We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Augustus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Augustus Hotel to your Saves list
Augustus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni Xxiii, 61, 80044 Ottaviano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottaviano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

What on Earth would you possibly search in Ottaviano?!?You couldn't make a much poorer choice but if you do (like I did !!!) you'll obviously land in Augustus since this is the ONLY hotel in this God-forgotten place!And if you'll stay for one week (like,again,I did!) you'll be eating at breakfast each day one slice of ham,one slice of cheese,one boiled egg and you'll drink something dubiously black which could easily be taken either for coffee or tea , depending on the light !!Not much of a difference in the evening but , after spending your day changing trains trying to visit some local sights (and there ARE plenty!) you'll be too tired to even notice the red wine is ice-cold ,soup is without taste or the fish is size of a bus ticket!!! 4(four stars??!!?? Not by a million miles , although Giuseppe from the reception desk tries to feed YOU all the information you need - and believe me , you need A LOT to reach any destination !!! To make a long story short - don't even dream of spending more than one night (and only if it's written in your karma!) in this place , MY experience should convince you!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
15
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I was slightly concerned reading some of the reviews, a feeling which increased when driving into the town, as it is not the tidiest. However, the hotel itself was a very pleasant environment. We were met with a smile and it always felt that any request would be no problem. The rooms were clean and pleasant. Whilst there are not many on site amenities this wasn't a problem for us as we came here as a base to view the many sites and landmarks nearby.
Breakfast was basic in quality, but being buffet style there was enough variety to find something for all of us. Whilst I can understand a previous reviewer saying it was not four star, I think you need to have realistic expectations allowing for location and price paid which we thought was excellent value.
I would particularly mention Marena who was very helpful throughout our stay and was happy to chat about our days and also help with suggestions on days out, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

When we booked this hotel, the travel agent did not give us much details and said it was in Naples. On looking at the reviews it was hard to find ones that were written in English so it made me a bit apprehensive and when I seen on the map where it actually was I wasn't that keen BUT we were unable to change as it was last minute.
The town where the hotel is isn't what you would call a touristy place - no one spoke much English and this became more of an issue throughout our holiday, especially when trying to find somewhere for a meal at night. We were quite shocked at the state of the streets and the rubbish situation but don't tend to make much of a deal about things.
The hotel itself was fine - rooms were ok, not exactly 4* by british standard but that is to be expected. The breakfast was ok and nothing to write home about really however I would say the staff were excellent and very helpful at all times!
If you are wanting to stay somewhere away from the tourist track then I would say go for it as it was cheap and cheerful and was only 15 minutes from Pompeii by car, 35 or so minutes into Naples by train and 45-60 mins to Sorrento.
I wouldn't recommend it for anyone without a car or who cannot speak much Italian! The locals were not the friendliest and the shops etc never seemed to be open.
The only plus about staying at this hotel was the Gelato shop down the road - it was incredible and served as our supper at least twice as we felt too uncomfortable trying to communicate with the staff in any of the local restaurants!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I wish I could give no star
Very bad receptionist.
Poor breakfast
No kitchen. In hotel in case you need to eat any thing
Very poor rooms
No air condition at all. Couldn't sleep at all. In morning we were all sweating.

Give us fan. Also not working
Never ever will stay there.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Augustus Hotel was hard to arrive by bus (our bus had been stuck on the narrow entrance for 20 minutes), and lobby was literally had the same size of my living room.Rooms were ancient,dirty,just a small elevator which accepts only 2 with luggage (so we had to wait nearly an hour for our group to get inside their rooms).They have given the rooms of some of our friends (which were booked 3 months ago) to some french tourist group and told them to find another hotel. Breakfast was (coffee,croissant and butter....nothing else) terrible. Staff was rude and kept mocking and even swearing thinking none of us understood italian. Never ever stay in that hotel... 4 stars??? i will even think twice giving 2 stars to this 'hotel'.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Augustus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus Hotel

Address: Via Giovanni Xxiii, 61, 80044 Ottaviano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ottaviano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottaviano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Augustus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Augustus is set in Ottaviano, in Vesuvius National Park. It offers free Wi-Fi and rooms with LCD satellite TV, air conditioning, and a minibar. The Augustus Hotel is easily reached from the A30 motorway. Mount Vesuvius and the unspoilt nature of the national park are nearby. This 4-star hotel includes a bar, meeting room, and private parking facilities. There is also a free internet point in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Augustus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augustus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.