We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cadgwith Cove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cadgwith Cove Inn to your Saves list
Cadgwith Cove Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   New Road, Cadgwith TR12 7JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cadgwith B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Location but.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I do not recommend the Cadgwith Cove Inn. Although located in a lovely part of Cornwall, the service for guests is generally poor. I arrived one afternoon in August 2013 at 1415 for a three-night stay before visiting family in Padstow. After a long drive from the North of England, I was told that my room was not yet ready and would I like to wait for 30 minutes and ‘have a drink in the bar’. This seemed reasonable but, after repeated requests, it was not until 1545 that I eventually got into my room. My booking confirmation had stated that my room would be ready from 1400. Now readers are not going to believe what follows: I booked a table for dinner that evening. But I was asked by one of the owners (who was serving) to pay for it in advance (straight after I had ordered) even though I was staying there and had paid months earlier for 3 nights accommodation in full! Incredible as it may seem, I was actually given a bill at the table before my meal arrived! When I gave them my credit card, this was taken out of my sight and put into a ‘safe’ (this was actually a card sleeve placed behind the bar). Needless to say, this was very embarrassing and some other dining guests (and others in bar later on) could not believe what had happened either. I am widely travelled throughout the world and have never, ever, had this experience in hotels - or even one that comes remotely near to it.
Previous reports have said that staff at the Inn are very friendly. In my judgment, the ‘friendliness’ is empty, rather contrived and ‘scripted’. Whilst accepting that the owners had only taken over the Inn around 12 months previously, my experience was frankly unbelievable. I regret having to write this review but I feel I should warn others thinking of booking here. On the plus side, I am already ‘dining out’ on my ‘Fawlty Towers’ experience!
I would think very carefully about using the Cadgwith Cove Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    42
    12
    14
    4
See reviews for
31
80
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful two night stay in Cadgwith Cove Inn. We booked on chance without doing any research but what a little gem.
The cove itself is a delightful place and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The food was amazing for both the full english breakfast and the evening meals. It was wonderful to escape mobile phones and television for a whole weekend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the en-suite - it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just spent a great weekend staying at the Cadgwith Inn. it is a family run Inn and the food and accommodation are excellent ,it is well worth a visit .the only draw back is there is no mobile phone signal til you get to the top of the hill .

Room Tip: we were happy in room 3 but you will get a better view on the floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Visited Cadgwith Cove today for the first time ever and what a fascinating place, one that I suspect has changed little in a century or more. From the car park you wander down along a series of footpaths between cottages until you arrive at the centre of this lovely fishing village, with colourful working boats drawn up onto the rocky beach/concrete ramp. There are a couple of shops and Cadgwith Cove Inn nearby, the latter serving a wide range of ales and ciders and good food. The staff were very pleasant and chatty and the whole atmosphere in the inn was great. It was a pity therefore that when we walked out into the centre of the village again that we, along with many other couples and some young families, were treated to a conversation between four local men sat on a bench amongst the lobster pots etc, when every other word was a four letter expletive. We know they were local, as we later saw two of them launch a boat when we were standing on the Todden. What a contrast between this place and Coverack just along the coast. We won't be visiting Cadwith again but would thoroughly recommend Coverack.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had high expectations and were not disappointed.
A gorgeous old pub in a delightful little village.
Friendly staff and good food. A liitle aged but that is all part of the character.
We only stayed one night but would have loved to have stayed longer - we will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Gorgeous old inn, clean room but could really do with a chair or sideboard, also a head height mirror..Fantastic food, the best and freshest fish and chips i have ever had. Great value for money, friendly owners. Will definitely be back..

Room Tip: Go for En-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhiw
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Last night of the holiday treat.. Ordered Lobster off the specials board, got about 3 thumb size pieces drowned in a huge bowl of salad. Wife ordered Turbot, nice but size of a starter. Having watched it on tv it was very disappointing, obviously fame gained as a result of tv exposure has done nothing for the food except put the prices up. Only reason it got a poor and not terrible was because the service was friendly and they knocked a tenner off the bill..mind you still cost me over 50 quid !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cadgwith Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadgwith Cove Inn

Address: New Road, Cadgwith TR12 7JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Cadgwith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cadgwith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cadgwith Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Public House and Restaurant within a stones throw of the beach in stunning Cadgwith. We have a cosy bar area which is open all day serving local ales, lagers, ciders, soft drinks, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. We also serve breakfast to non residents from 8.30am - 9.30am. We serve food from midday until 9pm. We have 6 bedrooms, 3 with ensuite bathrooms and 3 with a shared bathroom. These can be booked on a bed and breakfast basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Cadgwith Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadgwith Cove Hotel Cadgwith
Cadgwith Cove Inn Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadgwith Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.