We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilal Liwa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tilal Liwa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tilal Liwa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Million Street | Million Street 1, Madinat Zayed, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Madinat Zayed
Abu Dhabi
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have a business trip to Madinat Zayed for two days. Hence, mysef and my wife decided to stay in Tilal Liwa Hotel to experience its hospitality. While I'm away for business, my wife enjoyed staying in Tilal Liwa Hotel with great food and great hospitality. The room was nice and tidy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Kindly allow me to thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for the time taken to share your feedback.

We're delighted to read that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to read your note that your wife has enjoyed all our facilities and could relax with us. Also would like to thank you for your kind note regarding the friendliness of our colleagues.

We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Madinat Zayed.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    133
    25
    17
    6
See reviews for
126
109
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed for one night. It was a good and relaxing experience. It is a nice 4 star property far away from the city. Hotel staff were co-operative and maintained a good standard. One special mention to the chef and the restaurant staff, they made us some special vegetarian dishes despite being a Sea Food Special evening. They saw us really struggling to find the right kind of Veg food, and made us a special veg rice item, which we really enjoyed. Several activities to keep family busy . Overall it was a nice and pleasent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for the time taken to share your feedback.

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Also would like to thank you for your kind note appreciating our staff. We always encourage our colleagues to walk the extra miles in order to exceed our guest's expectations. I shall extend your regards to our Executive chef and his team.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was amazing and the price was really good. The only thing I didn't like about it was the location. It was middle of nowhere! I had celebrated my birthday there for a 2 night stay and the service I had on my birthday night was just saw amazing. The only thing that disappointed me was when I was in the shower the workers came in without permission to fix some errors in the room which really made me mad so I had called the manager and complained about it in tears but they just knew how to make me happy at the end. So overall it was amazing even though that part was really scary! But I will still visit tilal liwa hotel but this time I would love to take my kids there because it was an amazing place for them too. Oh and another thing I didn't like was the breakfast as the 2 days I was there the breakfast was repeated which I didnt like.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Kindly allow me to thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for the time taken to share your feedback.

We're so delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our hotel interior and exterior. Also would like to thank you for your kind note regarding the friendliness of our colleagues. We're happy to read that you've enjoyed our arrangements for your birthday!

Please allow me to express my sincere apology for the less than positive experience with the room maintenance. I'm happy to read that the issue was solved immediately, meanwhile we have raised your note to our Chief Engineer to be more alert next time.

Looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed for one night. It was a good relaxing ambiance. Really experienced an oasis in the middle of deserts.

Property was clean and tidy. Front desk & HK were cooperative and exhibited a good standard of hospitality.

Recommended for a family stay-cation away from the city and within a reasonable price range.

Room Tip: - Desert view room is preferred to enjoy an Oasis experience. - Rooms with Balcony may add value to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for the time taken to share your feedback.

It is our pleasure to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel location and the facilities and activities we're offering our guests. Also we would like to thank you so much for your kind note recognizing the friendliness of our Housekeeping and Food & Beverage employees. Your opinion is of great value for us as it helps improving our services where needed.

Once again we would like to thank you for your visit and looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend stay at Tilal Liwa last spring. It is a nice 4-star property on the edge of the desert. They have an infinity pool in the courtyard but it does get very busy with families and the lounge chairs do fill up quickly. Our room was next to a family that was extremely noisy so we asked to switch rooms and the staff was very accommodating. Part of our package included a trip to a camel farm. This was an short but interesting little trip. The hotel offers 10 minute camel rides and quad bike rentals for an extra fee. We did both but the camel ride didn't even last the full 10 minutes which was a little disappointing. The breakfast had a decent number of options but some of the food was just average. This is a good place for families.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool have their own patio and door to the pool so you don't have to walk thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for choosing Tilal Liwa Hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback.

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us and that you like the Interior, Hotel location, Exterior and our wide range of food and beverages selections.

Thank you for your note regarding the camel riding timings. We've spoken to the Camels guard to make sure to guard the riding time.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind visit and looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place is pretty nice for a simple stay in a hotel in the desert. It has adequate facilities and activities to keep the family entertained for two to three nights. The surrounding desert is rather picturesque, so it is good for some exploring and pictures.

The service was reasonably good for the 4-star hotel. The staff members generally were responsive and prompt towards requests, and most of them were pretty friendly. The place was also generally clean and well-maintained, so it was overall a comfortable stay. We also had dinner in the hotel, and it was pretty good.

There were some minor gripes we had about the hotel, but these were not a big deal. We had to walk around the perimeter of the hotel compounds to get to the activities area as there was no direct access from the pool area. It was also too busy around there, with quad bikes running around in the same space that the other activities were taking place. Also, it would have liked it better if we had a room with a better view. To come all the way to stay in a hotel in the desert, we were hoping for something better than a view from the ground floor of the carpark and a pile of rubbish that was probably waiting for collection.

On another note, there is something which future guests might wish to note, but which is of no fault of the hotel. There is a camel race track and a camel farm on the way in to the hotel. Apparently, other than camels, there are beasts of another sort in those places—horny men who look and sound like they are severely deprived of human female company (this is supposed to be a family-friendly website, so I shall not speculate or elaborate further), and they seemed almost proud of that fact. For families with ladies, do be aware of this if you choose to visit those places.

On the whole, this is a nice place for a relatively affordable short break in the desert, especially when you compare the price they charge here vs some of the other desert resorts in the UAE. As far as 4-star hotels go, this can be considered above average. If I pass through this area again in future, I will probably visit it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for the time taken to share your feedback.

We're delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. And we are glad to read that you have enjoyed our facilities, hotel design, kids facilities and all other activities.

Please accept our apologize if you have experienced any unpleasant situation in the camel farms. normally they are very supportive and guest friendly.

Looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent last weekend in Tilal Liwa. We liked the hotel and had a lot of pleasure with the camel riding, quad bike. We had a nice Safari and the kids enjoyed the clowns and the face painting in the kids corner. The billy dancer was nice in the evening during the BBQ.

Shisha is nice add value, despite it is not allowed inside the tent. But still you enjoy sitting outside in the night and watch the match on the big screen.

We were there with 4 rooms and 4 children. We had lots of fun and plan to visit again in March.

Room Tip: Safari trips are really great with sand boarding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Kindly allow me to thank you so much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback.

We're delighted to read that you and your friends and family have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our activities and the food. We are also happy to read that the children had a nice weekend with us.

We are looking for welcoming you soon again in February next week.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tilal Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilal Liwa Hotel

Address: Million Street | Million Street 1, Madinat Zayed, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Madinat Zayed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Madinat Zayed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilal Liwa Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilal Liwa Hotel is a 4 star hotel. A stunningly secluded Desert Hideaway perched at the edge of the majestic Rub Al Khali desert, with breathtaking views of some of the highest dunes in the world. Immerse yourself in an authentically Arabian “Oasis of Hospitality,” where tantalizing restaurants, an infinity outdoor pool, and a full range of luxury amenities offer lush accompaniment to the surrounding desert beauty. Whether you are embarking on an exhilarating Desert Safari, discovering the raditional sights of Al Gharbiya – Camel farm, dates plantation, Heritage Fortress, or simply escaping to solitude for a few days,our captivating four-star UAE hotel resort guarantees an unforgettable Arabian hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tilal Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilal Liwa Hotel Madinat Zayed, Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilal Liwa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.