We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice house, beautiful setting, charming proprietors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Johns House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lecarrow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Johns House B&B
Save
You added St Johns House B&B to your Saves list
St Johns House, Lecarrow, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lecarrow B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice house, beautiful setting, charming proprietors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at St. John's Wood for one night followed by a day-long work-related workshop. The owners Richard and Liz are very welcoming and very knowledgable of the heritage and history of the area. French press coffee and homemade cake and biscuits greeted me on arrival. Breakfast consisted of locally sourced ingredients and eggs from their own chickens, and homemade soda and sourdough bread. Lunch the next day - which was part of our workshop - was excellent with home made elderflower fizz, delicious soup, followed by Irish cheese sourced from Sheridans in Galway.

The house, a handsome 19th century farmhouse, situated on the shores of Lough Ree, and beside the ancient deserted walled town of Rindoon - is very pleasant. I was blown away by the deeply rich heritage of this area - something I'll never forget. Waking up to a view of swan, ducks and water hens pottering around on the shores of the lake was a brilliant way to start the day!

We did part of the Rinn Duin Walk which begins outside the house, bringing you to the archaeological sites and to the safe harbor on the shores of the lake.

Verdict: A very memorable 24 hours. Im looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Beautiful setting, great for walks. Birds, sheep, cows, ducks and geese add to the scenery. Great room and breakfast. Even loaner 'wellies' for walking near the water. Want to feel welcome? - stay with Liz and Richard.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I discovered St John's house looking for a stopover point midway between dropping off my daughter in Westport and flying home the next day from Dublin. I was looking for a beautiful, serene and historic spot for reflection before rejoining the workaday world. Upon arrival, Richard and Liz attended me with warmth and attentiveness. My lovely room overlooking the lake was well-appointed and perfect in every detail. Richard, a natural story teller, brought the history of the site to life and inspired me to rise early for a blissful walk around the peninsula where St John's is situated. Leaving my borrowed boots at the door, i returned to savor Liz' memorable breakfast while pondering my beautiful surroundings, chatting with Richard and the other charming guests. It was the crowning joy in a wonderful trip. My heartfelt thanks to Liz and Richard for their outstanding hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Georgian elegance and spectacular views of Lough Ree are perfectly combined with a homely feel thanks to the wonderful home cooking and the open peat fires.

Liz and Richard are so helpful and caring that it feels like staying with old friends.

We can't wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

St. John's House was the ideal combination of a charming country setting on Lough Ree and
the classic architecture of a Georgian home. Liz and Richard were attentive to every detail
down to fresh flowers from their garden in both our room as well as in the dining room at
breakfast. We stayed two nights and both breakfasts were exceptional. If you have an early afternoon flight out of Dublin you may consider SJH as an alternative to staying in the city as it was an easy 1.5 hour drive to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

After our short break at St John's House last year, we just had to return.
The memorable breakfasts (served in the dining room before a real fire of traditional Irish peat logs) included choices of home made breads, jams, compots and juices just surpassed any other b&b experience.
Our hosts, Richard and Liz were so welcoming and helpful and to top it all they included the highlight of our holiday - a boat trip across the Lough to the Black Islands in the middle of Lough Ree. This was truely "Swallows and Amazons" at their best. ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. Just can't recommend St John's House highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Liz and Richard's home in St. John's Wood truly set the bar on our Irish holiday. Our hosts were warm and welcoming, with tea and biscuits and the loveliest fire in lounge. Richard's brother-in-law created the ornate plaster relief for the twinkling new chandelier to create a very comfortable atmosphere. Our hosts gave us directions for shortcuts to Athlone and we had our very first Ireland-poured Guinness with Robbie at Sean's Bar, the oldest public establishment in Europe at 900 AD.

After a fantastic night's sleep in a beautiful room overlooking Lough Ree, we enjoyed our first "full Irish breakfast" that included a sweet, pink apple juice, fresh-picked and pressed from the garden as well as a compote of plum and sloe, picked on islands in the lake the day before!

Liz let us take Yoda the lab and Mini the JRT with us to walk the peninsula loop around the lake that reveals a 12th century windmill as well as a church and the castle ruin of St. John's Wood. There's just something about having dogs along on a walk.

Thank you, Richard and Liz, for providing such a memorable stay. We'll always remember the house in St. John's Wood and the warm welcome we received there.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden or the lake, the rooms are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Johns House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Johns House B&B

Address: St Johns House, Lecarrow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Lecarrow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lecarrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in a Georgian House on the shore of Lough Ree in the centre of Ireland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Johns House B&B Lecarrow, Ireland - County Roscommon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Johns House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.