We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love great food and wines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Zone Commerciale d'Hope Estate En, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+590 (0)590871570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 218 restaurants in Saint-Martin
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“If you love great food and wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place was recomanded by a good cook and he was right. The place to be if you love good food and wines. The location is on a commercial zone next outside Grand Case (near the roundabout next to the airport) but the restaurant inside is nice. Staff spreaks English and is very friendy and proffesional. Food and wines were amazing (it is not a cheap place!) and they have a area for after dinner where you can enjoy a licor and a sigar. Many local people eat here as well. Next time SXM I will go back here for sure!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    47
    9
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Maarten-St Martin
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“No matter what still #1 place for Lunch in St. Martin/St. Maarten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had not been for lunch in a few months and we decided to treat our selves this past Saturday.
Indeed this place is always a treat. Besides the beautiful casual setting of the tables around the cellar there is not competition when it comes to a gourmet french lunch.

If food and wine is your thing you cannot leave the island without coming hear for lunch. The are opening also at the Blue Mall in Cupecoy one of theses days!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Been to all the top restaurants in SXM: this is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife, kids, and I ate at Tatevin, Bistro Caraib, and Oyster Pond, which were good, but Bacchus was great. So good that we went back a second time, which violated my #1 rule when on vacation. Only locals dine there, which gives Bahccus a unique feel. The first day I had the fish with truffles... my wife had the same dish the second day. I would skip dessert, which left much to be desired.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Food was good, a unique experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

While staying at the L’Esplanade in St. Martin (French side) we ate lunch at Bacchus. It is located behind the US Market on the road that goes to Orient Beach. Bacchus is also a very exquisite wine cellar, and has many freshly baked pastries. The lunch was very, very good… and also very, very expensive. When my wife and I saw the prices on the menu, we decided to split a salad ($24 USD) and one entrée ($31 USD).
The setting within Bacchus is very unique and contemporary/modern, and it was also a very unique experience. I have no complaints, and glad we did it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Located behind US Market one of the best for Lunch in St.Martin.A little bit pricy but the food and pastry is very good.You can meet there a lot of business people and celebrities.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

Saint-Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.