We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maho Magic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granduca - CLOSED

Granduca
Maho Plaza | Maho Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+599 545 2800
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
chambersburg,pa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Maho Magic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having just spent the week visiting several of our favorite island dining places, we strolled the Maho area looking for some place new. I lost the vote for my suggestion of Subway, but passing by the other offerings we stumbled upon Granduca. What a pleasant surprise! Well appointed decor teased us but after being informed they had only been open one night since being closed for the season, some trepidation set in. The pre-dinner drinks were not quite up to our standards but they sufficed. The meals did not disappoint! As i surveyed the empty plates around me i was only disappointed that i could not finish my own Seafood Risotto, which was delicious. Costs compared to our other selections of the week indicated it was a fair value for the offerings. The servers were pleasant and attentive. With no room left for dessert, somehow we all were still pleased with the complimentary offering of limoncello and small sweet cookie to make it a satisfy ending to this enjoyable last evening in the Caribbean.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    10
    5
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was our first time to St. Maarten and happen to stroll into Granduca Restaurant near our hotel. The wait staff made us feel very comfortable. My husband requested a table near the air conditioner in the corner. We had the swordfish and the lobster pasta. It was amazing, fresh and delicious. So good that we went back the next night to try other dishes from the menu. Both times the wait staff was very friendly and the food excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This went from being our favorite restaurant last year to our least favorite this year. Very expensive and very bland. I think they have changed owners. The menu made no sense and the waitress apologized saying when they made the menu the chef did not speak English. Veal chop was cooked to perfection, however there was no seasoning and was very bland with some thin mushroom sauce. For $38 it should have been phenomenal. My husband was so looking forward to the lasagna he had last year, not sure what made it the best ever, but it was. However, this year was just your average lasagna. So very disappointed that this was not the Granduca of last year. Other restaurants better. Waitress was very pleasant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst dinner on the island!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was our second visit to St. Maarten and Granduca was recommended to us. This was by far the worst dining experience that we had on the island. It started with a bottle of wine that tasted like vinegar. We sent back 2 out of the 4 appetizers we had ordered. The fish tasted spoiled. (not fresh fish!) The entree's were even worse! We were unable to even eat our dinners. On that note, we asked for a manager because we were so unsatisfied. He was extremely rude and did not seem to care about the quality of food that was being served to his guests. He did nothing to compensate our dissatisfaction, not even an apology. We will be sure not to recommend this restaurant to any of our many friends who visit the island yearly!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
“Worst Dining in St Martin”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Have a timeshare in st martin over 25 years. Eaten at 90 percent of restaurants. This one has always been my favorite - TILL NOW. The only thing worst than the food was the unapologetic, couldnt care less attitude of the management. Tuna appitizer drenched in vinegar to hide smell of fish. Veal chop stringy, fatty, and tough, and again concealed with mushroom sauce. I dont have to go back there - they wont be there next year. Theu command a top price for an unedible product.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granduca also viewed

 
Maho, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granduca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.