We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best on the way from Rome to Milan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda di Desideria

La Locanda di Desideria
Via Piave, 25, 05015 Fabro, Italy
0763 832892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 restaurants in Fabro
Price range: $24 - $37
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The best on the way from Rome to Milan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW via mobile

My bf and I were on the way back from Rome to Milan and decided to stop by to have lunch somewhere in Umbria. The closest place we found was this restaurant that we found on tripadviser. We didnt regret at all. The food was excellent - the best we found on the way grom Milan to Rome and back. The service was slow but excellent as well. Taking into the consideration the Mediterranian way of life, the slowliness was even relaxing and letting enjoy the atmosphere and the scenery. The waiter was very friendly and willing to do anything to please the clients. Even though they didnt have Marocchino coffee on the menu, he didnt refuse to do his best to make a cup and made it really well.:-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    32
    26
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went on recommendation on a Monday night. Our experience did not match the otherwise good reviews. I think Monday must have been the chefs night off. Meal edible but unremarkable . The atmosphere spoilt it for me. Place empty and two young women on duty were watching tv when we arrived. This stayed on.........Personally not what I want when out to eat. We had a voucher which counted for nothing as we were charged a service charge.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Desideria is specialized in pasta and meat. Try the Gnocchi al ragu bianco and the grilled lamb. Also a good choice of Umbrian wines.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Simple and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were the only ones to eat here on a Sunday lunch time mid September. They seemed surprised to see customers on this day but we were not disappointed. Our food was freshly sourced and very tasty. The service was friendly - just what we needed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“friendly staff and good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

What we ate was very good, and staff were friendly, but service was not well organised, we had to wait a long time to be seated, and there was always something missing on the table. The ambience was not so nice, with very loud music and staff shouting instead of speaking to each other. Bill was not that cheap, so we were rather disappointed by the poor quality of the service.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda di Desideria also viewed

Fabro, Province of Terni
Fabro, Province of Terni
 
Fabro, Province of Terni
Fabro, Province of Terni
 

Been to La Locanda di Desideria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda di Desideria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.