We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Promhills Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Promhills Cabins to your Saves list
Promhills Cabins
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   3650 Meeniyan-Promontory Road | Wilsons Promontory, Yanakie, Victoria 3960, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I had an incredible time staying at Promhills. We arrived on Friday afternoon and were welcomed by the charming alpaca and our immaculately clean cabin. Our morning views were breathtaking, too. We slept well each night and could've only wished to stay longer. The place is very accessible to the General Store around the corner, which is handy for last minute things. We'd definitely recommend the cabin to anyone who'd love to have a home away from home on a weekend jaunt at the Prom.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promhills, Owner at Promhills Cabins, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi Shiva. Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are glad you found your cabin clean and comfortable and had a good night's sleep. We hope we see you again one day soon. Sean & Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We loved our stay here. This cabin cannot be compared to luxury hotel. I rate it as excellent because it is a nice decent country cabin. It is all we expected from a cabin and more. The cabin is clean and we did have a good sleep. The bed is nice and firm and there are extra blankets in case it gets too cold. It has nice views to the farm. It is only a few minutes to the Prom's entrance and we enjoyed driving into the area every day. It is the place to stay if you can't get cabins inside the Prom.

The only minor negative is that the cooktop is electric and it takes a long time to heat up. Reading the reviews, it looks like we missed out on the wine and chocolates!!

Room Tip: The cabins all looks the same and there are only a few of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promhills, Owner at Promhills Cabins, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wanted to clarify regarding the free inclusions you missed out on. As per our website, we offer complimentary wine and Lindt chocolates to guests who book directly with us. Unfortunately, your booking came through a commissionable third party booking website which means we must pay 10-20% of the booking total in commission to that booking agent. We do try to keep our prices competitive and as a result can not offer the free treats as well as pay commissions. If you choose to stay with us again, ensure you book direct with us and you will qualify for the free wine & chocolates as well as a return guest discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had a 2 night stay in Cabin 3 which had everything we needed plus some extra touches, coffee pod machine, wine and chocolate, greatly appreciated. Check-in was easy and welcoming. There was an expansive rural view from the cabin, alpacas in the paddock, rolling hills in the distance, great sunsets. General store almost next door had everything we might have needed, friendly too. The short drive to Tidal River was lovely and Angela had provided substantial information in the cabin and in person so that we could easily plan our day. We did the Squeaky Beach walk from Tidal River over the footbridge, took about 2 hours round trip with plenty of time spent at the beach. Picturesque and highly recommended. We then did the Mt Oberon walk, steady climb along gravel road and were rewarded with the most stunning vista at the top, a real highlight. We are in our 60s, got to the top in just under an hour without pushing hard, had about 40 mins at the top soaking up the view, and came down in 30 mins. Sensational. All in all a fabulous choice of accommodation to access Wilsons Prom.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promhills, Owner at Promhills Cabins, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Mount Oberon view is certainly worth the hike! We hope if you return to Wilsons Prom one day, you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We have been lucky enough to visit Prom Hills Cabins on a number of occasions for short stays and it never fails to impress. Beautiful views, friendly hosts, clean and cosy cabins and easy access into the prom. The cabins are equipped with all the comforts of home, great for a relaxing evening after exploring the surrounding area.
An absolute credit to Angela and Sean, we will be returning!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promhills, Owner at Promhills Cabins, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We love it when guests return time after time and hope we see you at Promhills Cabins again very soon. PS. Don't forget to book using the same name as previous bookings to guarantee your return guest discount is applied!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a great place to soak up the view of Wilson's Promontory, and a great location for sight seeing and then into the close by towns for meals. The host was welcoming and most helpful. Enjoyed my stay and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promhills, Owner at Promhills Cabins, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We like to think we are 20-30 minutes to everything, which does make it a convenient location. 20-30 minutes to Tidal River, Sandy Point, Fish Creek, Foster, Waratah Bay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We liked this place, it was peaceful with views over paddocks to the hills beyond. The owners have some alpacas in the paddocks, they look very exotic close up and seemed very curious about us. The cabin wasn't luxurious but was very clean, light and airy and had everything we wanted. The bed was comfortable and the shower worked fine. The bathroom is on the small side.

The owners were prompt with replies to emails and we had a friendly check in. There's a large library of DVDs you can borrow for free. It's a two minute walk to the Yanakie General Store if you need something - newspaper, cold drinks, whatever. We would like to go back to stay again one day and do some more exploring of the area. My tip is to book direct via their website for the best deal.

Room Tip: All three cabins look out on to the same view of paddocks, hills and alpacas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promhills, Owner at Promhills Cabins, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you found the cabin clean and the bed comfortable. Can I suggest, if you stay with us again and prefer a bigger bathroom, to book a one-bedroom cabin as the bathroom is bigger than that in the studio (PS. Don't forget to ask for your return guest discount if you do come back!). We do hope we see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Promhills cabins was the perfect home away from home. The studio cabin is perfect for a single traveller or a couple. It is neat, comfortable and has everything you could need! The minute you open the door the cabin feels welcoming and easy to relax in. There is a modern interior, the imitation wood heater works a treat, and there is a lovely verandah with relaxing views to enjoy!
it is located just 5 minutes from the Wilson Prom entry gate and is also conveniently located within a quick drive to other attractions in the surrounding area. I had researched hikes and things to do while there- however the information book provided was really useful.
I stayed five nights and could have easily stayed another week!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promhills, Owner at Promhills Cabins, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found the studio cabin comfy and relaxing. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Promhills Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promhills Cabins

Address: 3650 Meeniyan-Promontory Road | Wilsons Promontory, Yanakie, Victoria 3960, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Yanakie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Yanakie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Promhills Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self contained cabin accommodation with spectacular panoramic views, located only 5 minutes from Wilsons Promontory National Park. Cabins are fully self-contained with kitchen, en-suite and private parking space. When the sun goes down you can sit out on the veranda, cook a meal on the BBQ and witness beautiful sunsets across the countryside. Cabins Include: Electric imitation log fire heating, Linen supplied, Electric Blankets, TV, DVD player, Private BBQ on veranda, Microwave, Electric cook-top, Fridge Toaster, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Hair dryer, Private parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Promhills Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promhills Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.