We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iringa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Farm House
Kisolanza Farm, Iringa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
assago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A piece of England countryside in the heart of TANZANIA. a pleasant stay with a delicious dinner with candle light. You could not wish more. A nice stroll can be made along the shore of the lake. Spotless rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mwanza
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived at sunset and left at 4am the next morning so we couldnt enjoy everything fully. We were welcomed at the office with the warmest of smiles and the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. Normally they do not have room service and guests are advised to have dinner in the Restaurant but they brought our dinner to our room on trays. food was excellent and we had chocholate cake for dessert which every traveller has to try out!! The room was very clean and neat with fresh flowers!!! They cater for all walks of life and have camping facilities, luxury chalets, stable rooms etc. Our room did not have ensuite bathroom and we used the campers ablution blocks which are very clean and have hot showers. You have to incorporate this little gem into your travel plans

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our trip to Ruaha National Park. It was absolutely wonderful. Our cottage was beautifully built from local materials and had a thatched roof. The smell of the dry grass thatch was wonderful. The cottage was very clean and the vases were even filled with fresh flowers. Nice touch! We really loved the log fire in our room as the nights are cold in June. The cottages are set in amongst the trees and have a real bush feel. The meals were superb and the service from the friendly and attentive staff was outstanding. Each cottage has its own hot water boiler out the back and the fire is lit each morning and evening. The managers welcomed us when we arrived and came to say hello at dinner and again at breakfast. Made us feel sort of special. Thanks Melinda and Jason! We really appreciated it. Would love to come back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at Kisolanza twice in the past three months. In january we camped and found the campsite really nice with great toilets, hot showers and good washing up facilities. The campsite itself is spacious, although the plots could be set a bit further apart. The bandas to pitch tents under are fantastic in the rainy season, not a drop of water got through! The cottages around the campsite look really nice too. Overall I would say this is the nicest campsite I have seen in Tanzania.

The food at the restaurant was delicious. We had our New Year's Eve dinner here and everything was cooked to perfection. They were also very helpful in catering for special meals and always remembered to ask about dietary requirements.

In March we stayed in one of the self catering cottages on the main farm. It was perfect for a couple with two children. The veranda is an especially nice place to sit in the afternoon and it is fun to really be part of farm life.

The walks around the farm are leisurely and pleasant. Overall this is a perfect place to come and relax for 4-5 days or to simply spend the night.

Room Tip: They have accommodation to suit all budgets, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The Old Farm House, Kisolanza Farm is situated just off the main Mbeya / Iringa Road, 60km south of Iringa, placing it right in the middle of the country, midway between Mbeya and Dar es Salaam / Zambian & Malawi borders.

This old colonial farmstead offers it all, luxury chalets, stable rooms, wooden cabins and camping sites, the service is outstanding an the food the best I've yet had anywhere in Tanzania.
Having done a very long drive from Sumbawanga, we found this oasis that truly knocked our socks off and were very loath to have to leave the next morning but with flights to catch, had no choice, this would certainly rate as one of my very best experiences in Tanzania and definately on my to do list on any subsequent visit.

Room Tip: The farm cottages are awesome, well worth spoiling yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farm House

Address: Kisolanza Farm, Iringa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Iringa Region > Iringa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Iringa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Farm House specializes in accommodation from bush camping (1 sire for Overland Trucks and a separate site for Private Vehicles) to luxury, with a variety of cozy and clean accommodation in between.Kisolanza is a working farm with cattle, sheep, vegetables, tobacco and flowers. You are free to explore the farm. Place an order for beef, lamb, eggs and fresh vegetables for your onward journey.The Ghaui Family has lived in East Africa for over a hundred years, and are happy to share their knowledge of the area with you.Our Restaurant incorporates the ruins of an old mud building and is famous for it's authentic atmosphere and for the menu of fresh farm produce and garden herbs. The Old Farm House, Kisolanza, is the perfect gateway to your stay in the Southern Highlands of Tanzania. We are a days drive from Dar Es Salaam, the borders of Zambia and Malawi, Arusha and about 3 hours from Ruaha National Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Farm House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Farm House to your Saves list