We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for tennis on St Martin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Tennis Academy

American Tennis Academy
Rue de Cul de Sac, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
011590690382217
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: American Tennis Academy is a complete tennis facility located on the French side of St. Martin. We offer tennis training programs for Juniors and Adults of all skill levels as well as tennis vacation packages, tennis lessons, tennis clinics and court rentals. For tennis lessons with Oliver it's best to reserve in advance. We can also set up games for tennis players who are on vacation on St. Martin. 2 lighted tennis courts, open 7/7, Snack Lounge with Wifi access as well as an Outlet store where you can find the top brands at great prices.
Westborough, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great place for tennis on St Martin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

By chance we stayed right up the street from ATA. Oliver and Jennifer, the owners, are fantastic, and so is their facility. Oliver puts his heart and soul into lessons, and is able to quickly identify and communicate your weak points. Jennifer is also an excellent player, and both of them will work to arrange hitting sessions or matches with local players, within to your schedule. If you're looking to keep your game toned up, or just stay in shape during your time in SM, this is the place! The location is convenient to Pinel island, Orient beach, and Grand Case, but can be reached quickly by car from any point on the island.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    1
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
laurel, MS
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Improved my game a LOT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Thanks to Oliver for his instruction at this well-kept and well-appointed facility in St. Martin. Oliver's instruction, in his memorable French accent, will remain in my brain when I sadly leave this beautiful oasis of a place. Oliver is demanding and insistent and he does not just try to get through the lesson and earn his pay. Instead, he takes pride in the technical skills he is able to pass along in even a couple of hour-long lessons. Constantly correcting and encouraging, he is a master coach. Perhaps his best feature is his lovely wife Jennifer, who is careful and thorough about managing the facility and charming the guests. I want to bring all my tennis friends back for a week or two! (but then again, do I really want them to know the Oliver technique so they can beat me at tennis -- nah!)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect Tennis Facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great facility, great staff !! The co-owner, Jennifer, was very accommodating and catered to our every need. Her and husband collectively are fluent in French, English, Spanish, Italian, Dutch. The academy offers everything you would expect from a professional tennis club...In addition to the excellent courts, they offer refreshments, snacks, coffee. There is also an excellent sports boutique offering an array of tennis clothes, beach clothes and tennis equipment. They offer great hourly rates and weekly discounted rates, and there are also racquets to rent. The location is also very accessible being 3-4min drive away from Grand Case. This is the only real tennis facility on the island. Will definitely go back when we return to St-Martin.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val d'Or, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tennis great people !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had such an amazing time at the academy.
Oliver and Jen are great host.
We will see them again next year for sure.
Thank you !!!

From Club Carrefour Tennis de Val-d'Or, Canada
Jean-Guy et Christine

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable tennis experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Recently spent a very pleasant week on the French side of this beautiful island. As an avid tennis player traveling with a group which included no other tennis players and staying in a hotel with no tennis facilities, I engaged our hotel"s Concierge to arrange an hour "hitting lesson". My experience at ATA was most enjoyable. Played there on four occasions. Very nice facility that is easily accessible. Great courts with lights. Good proshop for basic tennis gear and comfortable area for relaxing. The best part is the couple that owns the club. Most pleasant folks who do a first class job for you.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Tennis Academy also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Saint-Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to American Tennis Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Tennis Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.