We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look like but not feel real” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kali's Beach bar

Kali's Beach bar
Friar's Bay Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 216 Restaurants in Saint-Martin
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“look like but not feel real”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

look like a reggae bar but something wrong with it. The price very expensive, the beach is very niece and lovely

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    3
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oh the good life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderfull food, nice atmosphere and very good service. The beach is of the charts and it is a great spot for snorkling on top of it.

Simply enjoyed my afternoon there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very silly and arrogant saint martinois waiter.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

i was sick and the guy who was supposed to give me a transat seat on the beach purposedly made me wait in the blazing sun,and i was really sick that day.food was good and beer was cold.The main bartender was very freindly,thank goodness!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not worth the trip there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Tourist trap. Beware. $10 pina coladas. We ordered a grilled snapper fish for lunch to share. It was good and very basic plate although the rice and beans were a liltle old. Then came the sticker shock $35. Then the owner kali reminded us to tip!! I saw the market prices for fresh fish in marigot and for this price you can get a whole grilled lobster in grandcase. The beach was average so no points there. I really wanted to come back for the full moon party but will now avoid this place after getting ripped off. We loved our entire stay on the island and this place has left the only negative note.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kali's Beach Bar - don't rush there, they certainly don't rush...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great beach and snorkelling is really good, and having the chair and umbella hire is bonus. Food is not great at all, and the service is appalling. Take soap, the toilets are filthy, no running water. Makes you wonder where the kitchen and bar staff wash their hands....

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kali's Beach bar also viewed

La Savane, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Kali's Beach bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kali's Beach bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.