about 10 mins and there were some excellent views along the way. The beach itself had very nice sand. The only drawback was that there was a strip of rocks that you had to walk over to get into the water. There are very few tourists on the beach - mostly the French locals. There were a number of people taking advantage of the clothing optional attitude of the French side so dont go if you have issues with that sort of thing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

By far one of the prettiest beaches I have EVER seen. It is well worth the hike! My husband and I loved the beautiful views on the way up, and the rocky area of the beach was gorgeous. We did run into quite a few nudists while on that beach, so if you are uncomfortable with that, just stay on the opposite side...must see this beach!!!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Each day we were on the island, we took a little trip to check out the beaches. We preferred the ones a bit less visited. We got to Happy Bay walking from Friars Bay, which had bars and crowds. Happy Bay had a few other bathers - a few nude - and a great view across the water at Anguilla.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Bay Beach also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Happy Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Happy Bay Beach to your Saves list