We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant French lunch in the middle of an industrial area..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Zone Commerciale d'Hope Estate En, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+590 (0)590871570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 218 restaurants in Saint-Martin
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Elegant French lunch in the middle of an industrial area..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I had heard about the restaurant and tried to come another time we were on the island but did not have enough time to get there. The restaurant is near Anse Marcel tucked away in what appears to be an industrial site. There are sections to buy teas, caramels and labeled souvenirs. Most importantly is the cold case with cheeses, charcuterie and desserts including my favorite.. macaroons! We had a great lunch.. took our time and enjoyed delicious food! Going back next trip..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    47
    9
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“excellent - not cheap...gourmet foods to eat and to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

this is a wine and nespresso supplier and a retailer of gourmet foods (cheeses, pastries, nespresso, wine,jams, etc)
we arrived before a regular serving time and were served anyway. of course being the only ones there, the service was great, but i would come back at a regular lunch (not open for dinner).
we had salmon brioche and the salmon and mahi-mahi fitters....coffee...
everything was terrific!! beautifully presented, delicious, fresh salad garnish, etc
definitely will go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“"McDonalds In Avignon, Fish & Chips in Marseille"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

So don't look for a fast meal or a salad Nishwawsee (Nicoise) with lo-cal ranch dressing. If you want some of the best French cuisine on the planet and are willing to spend the time, try Bacchus. Foie Gras terrine, foie gras ravioli in morrel sauce, confit de canard, etc. and some of the best pastries and desserts in the world coupled with a wine list and knowledgeable nice service that makes this a lunch date to die for. Plus take home on the way out..... Excuse moi, if you don't get this place, then you don't know great food. The chefs at Bacchus create cuisine you can only rarely get on this side of the Atlantic. Spend the two hours and enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best meal on St Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Let me start by saying the service (as has been said in other reviews) is glacially slow. We were used to slow service at the other French restaurants, but this restaurant sets a new standard in slowness. My wife and I discussed this and came to the conclusion that even with this; this is a restaurant not to be missed. You just have to have the money and the patience. Oh, that’s the other part… we spent more for lunch here than we did for supper at any other restaurant on St Martin. This includes some very fine restaurants. Our $240 lunch, including tip, also included a nice bottle of wine and a couple of more drinks and salad. The mushroom raviolis with truffle oil and shaved truffle were out of this world. My wife’s tuna and foie gras was equally outstanding. Our dessert—a rum soaked sponge cake with pineapple—was absolutely worth the 30 minute wait after ordering it. The dollar to euro exchange rate they used was the worst we experienced. So if money and time is no object, then you must go to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If only they were open for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This restaurant/specialty food&wine shop has been open only a few years. It is located off the beaten path, in a area off the main road occupied by small companies. You have to know the location--Hope Estates, on the road out of Grand Case--or you miss it easily. The customers appear to be locals, with a scattering of vacationers. Only lunch is served, which is too bad because it would be worth several evening trips.The decor is charming, the service a bit slow when they are busy. But the food is innovative, very well prepared, and produces memories that linger. Have dined in the better establishments on the island for many years and rank this in the top three. Pricey, though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

Saint-Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.