We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EcoSnorkeling - best of St Martin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eco-Snorkeling

Eco-Snorkeling
Pinel Island, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+33(0)6 90 341 432
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #14 of 39 activities in Saint-Martin
Type: Water sports
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“EcoSnorkeling - best of St Martin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Merci beaucoups, Isabelle for showing us the jewels of Isle Pinel! For sharing your deep knowledge and passion for the species, big and small, of the Marine Preserve. Your explanation of the ecology, flora and fauna of the reef, the types of corals, and where and what we would see was marvelous. We are experienced snorkelers/divers and felt we gained much from our time with you. The outer reefs at Pinel would have escaped us without spending the time with you, and the turtles made our trip even more memorable.
The Marine Preserve is free, but the best value is hiring Isabelle for a snorkel trip. Take the ferry to Pinel from Cul-de-Sac and take a right to the Marine Preserve. Pinel is small enough to walk around in about 30 minutes; two restaurants (pricey but good) are good lunch venues.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    4
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Isabella is just amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I cant even begin to sing enough praises for Isabella. She is so conscientious of the ecology of the reef and understands how to initiate the tourists into this world. This was our first time snorkelling, but she made it so easy and was able to show us so many incredible fishes and fauna. I would really recommend this trip to anyone. The boat ride to Pinal island is in itself very quaint and lovely. The french side of the island is much less touristy and they like it that way, but it can be pricy.
Even if you've done snorkelling its important to try and do this trip to understand how as tourists we can actually contribute to destroying the environment!!
Many many kudo's to Isabella.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everberg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day with Isabelle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We asked for the guided tour and since we were experienced at snorkeling Isabelle took us around to another spot on the island and out a bit further. She made a great effort to show us as much as possible and educate us about how to be kind to the reef and it's inhabitants.

We saw a wide variety of fish and the visibility was great! A lot of what you see depends on the weather and currents but that goes for most snorkeling.

We went back for another trip to snorkel on our own.

I can highly recommend a visit to Isabelle’s little covered dock while you are visiting St. Martin.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent service, ok snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This crew was absolutely amazing. Very helpful and attentive, they toured around the island in a professional easygoing fashion. The stops they made were picturesque and were great sides of the island. The snorkeling was the weakest part of the experience with few fish, and only a couple corals. However there were turtles at one of the stops, so it was still pleasant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The taxi showed up as advertised, the driver was very informative about both the Dutch and French sides, the beach was gorgeous, the beach chairs were reserved, the snorkleling with Isabell was phenomenal. The food was great. The beach was French. Do this! It was the highlight of our trip. What a day!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco-Snorkeling also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Eco-Snorkeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eco-Snorkeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eco-Snorkeling to your Saves list